Chevron Left
Zurück zu Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.7
1,891 Bewertungen
388 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Manipulating big data distributed over a cluster using functional concepts is rampant in industry, and is arguably one of the first widespread industrial uses of functional ideas. This is evidenced by the popularity of MapReduce and Hadoop, and most recently Apache Spark, a fast, in-memory distributed collections framework written in Scala. In this course, we'll see how the data parallel paradigm can be extended to the distributed case, using Spark throughout. We'll cover Spark's programming model in detail, being careful to understand how and when it differs from familiar programming models, like shared-memory parallel collections or sequential Scala collections. Through hands-on examples in Spark and Scala, we'll learn when important issues related to distribution like latency and network communication should be considered and how they can be addressed effectively for improved performance. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - read data from persistent storage and load it into Apache Spark, - manipulate data with Spark and Scala, - express algorithms for data analysis in a functional style, - recognize how to avoid shuffles and recomputation in Spark, Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Parallel Programming: https://www.coursera.org/learn/parprog1....

Top-Bewertungen

CC

Jun 08, 2017

The sessions where clearly explained and focused. Some of the exercises contained slightly confusing hints and information, but I'm sure those mistakes will be ironed out in future iterations. Thanks!

CR

Apr 10, 2017

Great introduction to spark. Fun assignments. Since it was the first ever session, there were quite a few kinks with the assignments. But the discussion forums rescued me any time I was stuck.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 384 Reviews for Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark

von Rodion G

Apr 15, 2019

Course is good to have some practice in spark and scala. However it seems to be long forsaken by staff and some issues with assignments require doing archaeology in the forums. Also it is quite unpleasant to see that while specialization emphasizes functional programming, some auxiliary code in assignments is written in the worst manner of imperative programming... Why use scala then?

von Luiz C

Jan 27, 2019

If you know the subject, may be easy. If you don't know the subject, too dense and abstract with not enough practical examples/exercises before the assignments (specially for week4). Would have been better to break the videos into smaller ones, include more practical concrete examples/exercises during the videos (as very well done by Pr. Obersky during the 1st Course of the Specialization). There could have been room to break week4 into material for 2 weeks. Still, inresting.

von Yury C

Jul 18, 2019

This course was by far the best of 22 courses I've done on Coursera. Prof Miller has this rare ability of presenting material in concise and interesting way and yet going into nitty gritty aspects when needed (in another course on Spark technology, such intricacies weren't covered). Thanks a lot for this course!

von Rajesh B

Jul 17, 2019

Very nice explanation, trainer has good knowledge, course materials are good, video quality is too good.

von Alexey A

Jul 13, 2019

The most interesting course in whole specialization.

von Marija N

Jul 05, 2019

Absolutely fantastic!

von Robin B

Jul 04, 2019

Very good introduction to RDDs and DataFrames/Dataset along with valuable insight into performance considerations.

I'd done some prior work with Hadoop/Pig in the past and more recently with Spark (mainly DataFrames/GraphFrames) - this was really useful to round out my understanding of RDDs and optimisation.

The assignment guidance in the code comments could be more complete to save having to refer back to the site (and maybe reference specific video lectures with the hints). Though it's good that the assignment exercises aren't tutorial-grade, as that makes the experience more transferable to real projects.

von Kristoffer V

Jul 03, 2019

Sometimes the labs included techniques not fully covered by the lectures.

von Carsten I

Jun 30, 2019

Excellent class, very well stuctured, clear and informative.

von Beibit

Jun 27, 2019

Very nice course. Good level of explanations, good examples and pace.

von Daniele M

Jun 22, 2019

Great Introduction to spark. Programming assignments helped me to improve my skills. Thank you very much.

von CLAUDIO A

Jun 10, 2019

Excellent explanations by Heather Miller. She really knows how to explain a topic, and also makes the lectures a lot of fun to listen !

von Valter F

May 29, 2019

I love the indepth aproach at the RDDs. I'd say DataFrames and DataSets required a bit more examples and testing material though.

von Kyle J

May 22, 2019

Pretty good, but one of the assignments was poorly set up. Some of the provided code was broken and it was very hard to debug.

von AOC

May 17, 2019

Very engaging and tutor showed excellent delivery. thanks to Coursera.

von Joël V

May 17, 2019

The course presented the concepts in a clear and exemplified way. Tough, it was a bit too verbose.

The exercises were not too hard and thorough enough to cover the concepts presented in class.

I wished there were more exercises as Spark's API is huge and sometimes a bit tedious to use thus being hard to quickly get confident. I hope that the capstone project will help for that.

von Ronald C M

May 14, 2019

The best way to get to know Spark Fundamentals and Spark Core libraries

von Fábio A R

May 13, 2019

Excellent course, very handful for whoever is starting his studies in spark.

von 李帅鹏

May 02, 2019

Perfect!

von BOUDRAHEM

Apr 16, 2019

Everything was excellent. This was one of the best courses I have attended so far

von Light0617

Apr 14, 2019

wonderful!!!

von Ngoc-Bien N

Apr 04, 2019

bon cours

von Kevin L

Apr 02, 2019

I loved this course - it was a great introduction to Spark. At the end, I wasn't (and am still not) clear on type-safe operations on Datasets, and now to write Tests to verify this.

These will be one of the targets of my upcoming research and study.

von Subodh C

Mar 30, 2019

Thanks Prof. Miller !

von Šejla Č

Mar 20, 2019

Brilliant lecturer and slides! The only problem is assignments not being clear on the expected outputs. Sometimes it takes more time to figure out what exactly is asked than to find the solution. A few more test cases or detailed examples would help.