Chevron Left
Zurück zu Understanding Research Methods

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Understanding Research Methods von University of London

4.6
Sterne
5,109 Bewertungen
1,689 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This MOOC is about demystifying research and research methods. It will outline the fundamentals of doing research, aimed primarily, but not exclusively, at the postgraduate level. It places the student experience at the centre of our endeavours by engaging learners in a range of robust and challenging discussions and exercises befitting SOAS, University of London's status as a research-intensive university and its rich research heritage. The course will appeal to those of you who require an understanding of research approaches and skills, and importantly an ability to deploy them in your studies or in your professional lives. In particular, this course will aid those of you who have to conduct research as part of your postgraduate studies but do not perhaps have access to research methods courses, or for those of you who feel you would like additional support for self-improvement. No prior knowledge or experience in research is required to take this course and as such, the course is for everyone. This MOOC draws on a wealth of existing course material developed to support research training across SOAS, University of London and particularly drawing from the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy (CISD). In 2015, the course was nominated for the prestigious Guardian University Award for its innovative approach to online learning. Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes...

Top-Bewertungen

AG
26. Juli 2017

This is wonderful course especially for research scholars, one suggestion is instead of giving articles from books, please provide a PPT which will be more effective ! thank you for wonderful session.

JV
28. Nov. 2020

A well made lesson with focus of what matters the most in research. The university of London along with Coursera did a great job at pointing out how research topics should be approached.\n\nThank you

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 1,664 Bewertungen für Understanding Research Methods

von Kira K

13. Aug. 2016

Didn't like the course though did only one week. In the first week you are supposed to write a research proposal. Though there is a lot of talk on what research is, no actual advice is given on how to write a sound research statement. What's more, with no knowledge on how to do it, you are supposed to assess the works of your peers. I doubt that inexperienced in research beginners will provide valuable feedback - at least I would never do it if I hadn't been quite experienced in that. The second week is devoted to the discussion of the importance of literature review. Isn't that obvious?

von Karl P R M

5. Nov. 2015

In terms of delivery, the course delivery was very simple, critical and relevant. The course content was very engaging as it included interviews with graduate students and professors alike who are doing their researches. Quite fittingly, I commend the creators of this course for recognizing the fact that most online courses on research methods out there focus on having a linear tackling of lesson topics. For this course, it stressed the key issues and reflections of individuals who are doing the actual rudiments of the thing we call "research". More importantly, this course was also critical and relevant in many respects as it allowed us to have some write-ups about the topics without requiring us to go through many readings. It is in this sense that I would say that it its relevant--concise and direct in its approach, the instructors have seen to it that what they are to discuss will be the things which new comers to the research endeavor might ask.

Kudos to the team! And my warmest regards to all of you! =D

von 19G049 M M M

14. Okt. 2020

This course was an engaging one, sharing the experience of researchers. The activity was also great where we had chances to review others assignment.

von Rajan A

13. Sep. 2020

I completed my MA in English Literature in 2009 but it took me another 4 years to complete my thesis equivalent to 100 marks. I submitted a thesis in Virginia Woolf's To The Lighthouse by using feminism as a theoretical framework. I have got A+ in the thesis as well. However, my passion for research methods and academic writing was not pacified. When the nationwide lockdown began from March 24 in Nepal, I thought to utilize the time in a productive way. Therefore, I googled some free online courses related to research and came to find out Understanding Research Methods proposed by the University of London, SOAS University of London. Yes, I didn't complete all the assignments on the given time; however, I did each and every assignment and went through the peer reviews.

At the end of the course, I feel I have learned the things very practically. I learned about the research question, literature review and approaches, designs, philosophical assumptions and usefulness of the qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods of research to complete a research project in a successful way. I would like to thanks MOOC, University of London and the entire team for providing this opportunity for me.

von Charles O

30. Sep. 2020

It has been a wonderful course. What has impressed me most is the way how activities have been structured. You move from a scratch to a level where you can as well train others on how to write an excellent research proposal. I found reviewing colleagues work very enriching. Well done course designers.

I am having challenges to purchase the certificate due to issues of bank card. Is it possible to purchase it using western Union money transfer? Please guide me.

