Chevron Left
Zurück zu Rails with Active Record and Action Pack

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Rails with Active Record and Action Pack von Johns Hopkins University

4.7
718 Bewertungen
150 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

You already know how to build a basic web application with the Ruby on Rails framework. Perhaps, you have even taken Course 1, "Ruby on Rails: An Introduction" (we highly recommend it) where you relied on external web services to be your “data layer”. But in the back of your mind, you always knew that there would come a time when you would need to roll up your sleeves and learn SQL to be able to interact with your own relational database (RDBMS). But there is an easier way to get started with SQL using the Active Record Object/Relational (ORM) framework. In this course, we will be able to use the Ruby language and the Active Record ORM framework to automate interactions with the database to quickly build the application we want. In Rails with Active Record and Action Pack, we will explore how to interact with relational databases by using Active Record, a Ruby gem, which Rails uses by default for database access. We will then take a look at what role Active Record plays in the overall request-response cycle, when a client (the browser) requests data from the server, as well as how to submit the data to the server. Of course, when accessing data, security is of paramount importance! We will talk about vulnerabilities such as SQL injection, as well as how to secure access to data by authenticating and authorizing users accessing the data. Take this course to build a Ruby on Rails application with Active Record to automate the detailed SQL interactions with our database....

Top-Bewertungen

AB

Aug 11, 2016

A nice continuation to course 1 of this specialization, deeper dive into RoR, among other things you will learn how to manipulate/display database data and how to authenticate/authorize users!

NL

Dec 17, 2015

Great explanation of not so easy to understand concepts. Lecturer provides good example that can help material better and see how what you've learned can be applied to real world scenarios.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 143 Bewertungen für Rails with Active Record and Action Pack

von Edgar J S R

Jan 31, 2017

After this course you'll be able to develop a functional web app using Rails' build-in database. Now you can produce your own data using all the options Rails has to offer; that's nice because you don't depend on external API's to get the back-end stuffs. Recommended!

von Alejandro E

Oct 24, 2017

Great course with excellent attention to detail.

von Subhrajit D

Apr 26, 2017

Excellent !

von Vivek G

Feb 10, 2018

As good as Course 1, grate learning experience ! Thank You professor for this excellent course...

von Roman T

Mar 13, 2016

excelent course

von Chris B

May 09, 2016

Very well done. I was already familiar with the concepts taught in this course but I still learned some things which is nice.

von Kat T

Feb 11, 2017

Wonderful course. Thorough instructions with a great level of detail. Great assignments that reinforce the lessons. Would recommend to anyone wanting to learn about Ruby on Rails specifically or Web Development generally.

von Milan T

Oct 20, 2018

hard but great course

von Nguyen M H

May 24, 2019

Active Record is so useful! I'm trying my best to learn all lectures.

von Walter J K

Jul 09, 2019

Excellent!

von Ritesh K

Aug 18, 2019

wonderful technology... more I learned, the more I loved it..!

von Daichi Y

Dec 15, 2018

It was an awesome course! There is just one thing; the versions of Ruby and Ruby on Rails look to be a bit out-dated. Thank you!

von Laura R P

Sep 18, 2016

Good overview, though sometimes hard to follow if you're a complete newbie

von Meis

Sep 09, 2016

Well explained content, though at times the presentation felt a little slow. Solid coding assignments that do a good job of reenforcing the course materials. A couple small topics weren't explained clearly but overall it's been a very informative class. Thanks for the knowledge!

von Ronak Y P

Feb 28, 2016

Great Course, Great assignments and pace. Loved it.

von Matthew H

Nov 27, 2016

Quick and easy to understand lectures. I was able to pick up active record and action pack quickly!

von 維宸 吳

Apr 08, 2016

Smooth pace and each assignment related to further one is very helpful for understanding course material.

while I think partial or helper should provide 2 or 3 extra example code in extra reading material to know when to use partial, when to use helper.

von Piotr

Jan 07, 2017

Useful course for beginners to Rails world.

von Gregory J

Oct 17, 2016

Great course for understanding Active Record and managing data in a rails app. As someone new to ruby on rails, I found some details were glossed over, and some explanations were vague. However, the assignments were very well structured and filled in any gaps I had from the lectures.

von Joaquin A

Nov 26, 2015

Digging deeper into Active Record.

von Raul C M

Nov 22, 2015

Great course to get you started into ruby on rails

von Giorgio P F G T

Jun 25, 2016

Very good course.

The professor explains a lot from the framework and other concepts of web development.

Very worth it!!

von Caspar A

Jun 08, 2016

Not as strong a course as the first course in the specialization. The lectures glossed over some things, while the assignments were a little repetitive. Nevertheless, a solid class on using rails with relational databases.

von Nikola Đ

Mar 04, 2016

Good course overall, wish more topics were covered but it's OK.

von Qun X L

Mar 06, 2017

Learn a lot of new knowledge from this course. knowledge points clear, assignment workload OK. This is the good place to learn Active Record and Action Pack.