Chevron Left
Zurück zu Advertising and Society

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Advertising and Society von Duke University

4.8
Sterne
550 Bewertungen
129 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course examines the relation of advertising to society, culture, history, and the economy. Using contemporary theories about visual communications, we learn to analyze the complex levels of meaning in both print advertisements and television commercials. About the Course The course covers a wide range of topics, including the origins of advertising, the creation of ads, the interpretation of ads, the depiction of race, class, gender, and sexuality in advertising, sex and selling, adverting and ethics, and the future of advertising. The lectures will discuss theoretical frameworks and apply them to specific advertisements. Course Syllabus Week 1: What is advertising and where did it come from? Week 2: Am I being manipulated by advertising? Week 3: What’s in an ad beyond that which meets the eye? Week 4: How do ads get made? Week 5: What do ads teach us about race, class, gender, and sexuality? Week 6: Does sex sell? Week 7: What is the future of advertising? Recommended Background No background is required; everyone is welcome! Suggested Readings Although the lectures are designed to be self-contained, we recommend that students refer to the free online textbook ADTextOnline.org. Other free resources will be suggested for each week’s module. Course Format Most videos will be lectures with instructor talking. Each lecture will be illustrated with PowerPoint slides, print advertisements, and TV commercials. The videos for each week will consist of segments that add up to about an hour. Each week will have one quiz that will appear as stand-alone homework. All resources beyond lectures will be available online to students at no charge. Most of these will be from ADTextOnline.org. Others will be visits to the sites of ad agencies in the US and abroad, open access websites that deal with course topics, and open-access journal articles....

Top-Bewertungen

KD

Jun 15, 2018

What a great course! As an owner of an agency, a marketer and advertiser, I found it very eye opening and enjoyable. I learned a lot that I can apply to our business. Thank you Professor O'Barr.

GG

May 03, 2017

I will never look at advertising with the same eyes. It made me understand a lot of our current society and economy. Really suggested if you want to become a more informed citizen and consumer.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 127 Bewertungen für Advertising and Society

von Devansh D

Mar 20, 2019

Great course. This course has helped me a lot in getting better in Advertising field. I recommend this course to everyone those who are trying to build a non technical profile like me.

von Shahana N N

Jul 09, 2020

This course was not too difficult, the lectures were straight forward and entertaining to watch with all the neat examples. Definitely makes me look at advertisements differently now.

von Erik O

May 21, 2018

Great course if you're interested in advertising or work for a creative agency. Professor is very knowledgeable and he includes classic as well as modern examples of advertisements.

von carrie

Sep 02, 2017

This course is so informative and interesting, making me think about pursuing advertising so much! The professor is great with explaining complex ideas to simple ones. Love it!

von Sameer S

Oct 08, 2018

It was a great course where I learned a lot about not just advertisement but also the society we live in and how it effects the way advertisements have evolved over the years.

von Hamza

Nov 04, 2016

This course looks at advertising from a different angle which is very interesting and inspiring.

you will learn a lot, i highly recommend it to everyone in the marketing realm.

von Saakshi N

Jul 19, 2017

It is a very broad course, which beautifully delves into the subject of advertising by using innumerable examples and references to make studying easier and more interesting.

von Ananth A

May 18, 2020

This was a wonderfully detailed and structured course. I only wish it was longer and there was more material! Hope you can come out with a part 2 to expand on this!

von Yana Y

Nov 20, 2016

Great course! It has helped me learn a lot and given me much more perspective on the world of advertising. I thoroughly enjoyed learning and discovering new things.

von Rishabh S P

Jun 01, 2020

Amazing professor who had a lot of well developed topics to discuss along with a bunch of interactive content that made the course further more interesting.

von rishika m

Jul 24, 2017

Great course. The faculty is really good. He explains everything patiently. The ads shown in between help you understand well. Would like more such courses.

von Soni Y

May 09, 2020

Come across with new aspects and techniques of advertising. Professor William M. O'Barr has explained and help to understand every part of it.

Thank You

von Joel M

May 08, 2020

As an aspiring marketing student this course was very useful and interesting. It helped me to look at advertising through different perspectives.

von Kariya

Dec 28, 2016

My first course about advertising ever, it was very interesting and the knowledge i learned, i'm sure gonna be useful! Thank you very much!

von MYRSINI S

Jul 12, 2020

is very good an intresting lesson .. the professor is very efficient the examples and the video is very usefull worth watching

von Ekpo A

Dec 20, 2019

It was an enlightening experience, the course was broken down to eliminate ambiguity. I am looking forward to doing similar courses.

von Bladimir E C V

Feb 19, 2018

Me ha ayudado a comprender mejor la relación de la Publicidad con la Sociedad. Así como su evolución histórica, social y cultural.

von LOHITH M C

Oct 26, 2017

That was good experience in learning many aspects of advertising from the history to future of advertising. Very useful course.

von Ujjwala B

May 22, 2020

Prof. Barr's style is impressive. I liked the illustrative material used in the course, as well as issues discussed each week.

von Pablo A C

Apr 14, 2020

A wonderful course about advertising and society. The professor is very smart and give us a lot of examples in the real life.

von Sliusar V

May 24, 2020

I received a lot of interesting up-to-date information, found out the main trends in the development of modern advertising

von Sougandh P

May 08, 2020

A very positive learning experience. I thoroughly enjoyed all the modules and the topics discussed as part of this course.

von Dhanush B

May 13, 2020

Excellent questions ...which need more concentration while attending video sessions and thanks a lot for the course.

von Aurelija V

Nov 26, 2017

Very interesting and valuable! I have learned how to look at advertising from a more long-term focused perspective.

von sreela m

Jul 29, 2019

Really enjoyed reviewing advertisements and literally learning that there's so much more to it han meets the eye.