Chevron Left
Zurück zu Writing in the Sciences

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Writing in the Sciences von Stanford University

4.9
Sterne
7,542 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Top-Bewertungen

IA

25. Aug. 2020

A very helpful course. My writing has improved significantly in these 8 weeks. I highly recommend this course to everyone. Thank you Dr. Kristin Sainani and Coursera for bringing this course together.

SD

25. Feb. 2020

Respected Dr.kristiani sainani madam and coursera.

I thank you for the wonderful classes and presentations, it really didn't made me feel that i was learning online course but as in class learning.

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 2,517 Bewertungen für Writing in the Sciences

von Khadija I T

11. Juni 2022

This course was beyond expectation. I never thought scientific writing could be interesting. I can't express enough how much I loved Kristin's way of teaching -  her dash of humor (helped a lot to connect with her) . Last but not least, Coursera financial aid was the cherry on the top for me. Thank you so much for encouraging learners across the globe with such an extraordinary platform.

I learned so many things from you, Kristin. Thank you!!!Love & gratitude from one of your students.

von Aditi S S

20. Juni 2020

The course, as well as the course instructor, has greatly helped me in distinguishing the various formats of writing. Now, I am confident to communicate my interests and research in the form of grants, papers, interviews, and reviews. Earlier, it was always a task to explain my study to the common people. After taking this course, it has become much easier for me to keep aside the scientific mind and communicate with the layman. Thank you, Kristin. You're a great instructor.

von Joseline S

7. Dez. 2020

I liked this course because it cover most of the things I needed to practice to improve my writing skills. One thing I will add is that I was hoping to download all of the notes I took. I need those notes for when I write in the future and unfortunately I can't have them in a word or text document in my computer. Not always one has an internet connection so that I can go back and look for them here. Please consider making an option to download just the notes. Thank you!

von Nam N

2. Okt. 2019

I recommend this course to all people who have engaged, or will engage, to write their own thesis. I wish I learned the course before I wrote my works, so it would be easier for me to do a good job. There are a lot of new interesting but surprising things that I realize when entering the course. It specifically impresses me with sections about how to write a manuscript and a personal statement as well as a letter of recommendation and its ethical issue. Thank you very much!

von Vikrant J

26. Aug. 2020

Writing has always terrified me, and it's far from being my strength. But this course really made me explore the concepts that I mostly did know already in a more organized and clear way. It also gave me great insights into the publication process which has been a mystery to me. I also loved the inclusion of writing for general audiences, personal statement writing, conducting interviews, and social media bits. I hope I can communicate my findings better in the future now!

von María L G

19. Mai 2020

Going through the principles of good writing, I have learned different tricks to write more clearly, concisely and faster and, most important, to render a text easy and attractive for those who will read it. In addition, it wasn’t only the online lessons that I found really interesting and helpful but the exercises on writting and peer reviewing we were assesed. Working together with others participants have really contribute to make this course a great experience. THANKS!

von Khadim H C

7. Juni 2018

Happy to complete WRITING IN THE SCIENCES which is my third course on coursera in 2018. I have really enjoyed this course, as it is my passion to write in science. I am so thankful to Dr Kristine Sainani and other professors and mentors associated with this program directly or indirectly. I am also so impressed and thus so thankful to senior professors who got interviewed by Dr Kristine Sainani where we were provided opportunity to get inspired.

Thank you

Khadim Chaudhary

von Diana G R A

26. Juli 2019

As a very beginner writer, with no clue how or where to start, it is really useful and helpful take this course. I have much more confidence now to start writing (pre-writing) my first article. Thank you so much to Stanford University, especially Dr. Kristin Sainani for making the effort and drive this course for world wide scientific population. Also thank to my peers for taking the time to check on my texts. I really enjoyed sharing "virtual classroom" with all of you.

von Reem B

29. Juni 2020

I enjoyed and benefited from this course a lot. For someone still in their preliminary stages of writing in science and looking to be published, this course provided formidable guidance. It also gave me new faith in how scientific writing should be in spite of the quality of what we sometimes see out there. Thank you so much Dr. Kristin, especially for your engaging manner of presenting the content and your belief in upholding ethical standards so essential to science,

von Sruthi R

14. Juni 2020

This course was a wonderful journey through writing! Dr.Kristen has taught us the techniques and intricacies involved in writing professional scientific documents like reviews, research articles, grants and Letter of recommendations. Through step by step teaching and number of examples given, its a golden opportunity to sharpen your writing skills! Thank you Ma'am for the 8 week journey helping us realize the fun of professional writing! I surely recommend this course!

von zhang w

3. Dez. 2021

I really introduce this course for all students to learn the science writing, especially the non-native speakers. This course will give you the mind of structure, grammers and good sentences you should use in your writing. I really like the tips for writing and reviewing different parts of your papers like introduction, methods and results or discussion. It is very helpful if you want to publish. By the way, it is also a good way to practice your English listenning.

von amos a t

4. Aug. 2020

I can now write faster and better without anxiety. I have learnt the formats of writing a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences. I can now present my facts and arguments in a better format without compromising. I believe all this would speed up my career goals and in no time - I would be one of the highly rated women in the animal science field that the world would reckon with.

von Marie B B

13. Apr. 2020

A really excellent course. Dr. Sainani explains clearly and without disturbing "clutter" how to write scientific papers, summaries for lay readers, science news articles and more. I wish, I had taken this course in my university days before writing my first science paper - but better late than never. There are a lot of opportunities for "learning by doing" in this course, and I feel it has improved my writing skills.