Sometime back I wrote you to say that I had challenges with with the bank card. However, I have managed to process it long at last. Would you please clear my payment line so that I can purchase my certificate?

von JONNALA S R

1. Mai 2020

It was a perfect course for understanding the research methods. It helps me a lot, thanks to the University of London and Coursera for providing this opportunity to enhance our Knowledge in research.

I would like to Thank all mentors, especially Maryam Mahdavipour who has been fully and continuously responsive to my questions. Her amazing attitude was key in making my first course go smooth and be of great value.

The world is indeed a nutshell, this is what Coursera has shown me so far, and I'm sure more knowledge and exciting learning experiences is yet to come.

von Soumitra S

29. Okt. 2019

Excellent Course has been designed to learn research Approach, Research Design and Methodology. I am highly benefited by this course and it helps me a lot to pursue my PhD work

von Lucia

13. Feb. 2021

I am very disappointed with the content of this course. By the title and the topic, it had the potential to be a true gem among the courses offered on this site, since the topic is diverse yet very relevant to a lot of students, and the information could have supported potential researchers into the initial phases of their studies (which as far as I understand is the ultimate goal of the course, and my intention when I joined).

However, the course is just lazy. The creators did not have in mind to provide any useful information, insights, or advice. They recorded one-minute videos with UCL researchers and used parts of those one-minute long interviews in diverse videos so that, along with a total of 10 minutes of content for the first course of the week, you watch the same vague, already well-known affirmations all over. This means you learn nothing, and you're left with minus 10 minutes of your precious time.

Having completed many other Coursera courses I can say it's the first time I find one that is so pretentious it makes you want to believe that you are gaining any valuable knowledge in a total of 10 minute videos and a less than challenging activity. Literally, this review has taken me more effort than completing the contents of the whole of the first week. This review also has probably taken more effort than creating the contents of the entire course.

Truly, it is the worst course I've done on this platform, and would recommend that you do something else instead.

von Jularat P

14. Mai 2021

Very useful online course and motivate learner to become active , dedicate and enjoy the topic. Well structure of course , timing is perfect for anyone who didn’t have much free time.

Moreover, they provide the educational community of learning which is crucial for student to discuss and share what they’ve learned.

There is only one problem for me during taking this course. The assignment didn’t clear enough in some part. So that could be the reason that student don’t understand what they should do to submit those assignment.

Overalls, I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who interested in research field, or someone who is in academic setting and want to use research method for further more.

von Tom H

17. Mai 2020

Great course! I learnt a lot about the processes of planning a piece of research. This course doesn't go into a huge amount of depth (it's only a short, 4 week course) but it gives you a really good introduction and I would recommend it to anyone who is about to begin learning about research. This course gives you free access to about 4 different chapters from different textbooks that are really worth reading and learning from. Also, the interviews with university professors are really useful because they share their first-hand knowledge, experience and advice.

von Linda.Zh

23. Nov. 2016

It is a very good introductory course on research methods. It has deepened my understanding of research methods. It has helped me to understand the role of literature review and research design. I also like its unique way of doing this course. Instead of lengthy lecturing, the course presents a few videos interviewing different researchers, having them talk about a certain topic. I've heard different views on the same topic, each of which makes a point. It has definitely helped me to look at the same issue from different perspectives.

von Sushmitha S

14. Mai 2020

This course is well designed with experts sharing their valuable experiences about research. The interviews provides insights which helps us understand every detail to be taken care of while conducting a research. The study material provides an in-depth understanding of every concept and better understanding of the research process as a whole. This MOOC helped me understand research in a better way and the weekly assignments made the concepts learnt more applicable. Overall, this MOOC was a memorable experience.

von Zulkifli M

26. Apr. 2020

I love the flexibility of the course which allows me to pace my learning in accordance with my own situation. What is interesting about this particular course is the sharing of the research community, not just by the instructors. As researchers face their own challenges and have their own perspectives of looking at research aspects, we see diversified opinions and ideas. The fact that we can share our own experience and assess other learners' assignments cultivates a solid constructivist-learning environment.

