Chevron Left
Zurück zu Understanding Research Methods

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Understanding Research Methods von University of London

4.5
stars
1,837 Bewertungen
544 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This MOOC is about demystifying research and research methods. It will outline the fundamentals of doing research, aimed primarily, but not exclusively, at the postgraduate level. It places the student experience at the centre of our endeavours by engaging learners in a range of robust and challenging discussions and exercises befitting SOAS, University of London's status as a research-intensive university and its rich research heritage. The course will appeal to those of you who require an understanding of research approaches and skills, and importantly an ability to deploy them in your studies or in your professional lives. In particular, this course will aid those of you who have to conduct research as part of your postgraduate studies but do not perhaps have access to research methods courses, or for those of you who feel you would like additional support for self-improvement. No prior knowledge or experience in research is required to take this course and as such, the course is for everyone. This MOOC draws on a wealth of existing course material developed to support research training across SOAS, University of London and particularly drawing from the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy (CISD). In 2015, the course was nominated for the prestigious Guardian University Award for its innovative approach to online learning. Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes...

Top-Bewertungen

AG

Jul 27, 2017

This is wonderful course especially for research scholars, one suggestion is instead of giving articles from books, please provide a PPT which will be more effective ! thank you for wonderful session.

MA

Sep 13, 2019

It was a perfect course for understanding the research methods. It helps me a lot, thanks to the University of London and Coursera for providing this opportunity to enhance our Knowledge in research.

Filtern nach:

451 - 475 von 532 Bewertungen für Understanding Research Methods

von POONAM G G

Sep 28, 2016

THANK YOU FOR THE GUIDANCE.

von Shree K

Feb 22, 2019

Good course for beginners

von Parmar V S

Jun 07, 2017

This is really interesti

von Elsayed k

Feb 16, 2017

its a great experience.

von Hadeer A

Sep 29, 2016

It is Great. Thank you!

von KUMAWAT M K M K

Apr 20, 2019

Such a great course.

von Tan W C K

Sep 03, 2015

Good course indeed.

von Adolfo G R

Feb 12, 2019

it could be better

von V P R k P

Jan 22, 2017

a very good course

von Willy R C S

Feb 28, 2016

muy interesante!!!

von Madhusudanan.S

Jun 21, 2016

Excellent Course.

von César A L P

Mar 07, 2019

Se puede mejorar

von Kenadid A O

Dec 26, 2015

excellent course

von Vickey B

Nov 10, 2016

NICE EXPERIeNCE

von Pashupati S

Oct 08, 2018

It is helpful.

von Charlie B S

Mar 14, 2017

Good Course!!

von Rachel

Mar 17, 2016

very helpful!

von Erica C

Jan 09, 2018

great course

von Dr J G

Apr 19, 2016

Great Course

von stellamary

Jan 24, 2017

good one

von ismail o

Nov 14, 2019

Good

von Erick C

Apr 03, 2017

ok

von M. I

Jun 27, 2016

Content is good. I found the information in the videos valuable, albeit short and leaving me wanting more. I suppose that's what research is for. In general great and short course to get one on track with research methods.Take this course, as it is good.

So why three stars?

I know it is a long review, and feel free to remove it from the list, if you deem it appropriate. I have learned a lot in the course, and it is a valuable experience still.

My problem lies with the design of the course, that seems to have started with great vigour at then lost the steam at the end. I would like to suggest few pointers. Especially since the presenters have another courses in the catalogue with similar issues.

1. Help learners to focus - Body language, and position in the room. Standing in front of windows with the traffic outside may seem a minor thing, but it detracts form you and the content. As a course designer it is a responsibility to set it right. Same applies for hands in back pockets, posture when sat down, lens flare etc.

2 - As instructors you have offered very little teaching. All was left to the guest speakers. All very good and knowledgeable. Some graphic and own mini lecture would help to establish you as experts (not that you are not, but we would not know that from the videos), rather than mere interviewers. (Summary of what was said).

3 - match the video and e-tivity focus. And think about the accessibility of the material to your learners, especially if no previous knowledge is required. Week three was about managing research and planning. The reading, was surprisingly different (week 4 activity would be more suitable here) and really hard to access to someone, who hasn't done much reading in theories of knowledge etc. This would be more accessible as a guided lecture and quiz, rather than 400 words response.

I hope I was not offensive to anyone. I was trying to help you to help us learn better, if that makes sense.

M

von Jose O

Sep 01, 2015

The course was of great help. It provides valuable insights to engage in academic research. However, I rate it only with three starts because I think it is too basic for the complexity involved in real research. Also I think some ideas provided in the course could be better organized. For example, in week three, the topic was understood to be something like "Management Skills Applied to Research" but the material pointed to something totally different. All ideas presented were great, but I think it is just matter to clarify better the objectives in each week.

von Felicia J

Oct 05, 2016

The organization of this course was very good. I liked the themes and their order. I thought the videos could have been longer and more substancial, but the reading were great. I got confused on one of the assignments in which the questions of the given chapter were supposed to be answer. There were 3. I must have misunderstood or have another file, because no one I read had such question and I got not so great reviews. I think this should be looked at. Either way, thank you for this opportunity!