Chevron Left
Zurück zu Advertising and Society

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Advertising and Society von Duke University

4.8
Sterne
637 Bewertungen
148 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course examines the relation of advertising to society, culture, history, and the economy. Using contemporary theories about visual communications, we learn to analyze the complex levels of meaning in both print advertisements and television commercials. About the Course The course covers a wide range of topics, including the origins of advertising, the creation of ads, the interpretation of ads, the depiction of race, class, gender, and sexuality in advertising, sex and selling, adverting and ethics, and the future of advertising. The lectures will discuss theoretical frameworks and apply them to specific advertisements. Course Syllabus Week 1: What is advertising and where did it come from? Week 2: Am I being manipulated by advertising? Week 3: What’s in an ad beyond that which meets the eye? Week 4: How do ads get made? Week 5: What do ads teach us about race, class, gender, and sexuality? Week 6: Does sex sell? Week 7: What is the future of advertising? Recommended Background No background is required; everyone is welcome! Suggested Readings Although the lectures are designed to be self-contained, we recommend that students refer to the free online textbook ADTextOnline.org. Other free resources will be suggested for each week’s module. Course Format Most videos will be lectures with instructor talking. Each lecture will be illustrated with PowerPoint slides, print advertisements, and TV commercials. The videos for each week will consist of segments that add up to about an hour. Each week will have one quiz that will appear as stand-alone homework. All resources beyond lectures will be available online to students at no charge. Most of these will be from ADTextOnline.org. Others will be visits to the sites of ad agencies in the US and abroad, open access websites that deal with course topics, and open-access journal articles....

Top-Bewertungen

KD

Jun 15, 2018

What a great course! As an owner of an agency, a marketer and advertiser, I found it very eye opening and enjoyable. I learned a lot that I can apply to our business. Thank you Professor O'Barr.

GG

May 03, 2017

I will never look at advertising with the same eyes. It made me understand a lot of our current society and economy. Really suggested if you want to become a more informed citizen and consumer.

Filtern nach:

126 - 145 von 145 Bewertungen für Advertising and Society

von Berkay A

Feb 18, 2017

it's helpful but not interactive a lot, sometimes hard to follow the video but the proffessor is quite knowledged about the history, gives a lot of insights and force you to re-assess the course after it finishes , by na

von Amith M

Dec 01, 2016

Takes you back to the age old version of ad pieces from cave paintings to todays social madness. A complete guide to a better student of advertising. And the 80% cross mark challenging and motivating. Thanks for this.

von Kathryn B

Feb 08, 2018

This course has really helped with my understanding and background knowledge of advertising, and the impacts of any developments in the advertising industry on modern day and future societies.

von manasi s

Apr 17, 2020

Not a 5 star because practical aspect of ad making is missing. I would have loved to have an assignment where I could have made an advertisement for a product.

von Colin M

Jul 19, 2019

A great informative course that explore the history and significance of advertising in (primarily) American society.

von Joris J S

Sep 09, 2017

Good course to learn the different types of advertisement, back ground and what tools you have to persuade people.

von Mohammad M A

Jul 04, 2020

I have learned so many thing regarding past, present advertising scenario and techniques.

Thanks a lot sir.

von Joy S

May 04, 2017

Pretty good class. Interesting, authoritative professor. Shows lots of pictures during his lectures.

von Tatev P

Apr 18, 2020

Great review of history of ads and understanding our perceptions through it.

von PARAG B

Jun 19, 2019

This course was very informative and has changed my outlook on advertising.

von Aaron L

Sep 11, 2020

Everything about the course is just simply great, keep up the good work

von Ankit S R

Jul 31, 2020

Great course! very good explanation of topics using art and history.

von upasna

Jun 17, 2020

very good course relating. to every aspect of the advertisement .

von Bismark O

Feb 08, 2018

The course is very exciting and the Lecturer did perfectly well

von MOHAMMED S

May 10, 2020

fanastic experiance learned about advertisement history

von JAI K S P

May 26, 2020

Best Course For Better Understanding

von vasu n

Apr 29, 2017

its Resource full and informative

von SHUBHAM B

Jun 26, 2020

Very Useful

von Erik T

Apr 26, 2017

Interesting topics, but not taught in the most interesting way. The professor answered in his lecture videos some of my basic questions about advertising, but I don't think that he made the class very exciting and I didn't feel motivated to seek out outside material. I'm glad I took this course, but I don't think that I would recommend it to many other people.

von Maria Z

Oct 30, 2017

The subject is very interesting, however material used in this course is outdated and relevant to present situation in a very limited way.