von shruthi

27. Mai 2020

This was an interesting and less exhaustive than I thought of it to be in the initial stages while I signed up. There is this construct of how anything concerning "Research" is time consuming and very rigorous. This course surely broke the fourth wall of such a construct and I thoroughly enjoyed each and every video, materials and of course the Peer E-tivity which was new to me and also a process of learning. Thank you so much to both the Course Instructors its been an honor learning from you both.

von Rania M

12. Juni 2021

I learned a lot from this course. It allowed me to think critically about my research project and question as well as to understand research designs, methods, and approaches. I benefited from the readings provided by the instructors, in particular on conducting a literature review and on research designs. These were very helpful in allowing me to refine my research question and provide an initial outline plan. This was an excellent course that I would recommend to fellow PhD researchers.

von Bharath N k

26. Juli 2020

good course ,this is just a outline all over for research especially for qualitative thinker i mean who are from social science ,it is some what different from science . they are starting with open ended question .however for science studying people it is converse .since the interviewed researchers are mainly from social ,so they have said in the point of social studies.However this a outline .therefore everything is same to make a research on whatever the thing except few points.

von MD S H

21. Juli 2020

Evaluators can use a to compare findings from qualitative and quantitative data sources. It involves collecting both types of data at roughly the same time; assessing information using parallel constructs for both types of data; separately analyzing both types of data; and comparing results through procedures such as a side-by-side comparison in a discussion, transforming the qualitative data set into quantitative scores, or jointly displaying both forms of data.

convergent design

von HEENABA J

14. März 2021

By attending this course of Coursera, Understanding research methodology it provides very useful knowledge about the research activities such as plagiarism, bibliography, content of research work, sampling methods to be used and mamy more, it's a fabulous course for the Research scholar students specially to understand the importance of all the do and don't of the Research work in a very easy and comfortable way , thanks for providing such a online course.

von Tangina A

23. Apr. 2020

I am happy in participating the course as it helps me to think critically about the problem around my society,around the world.I also became able to know how others are thinking .I have learned from the course that it takes time to commit research so how better your thinking actually does little matter,you must give your time in this work efficiently.And how can i systematically doing my research is most important one that i have learned from the course.

von Hanif S

25. Aug. 2020

This course while short is very informative and useful for those who are starting to do research be it undergraduate, postgraduate or doctorate, or even to those who are engaging or have completed one and doing another. It provides an overview of research methodology. Ideas were given from students and researchers giving students different perspectives on research skills. Highly recommend to those who are in higher education.

von Jayeshkumar K

21. Mai 2020

I was totally unaware about the research methods. So, after going through the course I understood about need for choosing and framing most useful research question, how to design it , deciding about research methodology , approach and time management skill. This will be useful for further study. Thank you all connected with course , university authority , co-students and all those involve with this programme. God bless you

von Charisse T

29. Okt. 2020

I'm so thankful of this course, it gave me courage and motivation to keep going to my dream to be a Researcher. I'm currently doing my revision of my thesis and it helps me to have a better approach on writing an article/thesis. I highly recommended this to those into research - in any kind of field. Sometimes, we need to hear an advice from someone, an actual experience to gain our confidence and self esteem. Thank you!

von KHULOOD S

26. Aug. 2020

Hello...I'm so blessed to have this platform ,it really helped me alot in my learning phase as well as in my research .Thank you for the coursera team to provide this opportunity to me .I really thanks to my online teachers who worked very effectively and prepared such an informative videos for our betterment.I will stay in contact with this platform and very special thanks to University of London ,SOAS for this course.

von Kavita N

15. Okt. 2020

Thanks to this course I am now able to appreciate and understand the three research methods and approach to research design. I liked the way the course has been designed and put together. It would be helpful if we had more readings suggestions. I am especially grateful to the team of professors/researchers that put this course together. Please consider offering a specialization on each of the Research Methods.

von FRANCE A N

28. Aug. 2019

I am glad to have finished this course in a short span of time and have learned so many things about research. Thank you so much to all my generous classmates who have shown their interest in helping me gain knowledge through their feedback to my submitted tasks. Kudos to all the researchers around the world! Together let's contribute to build a better society for the future generation through our researches.