Chevron Left
Zurück zu Rails with Active Record and Action Pack

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Rails with Active Record and Action Pack by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
717 Bewertungen
149 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

You already know how to build a basic web application with the Ruby on Rails framework. Perhaps, you have even taken Course 1, "Ruby on Rails: An Introduction" (we highly recommend it) where you relied on external web services to be your “data layer”. But in the back of your mind, you always knew that there would come a time when you would need to roll up your sleeves and learn SQL to be able to interact with your own relational database (RDBMS). But there is an easier way to get started with SQL using the Active Record Object/Relational (ORM) framework. In this course, we will be able to use the Ruby language and the Active Record ORM framework to automate interactions with the database to quickly build the application we want. In Rails with Active Record and Action Pack, we will explore how to interact with relational databases by using Active Record, a Ruby gem, which Rails uses by default for database access. We will then take a look at what role Active Record plays in the overall request-response cycle, when a client (the browser) requests data from the server, as well as how to submit the data to the server. Of course, when accessing data, security is of paramount importance! We will talk about vulnerabilities such as SQL injection, as well as how to secure access to data by authenticating and authorizing users accessing the data. Take this course to build a Ruby on Rails application with Active Record to automate the detailed SQL interactions with our database....

Top-Bewertungen

AB

Aug 11, 2016

A nice continuation to course 1 of this specialization, deeper dive into RoR, among other things you will learn how to manipulate/display database data and how to authenticate/authorize users!

NL

Dec 17, 2015

Great explanation of not so easy to understand concepts. Lecturer provides good example that can help material better and see how what you've learned can be applied to real world scenarios.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 of 142 Reviews for Rails with Active Record and Action Pack

von Deyvison d P P

Jul 30, 2017

I'm very happy with the course, that was awesome to learn a lot and increase my knowledge with Ruby on Rails

von Andrew R

Aug 01, 2016

Wonderful job of explaining rails development! Awesome!

von 党文亮

Dec 03, 2015

Good

von Scott B

Jan 03, 2017

What is an application without a place to store and retrieve data. I have a moderate amount of experience with SQL from working with SQL Server and Oracle DB, so picking up this material was a natural extension of that experience to leverage a database for a full-featured application.

von Sarah H

Feb 14, 2018

I have worked with rails for sometime then stopped for a while and after that I took this course as a refreshment, and t really worth the time, actually I learned some new stuff that I did not came across before

von Max D

Jan 10, 2016

really superior course. thank you

von Tega O

Feb 09, 2016

I loved the course.

von Valdyn H

Mar 20, 2016

Excellent course, good combination of broad strokes and practical, specific tips.

von Javier G H

Mar 25, 2016

Great course for intermediate level!

von Aldo A S Z

Jan 14, 2016

Very good and resumed analysis of ActiveRecord and ActionPack

von Sreedharrao V R

Nov 24, 2016

Very good course for basic web frame work .

von Song Y

Jan 30, 2016

Nice course. A good overview upon: routing, helper, controller, nested resources

von Juan P P S

Mar 16, 2016

In this course I got new skills about the Ruby on Rails framework using the incredible Active Record ORM and the Action Pack. Great videos!

von Shane W

Oct 22, 2016

The first two courses in this series have really rekindled my interest in software development after many years away from it. Kalman does a great job - the lectures are interesting and the assignments are challenging.

von Tolga Y

Jan 20, 2016

Its a lot of fun to learn and develop web applications rapidly.

von Asfand Y A R

Apr 29, 2017

Amazing course, i had complete Ruby on Rails tutorial by Michael Hartl and i was still doubtful about alot of things but i think this course has put me on the right path and now im really confident and i think i will go all the way, Johns Hopkins university courses are amazing, very good for learning. I highly recommend it to anyone wants to learn Ruby on Rails.

von Eron F d C J

Sep 09, 2016

Amazing course!

von 朱勇宣

Feb 26, 2016

great course

von Yaroslav T

Apr 23, 2017

Very useful, nice practical asssignments

von Juan R G S

Mar 12, 2016

It is a very good course!

von vignesh k

May 14, 2017

Thank you once again for this wonderful course

von Irini K P

Mar 12, 2017

I learned a lot from the course.

The instructions of the last exercise could be less detailed, so as it would be more challenging

von Euclides C C

Apr 10, 2016

Very practical course! Keep the good work.

Thanks for your effort!

von Igor T

Jan 04, 2016

Enough to start I hope:)

von Giuseppe V

Feb 28, 2016

Just like the Course about the introduction to ruby this course has helped me to understand more Rails and the active record i really want to say : Thanks! to the professor who give me the opportunity to take this course :D From venezuela! Gracias mi pana :)