Chevron Left
Zurück zu Ruby on Rails: An Introduction

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Ruby on Rails: An Introduction von Johns Hopkins University

4.5
Sterne
1,848 Bewertungen
567 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Top-Bewertungen

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtern nach:

501 - 525 von 552 Bewertungen für Ruby on Rails: An Introduction

von Remco P

Oct 07, 2015

I hate to write a negative review when the designers of the course have clearly put a lot of love and attention to detail into making it. But...

The quality of the code is bad. The quality of the testing code is even worse. This endeavours to teach some horrible practices. That's a shame, because the editing quality of the videos is excellent, the use of git and rspec is likewise commendable.

Even worse, it's not entirely clear who the target audience is. A lot of the topics introduced are aimed at complete novices, yet not explained in a way novices might understand. The course needs some serious rethinking and refactoring.

von LoJo

Mar 29, 2017

Definitely not for a beginner.

Wish there were more visuals, and assignments to do alongside the professor. Instead, it is a lecture from Power Points, that don't really line up with the assignments very well.

If you have previous knowledge in another language, you'll do fine, but if you're truly looking for a beginner course, look elsewhere. Many assumptions are made by this professor that makes it less approachable by a beginner, IMO.

von Wei J H

Jun 26, 2017

This course is not suitable for beginner. I have basic knowledge on Ruby on Rails prior taking this course. Overall, it improve my understanding and knowledge on Ruby on Rails.

The materials need an update.

Programming is those skills you need constantly practicing, I hope the teaching style can be improved by providing more follow along video tutorial instead of lectures slides.

von Koukla K

Jul 19, 2018

I am stuck and I am giving up this course. Spent a lot of hours to complete the first 2 weeks but I do not think that the course material is adequate in order to pass the Programming Assignments. I was so happy completing the HTML,CSS and Javascript for Web Developers but really disappointed with this one.

von A. l B

Oct 23, 2016

Lacks of structure.

References multiple tools/programs "that we won't detail in this course" (... why are they talked about then ?).

I'm almost finished but am struggling to find motivation for it.

After having done the great "HTML, CSS and JavaScript" course, the contrast is hard to cope with.

von Lucas N R

May 02, 2016

This course should be revised. The material was lacking (just static images, no real time coding), overall engagement for the courses was also lacking The instructor sounded low quality and sometimes a bit hard to understand. I could no complete this course, unfortunately.

von vicente

Feb 11, 2017

Assignment is unclear and confusing. The material which is given is not enough , I think the course is good in general but it should focus in building the knowledge more instead of leaving many things on the air and going through the material as if it were a quick review.

von Benjamin S

Nov 27, 2019

Spent more time sorting out gem dependencies than doing the actual work and the external API service to pass the assignment is no longer working so that also restricted my ability to learn.

Course content and lectures are really great though and very easy to follow.

von sergio1993_1@hotmail.com

Apr 25, 2016

Too much work in a week. I'm working and I have finished some other courses which were a bit lighter, although longer in time. I would be mad if I try to finish this course on time. It's a bit disappointing.

von charlie b

Sep 26, 2020

A fine introduction. Many of the exercises are out of date and so I did not complete the course. I will look elsewhere to study this topic further, but if they update it, this is a good resource.

von Jim H

Oct 07, 2015

Lost after 2nd week. I really liked the Python For Everyone Course so I thought I would like this one as well, but it was not done to the same standard. I will find another way to learn Ruby.

von Dario A

Dec 16, 2019

Installation is obsolete. Homework is dependent on a web site that's been closed so it's impossible to do. Very disappointing.

von FERMIN H A

Oct 06, 2020

the course needs to be updated many things are no longer like the samples, I could not perform the installation of phantomjs.

von Kenneth C V

Oct 15, 2015

I had issues uploading the Assigned Homeworks, course was ok, still, a bit complex and fast to be treated as intro to ruby

von Jigesh S

Feb 03, 2017

Could have been more interactive .The ruby course that I studied from lynda.com was far better than this

von Robert N

Mar 09, 2016

This course and its related courses are rough around the edges. Things are not always intuitive.

