Chevron Left
Zurück zu Rails with Active Record and Action Pack

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Rails with Active Record and Action Pack by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
717 Bewertungen
149 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

You already know how to build a basic web application with the Ruby on Rails framework. Perhaps, you have even taken Course 1, "Ruby on Rails: An Introduction" (we highly recommend it) where you relied on external web services to be your “data layer”. But in the back of your mind, you always knew that there would come a time when you would need to roll up your sleeves and learn SQL to be able to interact with your own relational database (RDBMS). But there is an easier way to get started with SQL using the Active Record Object/Relational (ORM) framework. In this course, we will be able to use the Ruby language and the Active Record ORM framework to automate interactions with the database to quickly build the application we want. In Rails with Active Record and Action Pack, we will explore how to interact with relational databases by using Active Record, a Ruby gem, which Rails uses by default for database access. We will then take a look at what role Active Record plays in the overall request-response cycle, when a client (the browser) requests data from the server, as well as how to submit the data to the server. Of course, when accessing data, security is of paramount importance! We will talk about vulnerabilities such as SQL injection, as well as how to secure access to data by authenticating and authorizing users accessing the data. Take this course to build a Ruby on Rails application with Active Record to automate the detailed SQL interactions with our database....

Top-Bewertungen

AB

Aug 11, 2016

A nice continuation to course 1 of this specialization, deeper dive into RoR, among other things you will learn how to manipulate/display database data and how to authenticate/authorize users!

NL

Dec 17, 2015

Great explanation of not so easy to understand concepts. Lecturer provides good example that can help material better and see how what you've learned can be applied to real world scenarios.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 of 143 Reviews for Rails with Active Record and Action Pack

von Dmitry G

May 11, 2016

Very good course!

von Dan S R

Apr 02, 2017

Very intensive, a lot of work on assignments but at the end very happy to done this...

von James L

Nov 23, 2015

AWSOME! Easy to follow, intuitive, and helpful!

von Asfand Y A R

Apr 29, 2017

Amazing course, i had complete Ruby on Rails tutorial by Michael Hartl and i was still doubtful about alot of things but i think this course has put me on the right path and now im really confident and i think i will go all the way, Johns Hopkins university courses are amazing, very good for learning. I highly recommend it to anyone wants to learn Ruby on Rails.

von Deyvison d P P

Jul 30, 2017

I'm very happy with the course, that was awesome to learn a lot and increase my knowledge with Ruby on Rails

von Andrew R

Aug 01, 2016

Wonderful job of explaining rails development! Awesome!

von 党文亮

Dec 03, 2015

Good

von Scott B

Jan 03, 2017

What is an application without a place to store and retrieve data. I have a moderate amount of experience with SQL from working with SQL Server and Oracle DB, so picking up this material was a natural extension of that experience to leverage a database for a full-featured application.

von Song Y

Jan 30, 2016

Nice course. A good overview upon: routing, helper, controller, nested resources

von Aldo A S Z

Jan 14, 2016

Very good and resumed analysis of ActiveRecord and ActionPack

von Sreedharrao V R

Nov 24, 2016

Very good course for basic web frame work .

von Juan P P S

Mar 16, 2016

In this course I got new skills about the Ruby on Rails framework using the incredible Active Record ORM and the Action Pack. Great videos!

von Shane W

Oct 22, 2016

The first two courses in this series have really rekindled my interest in software development after many years away from it. Kalman does a great job - the lectures are interesting and the assignments are challenging.

von Tolga Y

Jan 20, 2016

Its a lot of fun to learn and develop web applications rapidly.

von Boulate K

Mar 31, 2018

Well taught and very interactive. I recommend this to every one interested in understanding the core concepts of rails

von Paul B

Oct 16, 2016

This course is a pretty detailed analysis of Controller and View roles in MVC with all it's syntax and conventions but it's definitely require some additional material for students to find by themselves. Anyway quizes and assignments are amazing - very good practice even for a little bit more advanced students than complete beginners!

von Uladzislau R

Jan 19, 2017

very useful

von Paolo P

May 01, 2017

very good course. It has helped me a lot to understand critical ruby on rails concepts.

von Intellisys

Aug 18, 2017

This course teach me a lot of complex things like authentication, nested resources and authorization. This is a great course for someone that want to learn Rails

von Bruno

Feb 17, 2016

Great course.

von Daniel

May 02, 2016

awesome!

von Steven J

Jun 05, 2016

I really liked writing the authentication myself. I've relied on Devise (and will continue using it mostly) but really got an appreciation for what was going on.

von sayed a e

Jul 03, 2017

great course thanks

von edmundo p

Jan 17, 2016

This tuto is excellent , the notes, the examples and the professor explain

von Thomas L

Jan 18, 2017

Great follow up course on Ruby programming!