Chevron Left
Zurück zu Understanding Research Methods

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Understanding Research Methods von University of London

4.5
Sterne
1,876 Bewertungen
555 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This MOOC is about demystifying research and research methods. It will outline the fundamentals of doing research, aimed primarily, but not exclusively, at the postgraduate level. It places the student experience at the centre of our endeavours by engaging learners in a range of robust and challenging discussions and exercises befitting SOAS, University of London's status as a research-intensive university and its rich research heritage. The course will appeal to those of you who require an understanding of research approaches and skills, and importantly an ability to deploy them in your studies or in your professional lives. In particular, this course will aid those of you who have to conduct research as part of your postgraduate studies but do not perhaps have access to research methods courses, or for those of you who feel you would like additional support for self-improvement. No prior knowledge or experience in research is required to take this course and as such, the course is for everyone. This MOOC draws on a wealth of existing course material developed to support research training across SOAS, University of London and particularly drawing from the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy (CISD). In 2015, the course was nominated for the prestigious Guardian University Award for its innovative approach to online learning. Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes...

Top-Bewertungen

AG

Jul 27, 2017

This is wonderful course especially for research scholars, one suggestion is instead of giving articles from books, please provide a PPT which will be more effective ! thank you for wonderful session.

AB

Sep 10, 2019

very good course. The last e-activity was proposal preparation. It will be good if they add something about sampling in reading materials. Very good experience for me.....I will recommend this course

Filtern nach:

376 - 400 von 543 Bewertungen für Understanding Research Methods

von Mario A P P

Sep 22, 2017

Me gusto mucho la metodología, las experiencias y la forma de crear informacion mediante diálogos con investigadores. Recomiendo mucho este curso si tienes en plan o en desarrollo lo siguiente:trabajo de tesis,investigacion,tarea de proyecto o simplemente por que te dedicas a una área de constante desarrollo científico.

von Aswan K

Oct 24, 2016

Understanding Research Methods MOOC by University of London helped me out to get extensive knowledge on the basic fundamentals that a researcher should have and should look into. I thank the Course Instructors Dr.J.Simon Rofe and Dr.Yenn Lee, SOAS,University of London for preparing this informative MOOC.

von Erica M V

Nov 30, 2015

This course was basic yet covered many important elements for research design. It helped me to better understand the parts of design. The readings were relevant and the assignments were thorough enough to solidify main ideas. The videos were interesting. I would recommend the course for beginners.

von KAKHANGCHUNG P

Aug 07, 2017

Was really helpful for me especially in peer reviewing others works. Enables us to indirectly or directly share ideas. I found the week on the importance of literature review most helpful for me as this is the area if done properly will generate proper and relevant ideas of your research.

von Emmanuel D

Dec 05, 2017

This is an interesting course about some aspects of research methods. The lessons are really "light" (and for me, a bit too general), but I learned a number of practical tips and tricks about the necessity to carefully review the existing literature and about the writing of a report.

von Amber G

Jun 03, 2017

this is a great course for those people who are new to research because most of people don't know how to manage their work or what methods are followed in research .This course will help you to start on a research project as you'll understand how to do research in a correct way.

von Islam A

Nov 05, 2019

It was such a helpful course, even though the syllabus was concentrating on researching Social Studies and I am a researcher in Civil Engineering. The session concerning time management need to be modified to suite its title as the content and the title didn't match.

von Katherine M

Jun 07, 2017

Overall, great class! I learned a lot about research methods as a process. However, I wish there was a way for the course to be more academic. I am took this course as a means to help me apply to a PhD program, and I am not sure it will count in an academic setting.

von Rajshekhar I

Oct 19, 2015

Good course for anyone starting the journey of research. The course gives you an overview of the whole process in simple and easy way. Research work is challenging, however, this introductory course gives you some comfort when you hear the research scholars.

von Anika P

Nov 12, 2018

This course helped me understand how to direct my research and write useful feedback, as well as explore different research methods. it also helped me understand how to write a literature review effectively and definitely inspired me to begin researching.

von Juliana S

Feb 10, 2018

It is a good course, but if you already have a scientific background it may be too basic to you. I really liked the videos, especially the one talking about how you can deal with critics - this is something nobody teaches you. I would recommend it.

von Yezid J M G

Jun 13, 2018

Saludos. En punto de foco quiero agradecer a todas estas prestigiosas universidades por compartir con nosotros sus investigaciones. Realmente fueron grandes conocimientos, actualizaciones y nuevos en su carácter más puro. saludos.

von Anna B S

Jul 27, 2017

I thought the course was just what I needed to start to understand better the definitions and stages for higher education levels of research. It's helped me understand existing ways I work and give them a more structured catergory

von Sabur M

Feb 11, 2018

Great introductory course. A little basic - could do with being longer and exploring more issues in more detail.

Also would be nice for their to be some form of exam in order to obtain a meaningful score other than (100%)

von Arvind R

Aug 24, 2015

Peer review evaluation for assignment work is a great way to foster collaboration and new ways of thinking.. what one reviewer might write could be varied from the next reviewer thereby the course adding a lot of value.

von Si N Y

Apr 07, 2016

Great course, I managed to refine my research question through its assignments, and got a better idea of how to go about creating a good literature review. Have bookmarked most of the readings for future reference.

von Dr R A R A

Oct 28, 2015

A very fruitful effort and a nice MOOC by Univ of London allowing many many people/researchers across the globe to learn about state of art research methods which are usually not taught at MPhil or PhD levels.

von Learner 2

Jun 05, 2017

I think course provide a great introduction to understanding research methods in the social sciences. The interviews with academics, provided as part of the course, are particularly informative.

von Sai D P

Aug 06, 2017

It was a great course but I wish the repetitions in videos are cut out. A lot of scholars are repeating what the others have already addressed, if that can be taken care of, it would be great.

von Itzel H A

Feb 14, 2017

This course is a good first step towards research in any field. Research is something important and delicate and this is a great way to start understanding its purpose, tools and activities.

von Gianni C

Sep 09, 2018

The course is well structured with a many stimulating activities. Maybe adding other suggested readings more in-depth knowledge of some arguments could be beneficial for the whole course

von Genimon V J

Feb 09, 2017

The course format and reading materials are of very much helped me to have the concept of research design and research formulation. I recommend this course to my fellow learners..

von Rainier G F

Oct 10, 2019

This course gave me another perspective in understanding the research methods. The materials are good. It is not a very demanding course but enriching. Thank you very much!

von Fatima K

Jun 07, 2017

I benefited from this course very well. i would love to see the teachers interacting with us. I feel peer assessment is great but not enough to know the final Guidance.

von Chioma Q O

Dec 06, 2019

I really enjoyed learning about research methods and the course will help me undergo my recent research as I have understood the basic requirements for a good research