von ahmed h

Sep 29, 2015

good course

von Matías M

Dec 28, 2015

very fast

von Aditya R

Apr 02, 2020

Outdated

von Ricky

Mar 18, 2016

I am afraid this is going to be a rather negative review. Having completed over 10 Coursera courses over the year, and numerous other online classes, this is officially the worst. For me personally, the whole course was a complete waste of time. Put it simply, the presenter can't teach, at least not the MOOCs. There were no structure. The instructions were all over the place, and explanations were inadequate. After drumming how important to actually "code", he proceeded to present the whole lecture showing small pieces of codes.... on slides. After touting how cool and useful Sublime is as a developer tool, he didn't even use it. After telling everyone how useful regular expression is but not part of this course (so he won't explain), he went on to use regular expressions for all the sample codes for the rest of the lecture. As mentioned, there was no structure as to how he present Ruby/Rails as a programming platform. It was bits of code here, bits of code there. Beside getting a feel of what Ruby syntax is like, there was no learning. I am aware there are suggested readings, but then why doing this MOOC at all.

As I check out other courses from the same Ruby specialization, the student numbers are getting smaller. Hardly everyone post on the forums, I also check the Classmates map. I suspect many simply gave up since the Intro classes were so bad. It's really not hard to find better material to learn Ruby/Rails, even just slightly better, even YouTube videos. I am frustrated at myself for putting in the effort (really try) and wasted days. I am leaving this course and unlikely to sign up any MOOC from the same team again.

von Erikka I

Feb 13, 2017

I thought this course was very disappointing, to the point where I'm not able to finish it. In week one, we learned some basics. In week two, the entire language was dumped on us with no real exercises. Then we were asked to write some programs. The programs didn't build knowledge piece by piece - it was just learn the language, now write these random programs. It was very disappointing. I sign up for courses because I want to learn piece by piece and get to practice each new thing. If someone is going to dump the whole of Ruby on me in 1 week I don't need the class, I can buy a book and get the same experience. There also wasn't a good grader provided. This really took the joy out of programming. I keep thinking I'll come back and finish the class but I haven't so far because I dislike how it's presented so much. A true disappointment.

von Heather C W

Oct 08, 2017

While the description for this program states that you do not need to have any experience with Ruby in order to take this Ruby on Rails program, that is entirely false. You have to have not only experience working with Ruby, but also working without any instruction. The professor does not explain anything regarding utilizing the IDE environment, working with bootstrap files, how to implement code, or how to write code. I had to consult GitHub and Stackoverflow forums for assistance on most of the assignments and guess on everything else. I spent 4 days working on the final assignment due to faulty bootstrap files provided without any help from course professors. This is by far the worst course I have taken with Coursera.

von Dan P

Mar 11, 2017

Overall I was disappointed with this course. In the end I don't think it was any better than any of the free online tutorials out there. The instructor spoke so quickly in the videos he was nearly incomprehensible. The explanations were incomplete at best and most of the time amounted to nothing more than "type this... now type this.". I'm well aware that the only way to learn programming is by doing it yourself, but if I pay for a course I expect an explanation of how things work under the hood. I was looking forward to taking the entire Ruby On Rails specialization, now I'm not so sure.

von Jason W

Apr 29, 2020

This is the second course I've tried on Coursera and this one is even more outdated than the first one I tried (both from Johns Hopkins). The last discussion comment for this course is 6 months old and never received feedback from a professor or TA. The first set-up video actuall instructs installation of PhantomJS as one of hte tools for ths course, but when you go to the phantomjs org website, it says that it is suspended. I may give one more class a try, but I'm very disappointed in coursera's classes so far. you can't have computer programming classes that are outdated.

von Derek H

Dec 18, 2017

This course is mostly terrible. From how the class is laid out, to the instruction and the coursework/assignments. Week 1 is a joke, waste of time. Week 2 really should be split into 2 different weeks. The examples gone in Week 3 in the "lectures" can no longer be followed. Week 2 is missing like 30% of what you actually have to do in the homework. You will spend more time fighting with the RSPEC output and digging in the forums for answers instead of learning the material. Oh, and if you have issues with how people talk on a microphone, this one is definitely not for you.