Chevron Left
Zurück zu Understanding Research Methods

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Understanding Research Methods von University of London

4.6
Sterne
5,366 Bewertungen
1,767 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This MOOC is about demystifying research and research methods. It will outline the fundamentals of doing research, aimed primarily, but not exclusively, at the postgraduate level. It places the student experience at the centre of our endeavours by engaging learners in a range of robust and challenging discussions and exercises befitting SOAS, University of London's status as a research-intensive university and its rich research heritage. The course will appeal to those of you who require an understanding of research approaches and skills, and importantly an ability to deploy them in your studies or in your professional lives. In particular, this course will aid those of you who have to conduct research as part of your postgraduate studies but do not perhaps have access to research methods courses, or for those of you who feel you would like additional support for self-improvement. No prior knowledge or experience in research is required to take this course and as such, the course is for everyone. This MOOC draws on a wealth of existing course material developed to support research training across SOAS, University of London and particularly drawing from the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy (CISD). In 2015, the course was nominated for the prestigious Guardian University Award for its innovative approach to online learning. Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes...

Top-Bewertungen

AG
26. Juli 2017

This is wonderful course especially for research scholars, one suggestion is instead of giving articles from books, please provide a PPT which will be more effective ! thank you for wonderful session.

AB
9. Sep. 2019

very good course. The last e-activity was proposal preparation. It will be good if they add something about sampling in reading materials. Very good experience for me.....I will recommend this course

Filtern nach:

1726 - 1750 von 1,758 Bewertungen für Understanding Research Methods

von Rawan N A

1. Sep. 2020

thank you for your efforts but I think need more information

von Biobele L

5. Juli 2020

It was a great and enlightening course. I was so excited

von Carlos M C C

2. Nov. 2020

Poor sound, low quality videos. Low engagement.

von Upasna G

30. Sep. 2021

I think the course need to be more exhaustive.

von Saquib B H

6. Juli 2020

The contents could have been better.

von Rawan I B H

6. Juli 2020

Not adding any valuable information

von Sintra S

25. Juni 2020

Not really detailed

von Xavier O

26. Nov. 2015

yeah

von David W

3. Aug. 2020

Peer reviewing quality was very poor, and I didn't receive any feedback that I could learn from. There was a mismatch between the simplicity of the points in the videos and the complexity of the readings, and there was no assistance with the reading, e.g. supporting notes or videos discussing the readings. The discussion facility was not used for any actual discussion of the material, but was filled with requests for peer reviewing including at least one that said 'I'll give you a good mark if you give me one'.

The useful aspect was completing the assignments, which made me watch the videos and read the sources, but, as I say, there was no subsequent useful feedback.

von Aastha s

18. Mai 2020

This course is not what it boasts to be.Just some random interviews are posted without doing any work on developing the content and structuring the presentation.Pier review system even makes it worse.I was expecting a more structured presentation rather than beating around the bush.Rather than giving reference to the materials you can make some efforts to create content of your own.If you are looking for course on research methods the course by university of Amsterdam is the best hands down.

von Zafar A

26. Aug. 2020

The course could be done much better. It is basically people being interviewed about what research is and they ask the same questions to 4 different people with similar answers. Also the course organisers get u the paying customer to review as oppose to do it themselves -I think this is not fair and u get no input from the course organiser. How this course got an award is beyond me. Coursea should remove this course or get new people to do it properly.

von Manuel S

9. Aug. 2020

It is a really basic course. I don't recommend it because the videos are not well organized and the assignments are not clear. It also demands to give feedback with at least 50 words, this is not applicable to submissions that require a minimun of 400 words but participants dont take the course seriously and write a copuple of lines. Also, the interviews from the videos are not well organized and the people interviewed dont always make a good point.

von Zokir A

14. Juli 2020

Except for the material prepared by Harvard about research methods I couldn't find anything attractive in this course. Unfortunately, instructors were not influential. They spoke with a very low tone and lacked enthusiasm. I remember one of them saying that they represent good researchers. What? Personally or professionally I don't know you, but by your speaking or enthusiasm you are not representing "good researchers".

von Mithra A

26. Aug. 2020

The course could have been organized better. The tittle tells understanding the research methods and the instructors had hardly discussed any. The interview they take with other people could just be a supplementary videos and not the main course content itself. It was quite shocking to know to the entire content has just the interviewed opinions.

von Marc G

13. Aug. 2017

I found this course way too sketchy and lacking in information. The module on literature reviews was good, but other than that, the course was devoid of content and I do not feel like my knowledge of research methods has increased after completing the course.

von Chad J

22. Juli 2020

It gave me some interesting ideas to consider but didn't delve into how to do any of them. For example we read three chapters about the importance of a organized, methodical literature review, but there wasn't anything on how to do it methodically.

von Rasha S

9. Apr. 2021

The course does not have a clear structure or structured lectures. The videos are of people giving their opinion of the topics and there are no definitive ways given. It just feels too unorganized and difficult to follow.

von Fatima L

11. Mai 2021

This is absolutely terrible. The readings are badly written sections of a book and the people interviewed (with the exception of Halperin) are spewing nothing but vague nebulous motherhood statements. Very disappointing.

von Ashhadullah F

20. Jan. 2021

Said that If you can pass the exam, you will be given a free certificate, but the certificate was not given..... Cheater... Cheated with me..... Don't trust your Institute/organization

von abdulla m

14. Juli 2021

appreciate the hard work that authors had do to complete the course , my personal rate is low as i didn't enjoy the course , video boring

von Renan J S L

2. Feb. 2021

The lectures are more fo pep talks. The course did not really give a lot of detail on research methods.

von Daniel Z

31. Jan. 2018

Minimal content. The course explores a very relevant topic in a very shallow way.

von Agrivino V P A

6. Apr. 2020

It's a piece of garbage, because we can't download the pdfs.

von Deepak K S

8. Apr. 2021

did not receive any completion mail or any certificate

von Valentina E

4. Juli 2018

The course seemed to me too short and sketchy.