Chevron Left
Zurück zu Ruby on Rails: An Introduction

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Ruby on Rails: An Introduction von Johns Hopkins University

4.5
Sterne
1,843 Bewertungen
564 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Top-Bewertungen

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 549 Bewertungen für Ruby on Rails: An Introduction

von Roman

Oct 02, 2015

Very interesting course, good teacher - its really interesting to see video lectures and understandable! Great job guys!

von Alexander T

Feb 12, 2016

A very nice and clear course, nice introduction, a very cool hands-on TDD style of grading. Good intro to Ruby as well.

von Miguel A J R

Dec 05, 2015

I excellent for beginners who have some previous knowledge in programming or have used any other programming language.

von Juan P P S

Sep 17, 2015

I'm enjoying this course. So far one of the most complete and intuitive courses about Ruby on Rails I have ever taken.

von Valery b

Jun 03, 2017

Great theorical and practical classes. Exercices and video need to be updated for new rails and ruby version though.

von David P N

Sep 23, 2016

Good teacher and lots of code and material.

Beginners developers might struggle a little, but there is lots of help.

von Patrick L

Feb 09, 2016

Highly recommended for people wanting to learn Ruby on Rails. Essential if you want to have a good basic knowledge.

von Alicia S

Jul 23, 2017

Really awesome course - I thought the assignments were challenging and practical. Keep up the good work Coursera!

von Zach T

Oct 06, 2015

very good introduction to rather large ruby framework. Well put together class. Wasn't to time consuming as well.

von Márcio A S

Mar 06, 2016

Excellent MOOC.

Not only the basics of RoR are taught, but also tools from the ecosystem: git, github and others.

von Jason K

Nov 07, 2015

A very nice introduction. The assignments are very good at helping students apply the concepts from the course.

von Jan C

Jan 03, 2016

Well put & great intro into Git, Ruby, and Rails. Covering setup and tooling for most platforms. Recommended!

von Fabricio O

Jan 09, 2016

It's a great course for beginners in Rails. Mainly if you get a language like Java (has lot of comparisons)

von Hesham S

Jan 01, 2017

This is a wonderful course and it helped me a lot. I recommend it to anyone who wants to start with rails.

von Eduardo R d S

Oct 12, 2015

It is a great course for Ruby newer, but with some experience in programming.

Congratulations for creators.

von Claudia V A B

Oct 05, 2015

I consider this is an excelent course for those who wants learn the ruby language and the rails framework.

von Boulate K

Mar 27, 2018

Very interactive and comprehensible. The instructor was very clear and made the course very easy to learn

von Cyril

Jan 21, 2016

I learned ruby during my school career. We made a chat with server and client.

I enjoyed working on rails.

von Vanessa C

Nov 14, 2016

Un curso de introducción que enseña las bases necesarias para incursionar en el mundo de ruby on rails.

von Renier R

Oct 05, 2015

Great course.

Starts from scratch, explaining how to setup dev environment to creating a working web app

von Nathan P

Jul 19, 2016

Sometimes it was hard to understand the presenter. But the information is well laid out, and accurate.

von João M L F

Sep 24, 2015

It's a great idea, Ruby on Rails is a powerful Framework and Ruby is a Beautiful language, five stars!

von Rainer S

Dec 27, 2016

This introductory course teach good basic knowledge and you can apply it after the course. Excellent!

von Katherine W

Jul 22, 2016

Fantastic course. Did a great job of introducing the fundamentals. I loved the practical assignments.

von Paolo P

Apr 08, 2017

Very good course. It has been very useful to understand the Ruby on Rails basis for web development.