Chevron Left
Zurück zu Understanding Research Methods

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Understanding Research Methods von University of London

4.5
1,642 Bewertungen
486 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This MOOC is about demystifying research and research methods. It will outline the fundamentals of doing research, aimed primarily, but not exclusively, at the postgraduate level. It places the student experience at the centre of our endeavours by engaging learners in a range of robust and challenging discussions and exercises befitting SOAS, University of London's status as a research-intensive university and its rich research heritage. The course will appeal to those of you who require an understanding of research approaches and skills, and importantly an ability to deploy them in your studies or in your professional lives. In particular, this course will aid those of you who have to conduct research as part of your postgraduate studies but do not perhaps have access to research methods courses, or for those of you who feel you would like additional support for self-improvement. No prior knowledge or experience in research is required to take this course and as such, the course is for everyone. This MOOC draws on a wealth of existing course material developed to support research training across SOAS, University of London and particularly drawing from the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy (CISD). In 2015, the course was nominated for the prestigious Guardian University Award for its innovative approach to online learning. Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes...

Top-Bewertungen

AG

Jul 27, 2017

This is wonderful course especially for research scholars, one suggestion is instead of giving articles from books, please provide a PPT which will be more effective ! thank you for wonderful session.

CD

Jan 25, 2017

I got to learn a lot about various research methods which i did not know previously. The timing of presentation of various ideas was excellent. Reviewing classmates was a good learning experience.

Filtern nach:

451 - 475 von 475 Bewertungen für Understanding Research Methods

von SONIA M

Jun 12, 2019

Interesting course and interactive learning process. I would love a certificate, though.

von

Aug 17, 2019

i liked the simple way of learning and and it gave me the basic knowledge

von Abhishekkumar T

Feb 10, 2018

This course just gives you theoretical background of research methods and too easy. I found it actually not useful to me. I learned no practical skills to deal with my research thesis.

von Nidhi R

Oct 10, 2016

This course relies heavily on self-reading and theoretical knowledge. Video interviews which are part of the curriculum are mostly not useful. Overall the course did not provide me with the value I was looking for.

von Christopher M S

Sep 27, 2015

There was very little actual content in this course, and I can't say I learned very much. In hindsight, I wish I hadn't paid for a verified certificate.

von Suzanne T

Jan 23, 2016

This course is nicely organized and has manageable readings & videos. The video quality could be better. It's very very basic information about research. It might be useful to someone who does not know anything about it at all. The title might lead one to expect that methods of research such as qualitative, quantitative, and mixed method would be explored. Rather, this course is a general overview of what research is.

von Xavier O

Nov 26, 2015

yeah

von Dylan W

Jul 06, 2017

The instructional videos were short and generic. The few assigned readings were better. To improve the course I would have asked the interviewed researchers to explain the details of their studies and why they had to make certain changes to their research design when they came to commonly encountered impediments. Not worth US $50; US $20 would have been a fair price for a course of this length and time commitment.

von Sayr O

Jul 30, 2017

The sound is not clear, they bore me a lot when they talk about something. I would enjoy the course if they type it in a page to read it more comfortably.

von Abdulrahman A

Mar 29, 2017

The course is not well constricted to guide students.. it's only fill the gaps.

von Oosman B

Jul 12, 2018

Contains worthwhile content though for all the hours spent, I didn't get as much as I should have.

von Ahmed E

Apr 01, 2019

This is a good course but I was hoping to get lectures that teach the research methodology in greater details with MCQs as testing methods.

von Juan C V G

Jun 28, 2019

Podria tener un enfoque mas amplio. Ya que solo se centra en investigacion en el are social. No abarca investigacion cientifica o de otrras ramas del cobnocimiento. Pudieron convocar expertos en estas areas para asie rniquecer en gran medida el proceso de aprendizaje, y hacer de este un curso mas global.

von Valentina E

Jul 04, 2018

The course seemed to me too short and sketchy.

von Kira K

Aug 13, 2016

Didn't like the course though did only one week. In the first week you are supposed to write a research proposal. Though there is a lot of talk on what research is, no actual advice is given on how to write a sound research statement. What's more, with no knowledge on how to do it, you are supposed to assess the works of your peers. I doubt that inexperienced in research beginners will provide valuable feedback - at least I would never do it if I hadn't been quite experienced in that. The second week is devoted to the discussion of the importance of literature review. Isn't that obvious?

von Iftikhar A E

Jun 25, 2016

It is like for kids, I think all courses must mention their target audience. Contents, Videos, talks nothing was value for time.

von moataz a s

Aug 28, 2015

TOO SUPERFICIAL

von Biswajit P

May 14, 2016

Disappointing

von Yogesh K S

May 26, 2017

it did not add any value to existing knowledge.

von Taghizadeh

Jan 13, 2018

Not very good course in my view.

von Anish K

Jun 04, 2017

Far Below expectations. No inputs

von Marc G

Aug 13, 2017

I found this course way too sketchy and lacking in information. The module on literature reviews was good, but other than that, the course was devoid of content and I do not feel like my knowledge of research methods has increased after completing the course.

von Sterling J R

Apr 13, 2016

Really Didn't like the course.

von Daniel Z

Jan 31, 2018

Minimal content. The course explores a very relevant topic in a very shallow way.

von Adam Z

Apr 15, 2019

I do not find almost anything valuable in this course. It's a bunch of random interviews without any clear learning process. Completing whole course can be done in 30 minutes.