Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Recommender Systems: Non-Personalized and Content-Based

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Recommender Systems: Non-Personalized and Content-Based by University of Minnesota

4.5
421 Bewertungen
81 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course, which is designed to serve as the first course in the Recommender Systems specialization, introduces the concept of recommender systems, reviews several examples in detail, and leads you through non-personalized recommendation using summary statistics and product associations, basic stereotype-based or demographic recommendations, and content-based filtering recommendations. After completing this course, you will be able to compute a variety of recommendations from datasets using basic spreadsheet tools, and if you complete the honors track you will also have programmed these recommendations using the open source LensKit recommender toolkit. In addition to detailed lectures and interactive exercises, this course features interviews with several leaders in research and practice on advanced topics and current directions in recommender systems....

Top-Bewertungen

BS

Feb 13, 2019

One of the best courses I have taken on Coursera. Choosing Java for the lab exercises makes them inaccessible for many data scientists. Consider providing a Python version.

DP

Dec 08, 2017

Nice introduction to recommender systems for those who have never heard about it before. No complex mathematical formula (which can also be seen by some as a downside).

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 of 77 Reviews for Introduction to Recommender Systems: Non-Personalized and Content-Based

von ignacio g

Oct 27, 2016

The course es really helpfull to understand how the recommender system works and what points yo have to take care when you have to implement

von Тефикова А Р

Oct 05, 2016

Курс очень понравился, спасибо большое за такую уникальную возможность вникнуть в суть рекомендательных систем!

von Daniel P

Dec 08, 2017

Nice introduction to recommender systems for those who have never heard about it before. No complex mathematical formula (which can also be seen by some as a downside).

von Seema P

Jan 07, 2017

Exceptional quality.The course content is comprehensive and practical enough applied at workplaces.

Guest lectures are super helpful and assignments are very practical yet make you think.

Thank you Coursera and Minnesota professors for this amazing course and wonderful opportunity for people like me with no background in recommendation systems learn the best research methods and practices in this field.

von Luis D F

Apr 17, 2017

Really good course to get started with recommendation systems!

von Shuang L

Nov 21, 2017

great professors and inspiring lectures!

von Patrick D

Jun 25, 2017

Great, thorough introduction with tracks for both Java programmers and non-programmers.

von Dan T

Oct 31, 2017

great overview of the breadth of material to get started

von Ashwin R

Jun 26, 2017

An excellent in-depth introduction into the concepts around recommendation systems!

von Yuncheng W

Nov 03, 2016

I think this is an amazing course for beginners who are interested in recommender systems, I strongly recommend this course to the students and engineers who are working on recommender systems.

von Rosni L

Oct 04, 2016

This course is really helpful in understanding the state of the art of non-personalized and content-based recommender systems. More it is invaluable to have changes to get the latest information from the expert through the interviews.

von Yury Z

Mar 08, 2018

Informative and helpfull for me as recommender systems practitioner. Even for things I've knew already the authors offer clean and holistic base. Surprisingly the honour track programming assignments was pretty challenging.

von vibhor n

Jun 03, 2019

A good introduction to the basic concepts of recommender systems. Loved the idea of having excel work assignments. For someone just wanting a quick learning of the concepts doesn't have to go through all the Java stuff

von Xinzhi Z

Jul 18, 2019

Great course. I really appreciated the efforts spent by the course team.

von LI Z

Jan 01, 2019

Awesome lecture and demonstration.

Here are some suggestions, first I think this course may spend too much time on non-trivial parts and some parts can be neglected; second, the programming assignment lacks a lot of supplementary tutorial for people who are not familiar with Java and LensKit package.

von

Feb 28, 2019

not so deep

von ignacio v

Feb 04, 2019

done it by audit, thnks!!! great stuff guys... but should do some practice in python!

von Ankur S

Sep 25, 2018

Very informative, very well organized. Especially like the questions like "Which domain would this technique most likely to apply".

Some areas of improvement to consider

The overall pace of the content delivery in various lectures could be increased. Tends to get very slow at times

More hands on exercises would be useful

Programming exercise in Python or Python based frameworks would bee useful

von Danish R

Oct 09, 2016

More information on Programming Assignment would have been helpful . Overall a good course to begin the specialization

von Abhisek G

Jun 05, 2017

There is a need to have this course in Python or some other statistical programming language. Simple reason is that a lot of budding data scientists are not coming from CS background and dont have necessary skillset in Java. Else the course is good.

von Diana H

Jul 29, 2017

I think it could be fun if there were simple assignments which could be done in python. Java can be a bit heavy and a lot of the time goes with figuring out the framework. :)

von Reza N

Apr 27, 2017

The course was easy to understand. but i find the slides not much of help.

von scott t

Aug 03, 2017

first time taking a course using Coursera...material was very interesting and well explained. I wish there was a way to speed up the audio track a little to shorten the lecture length. hard for the lecturer to engage with an audience that is not there, but both tried to do so.

von Peter P

Oct 04, 2016

Too theoretical. I hope other parts will have more details.

von Алешин А Е

May 18, 2018

It would be better to make practice on Python.