Chevron Left
Zurück zu Ruby on Rails: An Introduction

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Ruby on Rails: An Introduction von Johns Hopkins University

4.5
Sterne
1,848 Bewertungen
567 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Top-Bewertungen

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtern nach:

426 - 450 von 552 Bewertungen für Ruby on Rails: An Introduction

von Geyang H

Sep 28, 2015

Several mistakes in the programming assignment.

von Srivatsan R

Oct 04, 2015

Awesome! great lecture and great course......

von Ismael G M C

Dec 27, 2017

I hate activity for week 2, it was the worst

von yohan m

Nov 15, 2015

great course, awesome contents and grading!!

von Laura R P

Jul 19, 2016

Excellent introduction to Ruby on Rails.

von José M R T

Dec 18, 2016

Very good introduction course, thanks!

von Adrian F

Nov 27, 2016

Good way to start with ruby and rails.

von karim l

Apr 27, 2020

Thank you very much Mr Kalman Hazins

von Ritesh K

Aug 18, 2019

Wonderful full stack framework... !!

von Rohan A

Sep 17, 2017

very good course for beginners .

von Aldo A S Z

Jan 14, 2016

great introduction to rails

von Ronghao Y

Mar 27, 2019

More coding would be great

von Antonio M

Sep 04, 2017

Es una buena introducción

von truong q v

Jun 12, 2016

Good course for fresher !

von pucca L

Oct 18, 2015

pretty good and specific!

von Jash K

Mar 15, 2018

Amazing Starter Course.

von Huy V

Nov 29, 2016

Very interesting!

von Nurul S

Sep 01, 2016

Great Initiative

von Oyelekan O

Aug 29, 2019

Amazing course

von Hanna B

Mar 19, 2020

Good basics

von Noah P

Jan 15, 2017

nice course

von Sanele M

Jun 09, 2016

Great class

von Pham C N

Oct 24, 2016

Very well!

von Richard C

Sep 26, 2015

Nice start

von Fernando G

Jun 07, 2016

No really what I expected. It's too advanced for a beginner to Ruby and web development but I feel it would be to slow if you read the tutorials and recommended books.

When first module and tests are very easy and guide well, but the pace rushes at the end.

There's a lot of parts when "we'll se this later" is mentioned, which means that maybe the examples are not appropiate for the pace of the course.

The little exams and practices are way too easy compared to the week's qualified test. Some parts of the test require to check the documentation or looking in the internet cause it wasnt explained in the videos.

After trying some Java, Ruby seems pretty easy but from what I've seen, RoR should be a tool for startup enthusiasts who require easy prototyping and low knowledge of programming/web development.

This course is explained as if the students are programmers / web developers that already use tools like github, heroku, unit testing who probably dont require that explanation in first place, but is not deep enough for newcomers.

I recommend take a bit more time and include more steps of learning, maybe 1 first course for Ruby before getting into Ruby on Rails. And since is an introduction it should include an installation tutorial. Should I install from repository or a Version Manager (like RVM), the gem concept, what setup do I need, etc.