Chevron Left
Zurück zu Buddhism and Modern Psychology

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Buddhism and Modern Psychology von Princeton University

4.8
3,239 Bewertungen
920 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Top-Bewertungen

VC

Nov 16, 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

CV

Mar 03, 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 903 Bewertungen für Buddhism and Modern Psychology

von Iromi P

Dec 23, 2018

This is a great effort which should be appreciated. Just because at a time like this, some are curious to know about the Buddhism, & with the psychological background, which adds more value for this.

von JULIO C M

Feb 21, 2019

¿Y si la mente al recibir un alimento "sano de verdad..." se desarrollara hacia insospechados límites?.

¿Y si en verdad lo hiciere...?.

Meditar, autoobservarse y observarlo todo sin prejuicios, seguramente nos acerca desde nuestra mayor calma, a ser más protagonistas en la construcción de un mundo mejor.

von Luca S

Jul 07, 2019

Great teacher and awesome course, every module is very interesting

von Jaime A C F

Jul 03, 2019

Professor Robert Wright did a remarkable job linking the main concepts of Buddhist tradition with many valuable concepts and ideas that have been provided by scientific research, evolutionary psychologists, experienced meditators, and other experts. The course offers a wonderful opportunity for western students to get closer to the world of Buddhist philosophy, from a point of view that is compatible with western thought, science, and philosophy. I totally recommend it.

von Chloé V

Mar 03, 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

von Vit C

Nov 16, 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

von Rach B

Jul 20, 2016

I loved this course so much. It gave me personal clarity. I also find Prof. Wright's examples amusing, as he connects Buddhism and modern psychology to the mundane things in life, like donuts. :)

von Marie W

Jan 22, 2019

Highly, highly recommended to people suffering from a psychiatric illness and/or PTSD.

von Elizabeth N

Dec 07, 2018

Excellent material and lectures.

von John H

Dec 22, 2018

Best explanation of what Buddhism is I've seen since [many decades] I've been trying to figure it out.

von Iqbal N

Dec 09, 2018

It will change you how you look at yourself and the world. Highly recommended.

von Sudharaka P

Dec 24, 2018

Incredible course. A great and wonderful introduction to meditation and Buddhism in general in a psychological standpoint.

von Tobias F

Dec 12, 2018

Really well made course with a lot of Office Hours to make the course even better. It raises a lot of questions and teach a lot about self, meditation and human mind in general.

von Yann M

Dec 31, 2018

Amazing course. Would recommend to everyone. This is what MOOCs are meant to be!

von GBT

Jan 27, 2019

Really grateful to stumble across this course. Robert Wright does a great and thorough job. Maybe the best course I have taken.

von Hyunsuh K

Jan 30, 2019

Very interesting, critical, and has a lot of food to chew on. On a side note, but definitely worth mentioning, Professor Wright tells hilarious humors wearing his iconic straight face, which makes the courses and office hours all the more fun to watch.

von 稲垣貴士/Takashi I

Feb 07, 2019

Good course. I enjoyed it.

von Ilya S

Feb 07, 2019

Amazing course!!!

von Rina K

Nov 10, 2018

amazing

von Sophie R

Nov 29, 2018

Loving the content of the course, thought provoking, educational, encourages self-development. I also like the contribution from the dogs Milo and Fraser!

von Zhen L

Jan 10, 2019

Great course。

von Rubin M

Jan 22, 2019

Very good information. I enjoyed the class a lot and learned a lot as well.

von Evgueni K

Jan 24, 2019

It is one of the most important courses that I have ever took. This course has provided me with a very valuable insight into my own mind, as well as basics of Buddhism, and its cross with modern science. The course will change my life, as it provides me with better understanding of my own though process and emotional functioning. Thank you so very much!

von Erik L

Feb 09, 2019

Outstanding. Life changing information condensed into a few short lectures.

von Harry L

Feb 09, 2019

A must-take for anyone who wants to know how Buddhism holds up against the scrutiny of modern science.