Chevron Left
Zurück zu Advertising and Society

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Advertising and Society von Duke University

4.7
Sterne
644 Bewertungen
150 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course examines the relation of advertising to society, culture, history, and the economy. Using contemporary theories about visual communications, we learn to analyze the complex levels of meaning in both print advertisements and television commercials. About the Course The course covers a wide range of topics, including the origins of advertising, the creation of ads, the interpretation of ads, the depiction of race, class, gender, and sexuality in advertising, sex and selling, adverting and ethics, and the future of advertising. The lectures will discuss theoretical frameworks and apply them to specific advertisements. Course Syllabus Week 1: What is advertising and where did it come from? Week 2: Am I being manipulated by advertising? Week 3: What’s in an ad beyond that which meets the eye? Week 4: How do ads get made? Week 5: What do ads teach us about race, class, gender, and sexuality? Week 6: Does sex sell? Week 7: What is the future of advertising? Recommended Background No background is required; everyone is welcome! Suggested Readings Although the lectures are designed to be self-contained, we recommend that students refer to the free online textbook ADTextOnline.org. Other free resources will be suggested for each week’s module. Course Format Most videos will be lectures with instructor talking. Each lecture will be illustrated with PowerPoint slides, print advertisements, and TV commercials. The videos for each week will consist of segments that add up to about an hour. Each week will have one quiz that will appear as stand-alone homework. All resources beyond lectures will be available online to students at no charge. Most of these will be from ADTextOnline.org. Others will be visits to the sites of ad agencies in the US and abroad, open access websites that deal with course topics, and open-access journal articles....

Top-Bewertungen

KD

Jun 15, 2018

What a great course! As an owner of an agency, a marketer and advertiser, I found it very eye opening and enjoyable. I learned a lot that I can apply to our business. Thank you Professor O'Barr.

GG

May 03, 2017

I will never look at advertising with the same eyes. It made me understand a lot of our current society and economy. Really suggested if you want to become a more informed citizen and consumer.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 148 Bewertungen für Advertising and Society

von Sougandh P

May 08, 2020

A very positive learning experience. I thoroughly enjoyed all the modules and the topics discussed as part of this course.

von claudia

Aug 25, 2020

Great course. It gave me loads of insights of Advertising and I will never watch an ad the same way I used to. Thank you.

von Angel W

Jul 27, 2020

I suggest that people should take this course if they intend on going into a field such as advertising, PR, or Marketing.

von Abraham M

Aug 12, 2020

It was very informative . I learnt alot of things concerning advertising and have proper knowlegde about advertising

von Dhanush B

May 13, 2020

Excellent questions ...which need more concentration while attending video sessions and thanks a lot for the course.

von Aurelija V

Nov 26, 2017

Very interesting and valuable! I have learned how to look at advertising from a more long-term focused perspective.

von sreela m

Jul 29, 2019

Really enjoyed reviewing advertisements and literally learning that there's so much more to it han meets the eye.

von ATTAT E

Jul 01, 2020

The course was robust and engaging enough to prompt further reading on the subject of Advertising and Society.

von eishika

Jun 19, 2020

Really enjoyed studying this course. Thanks to the Professor teaching the same. It was a wonderful experience.

von Mariam K

May 16, 2020

Very informative course. It surely opens the eyes to the world of advertising. Highly recommended to take this

von Thibaut S

May 05, 2017

Very interesting class, lots of examples and cases study which made the course very active and dynamic !

von CHOW W

Apr 05, 2018

It is a remarkable course to know advertising nowadays with a more "scientific discussion" provided.

von Pujol A

Nov 18, 2018

A really good overview of the advertising word. Lots of interesting examples and practical cases.

von Abin J M

Jun 13, 2018

100% Happy with the course,learned a lot!!!!!! looking forward for similar learning experience.

von Pashkov A

Mar 13, 2019

Very interesting cours, a lot of things to think about. Thank you, Professor William M. O'Bar.

von 소현 김

Aug 07, 2017

It was my best coursera! Ican learn a lot of not only advertising but also society. Thank you!

von Muhammad T S

Nov 19, 2017

Interesting and useful discussion. Different perspectives shared by a learned professor.

von Anaele A O

Aug 13, 2020

I really learnt alot about advertising during this period God bless the instructor

von Karen P

Jan 28, 2019

Well-structured and informative. Quizzes were a good way to check understanding.

von George-Bogdan D

Apr 26, 2020

Great insight and amazing and detailed teaching. I will recommend this course.

von Jorge R M D

Jun 24, 2020

Un muy buen curso, completo y que abarca desde lo general hasta lo específico

von Rizwan A K

Nov 18, 2018

its a very good site to learn what ever you want to learn relet to your study

von Dutch M G

Aug 29, 2020

Enjoyed Professor O' Barr. Class was very informative and thought provoking.

von Amir H V

Nov 26, 2017

Thanks a lot for your effort and hardworking to deliver these course to us.

von Alex I

Nov 21, 2016

Absolutely fantastic course! Great insights and, of course, great teacher!