Chevron Left
Zurück zu Rails with Active Record and Action Pack

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Rails with Active Record and Action Pack von Johns Hopkins University

4.7
733 Bewertungen
154 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

You already know how to build a basic web application with the Ruby on Rails framework. Perhaps, you have even taken Course 1, "Ruby on Rails: An Introduction" (we highly recommend it) where you relied on external web services to be your “data layer”. But in the back of your mind, you always knew that there would come a time when you would need to roll up your sleeves and learn SQL to be able to interact with your own relational database (RDBMS). But there is an easier way to get started with SQL using the Active Record Object/Relational (ORM) framework. In this course, we will be able to use the Ruby language and the Active Record ORM framework to automate interactions with the database to quickly build the application we want. In Rails with Active Record and Action Pack, we will explore how to interact with relational databases by using Active Record, a Ruby gem, which Rails uses by default for database access. We will then take a look at what role Active Record plays in the overall request-response cycle, when a client (the browser) requests data from the server, as well as how to submit the data to the server. Of course, when accessing data, security is of paramount importance! We will talk about vulnerabilities such as SQL injection, as well as how to secure access to data by authenticating and authorizing users accessing the data. Take this course to build a Ruby on Rails application with Active Record to automate the detailed SQL interactions with our database....

Top-Bewertungen

AB

Aug 11, 2016

A nice continuation to course 1 of this specialization, deeper dive into RoR, among other things you will learn how to manipulate/display database data and how to authenticate/authorize users!

NL

Dec 17, 2015

Great explanation of not so easy to understand concepts. Lecturer provides good example that can help material better and see how what you've learned can be applied to real world scenarios.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 147 Bewertungen für Rails with Active Record and Action Pack

von Igor T

Jan 04, 2016

Enough to start I hope:)

von eighty

Apr 02, 2019

A detailed, thorough journey through Rails' model, view, controller framework. I took this after the popular Rails tutorial, which served as a great intro. I learned a huge amount about the main components of Rails - Active Record, Action Controller and Action View. There are no boring code-along videos, just concise lectures with slides and assignments.

This course is not really for beginners. It's challenging, just because of the many potential technical issues you can run into with Ruby, Rails, databases, servers and tests. I recommend having at least six months of programming studies behind you before diving into this course.

The previous course in the series is also a must - even if you think you already know the basics, you'll have important stuff reinforced.

von Serhii S

Oct 28, 2016

It was so uneasy to get through this course. But I like it!

von Marcio N F

Dec 05, 2016

It was so helpful!

I recommend this course.

von Roman T

Mar 13, 2016

excelent course

von Vivek G

Feb 10, 2018

As good as Course 1, grate learning experience ! Thank You professor for this excellent course...

von Tolga Y

Jan 20, 2016

Its a lot of fun to learn and develop web applications rapidly.

von Asfand Y A R

Apr 29, 2017

Amazing course, i had complete Ruby on Rails tutorial by Michael Hartl and i was still doubtful about alot of things but i think this course has put me on the right path and now im really confident and i think i will go all the way, Johns Hopkins university courses are amazing, very good for learning. I highly recommend it to anyone wants to learn Ruby on Rails.

von James L

Nov 23, 2015

AWSOME! Easy to follow, intuitive, and helpful!

von Daniel H

Jan 10, 2016

You can learn a lot, but I do not think it is aimed at beginners.

von Milos R

Aug 31, 2016

An example of how a course should look like. It has everything you need to learn :

1) good videos

2) good materials

3) a teacher that is active on the forum

4) very well explained projects

5/5 would recommend :D

Going of to listen third part of this specializations.

von Serjey G I

Nov 17, 2015

Nice course!

von Daichi Y

Dec 15, 2018

It was an awesome course! There is just one thing; the versions of Ruby and Ruby on Rails look to be a bit out-dated. Thank you!

von Raul C M

Nov 22, 2015

Great course to get you started into ruby on rails

von Meis

Sep 09, 2016

Well explained content, though at times the presentation felt a little slow. Solid coding assignments that do a good job of reenforcing the course materials. A couple small topics weren't explained clearly but overall it's been a very informative class. Thanks for the knowledge!

von Ronak Y P

Feb 28, 2016

Great Course, Great assignments and pace. Loved it.

von Caspar A

Jun 08, 2016

Not as strong a course as the first course in the specialization. The lectures glossed over some things, while the assignments were a little repetitive. Nevertheless, a solid class on using rails with relational databases.

von Nikola Đ

Mar 04, 2016

Good course overall, wish more topics were covered but it's OK.

von Laura R P

Sep 18, 2016

Good overview, though sometimes hard to follow if you're a complete newbie

von Matthew H

Nov 27, 2016

Quick and easy to understand lectures. I was able to pick up active record and action pack quickly!

von Gregory J

Oct 17, 2016

Great course for understanding Active Record and managing data in a rails app. As someone new to ruby on rails, I found some details were glossed over, and some explanations were vague. However, the assignments were very well structured and filled in any gaps I had from the lectures.

von Joaquin A

Nov 26, 2015

Digging deeper into Active Record.

von Haseeb A

Oct 25, 2016

Good

von 維宸 吳

Apr 08, 2016

Smooth pace and each assignment related to further one is very helpful for understanding course material.

while I think partial or helper should provide 2 or 3 extra example code in extra reading material to know when to use partial, when to use helper.

von Qun X L

Mar 06, 2017

Learn a lot of new knowledge from this course. knowledge points clear, assignment workload OK. This is the good place to learn Active Record and Action Pack.