5 stars: I most definitely recommend this course!!

von Sandra P

24. Aug. 2020

This was an excellent course with a talented instructor, Dr. Kristin Sainani! I am able to add many tips to my writing, such as proper use of the semi-colon and the dash--which I rarely used in my writing prior to this course! I enjoyed the session on writing letters of recommendation, as I have been asked to write a few and now I appreciate the added knowledge given by Dr. Sainani. This is a valuable course that I would highly recommend! Thank you so much.

von David E

13. Okt. 2020

As someone who grew up in an age where I was supposed to just learn writing by doing this course has been fantastic. It was recommended to me by one of my PhD supervisors and I am going to recommend this course to many of my colleagues.

Dr. Kristin Sainani explains things clearly, confidently and with examples from the scientific literature and science press. The scaffolding of learning material is perfect for learning remotely and I commend the course to you.

von Kaisa K

5. Juli 2018

I greatly enjoyed this course. Even though there were aspects of the course that do not currently directly relate to what I'm doing every day (e.g., grant and proposal writing), there were many good examples of how to improve ANY writing. I generally review <10 manuscripts or clinical reports a year, so I'm only moderately involved in writing. However, this course covered many aspects of how to write better. I have recommended this course to several colleagues.

von Stephanie L

27. Juni 2018

I fully recommend this course for students needing to comprehend, paraphrase or write scientifically! I use the Grammarly tool while writing essays, and it points out my greatest sins are wordiness and using the passive voice, without guiding me on how to improve. Many researchers write in this manner too, and it is hard to understand. This course is amazing as it helps the reader get to the gist of the topic by teaching how to paraphrase to the active voice.

von Bernd N

15. Dez. 2020

This course was just perfect for me! I took it while parallely writing my first scientific paper and it helped me a lot. Not only did it explain how to write the paper in clear and appropriate English (my native language is German so this was challenging!), there was so much more useful information such as how to structure the paper and how review processes work. I also enjoyed listening to the lecturer, Dr. Kristin Sainani, a very likeable and smart person.

von Hoang B L

2. Nov. 2018

I don't know what to say. Thank you Dr. Sainani for your wonderful course. You're an inspiring lecturer. The course covers the whole range of writing in the sciences and provides learners with basic yet essential knowledge on how to write effectively. I've come to realize that the principles of writing are the same regardless of to whom you are writing. I believe my writing will improve greatly in the future, thanks to your clear and concise explanation.

von Learning V

22. Jan. 2019

I would like to congratulate and appreciate Dr. Kristine, for such a brilliant course. Wonderful way of addressing the course and it took my attention till end. It contains essential and useful information for all the people who are related to scientific field. I have submitted my thesis recently. I am very confident to do proofreading for my colleagues in a wonderful manner after this course.

Thanks you so much!!!

Best wishes!

Misbah Noreen Yousry Hasan

von Christopher B

24. Jan. 2022

This course was excellent. It covers topics that are certain to be relevant to a wide range of science writers. I felt that the instructor explained the theory well, and I found the examples helped me understand how the theory could be applied in practice. Even though I have been writing scientific reports and manuscripts for many years, I am confident that this course will make my writing clearer, more concise, and more enjoyable to read. Thanks!

von Amita P

3. Okt. 2022

This was one of the best course I have taken in the last few years. Even though I have already turned in my PhD thesis and manuscripts, I wish I had known all of this information when I first started my academic career. I had no idea that scientific writing could be made simple and enjoyable. I'll most certainly let the juniors at my university know about this course. I advise everyone who wants to begin their graduate studies to take this course.

von Devesh D

14. Okt. 2021

"Writing in the Sciences" was one of the best courses that I have taken. The instructor is knowledgeable and the perfect person to teach this material. Through this course, I learned about the science of writing well, and the importance of being clear and simple in my writing. I have a learned a lot from this course about effective writing and plan to apply this learning in my future manuscripts. Again - thanks for offering this incredible course!

von 张凯旋

27. Okt. 2022

This course is very useful for me. About 2 years ago, I started this course because of the recommenfation of friend. There are many effective skills on writing, which helped me publish my essays on magazine and finish my graduation thesis. Though I got master in engineering from Sichuan University, but I learned from Stanford. So proud of me.I hope this course could be studied by more people from the world, baccuse the knowledge has no borders。