Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Who Wrote Shakespeare

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Who Wrote Shakespeare von University of London

4.5
93 Bewertungen
54 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This free course from the University of London explores critical thinking, and the interpretation of texts, through the Shakespeare authorship question. Using doubt about Shakespeare’s authorship as our playground, we will explore the key concept of authorship attribution, while developing skills in literary analysis, interpretation, and argument. Through forensic exploration of key texts, you will learn why Shakespeare’s authorship is questioned, and what evidence is cited on both sides of the debate. For those of you interested in exploring the works of Shakespeare from a new angle, or just wanting to hone your analytical thinking skills, this course offers an introduction to a fascinating area of interest. Those of you already interested in the Shakespeare authorship question will be encouraged to question your own assumptions in fruitful ways. Whether undertaken as a standalone course, or as preparation for the University of London BA in English, this course will be food for thought....

Top-Bewertungen

JQ

Feb 21, 2018

Great Course with many interesting and innovative concepts. Thanks to all the folks who must have worked hard and long to put this course on the internet. Dr Quincy

JC

Feb 18, 2019

This was an extremely interesting course. I loved that it questioned traditional thinking. I truly believe that more courses like this should exist. Excellent

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 52 Bewertungen für Introduction to Who Wrote Shakespeare

von Julie M

Mar 13, 2018

For anyone seeking to discuss the Shakespeare authorship question this is a great course. If you do not believe this question should ever dare be asked it isn't the course for you. The course does not trumpet one "candidate" over any other, but encourages one to look closely at anything provided, on all sides, as evidence. It does ask one to question things we may have previously accepted with little query. There were some technical difficulties to begin with but the course leaders worked hard to sort them. The skill and joy of Shakespeare is never in doubt but who exactly Shakespeare might be is.

von Brian R M

Mar 03, 2018

This is an excellent course on a fascinating topic which, even though I have read several books on the subject still came up with much information and insight. It has encouraged me to explore further avenues regarding the authorship, hopefully with an open mind which is the main requisite

von Jafor I

Mar 17, 2018

Knowing all of these authorship questions just makes Shakespeare more interesting! Encourages you to read him more carefully! No matter which alternate author you become drawn too, you will not relate Shakespeare's writings to 'Shakspere' any more.

von david b p

Mar 13, 2018

Excellent! advances the position that the Authorship Question is a valid and necessary subject for Academic research!

von Rob S

Mar 16, 2018

Well done

von James A

May 06, 2018

extremely fair and very thorough on the narrow (and surprising) question of whether there is enough evidence to say that Shakspere (ie William S of Stratford) wrote the Shakespeare plays - would welcome more material/new course on internal evidence from the plays and/or the sonnets, as hinted at the end of the course

von luce n

Mar 03, 2018

G

von olivier h

Mar 02, 2018

I did not finish first week yet, but felt the need to rate the course with the maximum score, just in case the producers need extra encouragement to finish the course with at least the same quality as at the beginning (is it new? I only have access to first week)

The way it is organized so far is just perfect. The videos are well realized, diverse (you get a lot of interviews of different experts) entertaining and effective. Ros Barber does a great job.

I particularly like the way quizzes are done. No matter the answer you chose, you get an extra explanation why you were right or wrong.

Thank you team!

von Walnea C

May 08, 2018

the issues are really interesting and well explained and supported and developed.

von Francis M

Mar 20, 2018

Fascinating subject. The content of this course is offered no where else. The course is well organized and presented with enthusiasm by Dr. Barber

von Judith P

Mar 18, 2018

Really interesting. I am inspired to look into this subject more deeply.

von M A P

Mar 17, 2018

A very thorough and balanced investigation: As a CEO for 40 yrs (youngest at NY 1 WTC, age 25) , I have conducted due diligence globally on new ventures (including the Arab Gulf, with little or no tradition of transparency--yet I was awarded HSBC BMG 1st Place Transparency Award) and live under the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act or I go to prison; since I hold 2 degrees from private and Ivy League schools, the question of authorship has intrigued me for decades. The Stratfordians have no evidence, and childishly resort to name-calling, e.g., one review attacked this intelligent course with nothing but a smear, "how irrational people think." Au contraire. ANY EVIDENCE OF WS AS GENIUS POETIC WRITER OF PROFOUND WISDOM IS PROFOUNDLY ABSENT. Won summer fellowship to New College Oxford, housesat for Professor John Wain Professor of Poetry in Upper Wolvercote, and had the great honor of a private tutelage under Professor Richard Ellmann, biographer of James Joyce, a giant of a scholar. Now for fun I teach Ulysses in my spare time, a text celebrating the slipperiness of language, and identity. BRAVO Professor Ros Barber!

von William C

Mar 15, 2018

A very thorough introduction to the authorship question.

von Carol P

Mar 20, 2018

This pioneering course was well worth the time spent. Thank you to Dr Ros Barber and all the team

von kamaljeet s s

Jul 12, 2018

knowledge is the power ,enjoyed this course .something totally different .

von Shah P P

Jun 25, 2019

I want to know about who wrote Shakespeare, I never imagined that such easy way to know that and get certified internationally. Thank you, You made my life!!

von Malu C

Jul 17, 2019

As an avid Shakespeare reader, I found this course fascinating. Listening to Roz and to the interviews with prestigious scholars opened my eyes to new perspectives and points of view. It encourages me to continue reading and to submerge myself into the Shakespeare authorship and the question ho wrote Shakespeare

von Michael G

Jul 20, 2019

Thank you. I really enjoyed this course. It opened my eyes to new ideas regarding the authorship of the plays we know as Shakespeares. Ultimately, it left me wanting to find out more, and to keep an open mind when considering all aspects of this fascinating topic. I started this with very little knowledge, as a by default Stratfordian. I'm now curious to read more evidence on all sides. That's great! Thank you Ros for your enthusiasm, and for this course.

von Ivy A D S

Aug 18, 2019

What I learnt most was the art of approaching any topic of study with an open mind rather than with presets. It helps open up a world of possibilities and endless discoveries for me the perpetual learner.

von Steven J L

Mar 17, 2018

Excellent, thorough introduction to the principle textual, artistic, contemporaneous sources

von Toni P

Mar 25, 2018

This course provided some excellent, detailed material for exploring various aspects of the Shakespeare authorship question. I especially enjoyed the content of the interviews with Mark Rylance, Greg Thompson and William Leahy, partly because, on a mooc there needs to be a human dimension, but mostly because they gave thought-provoking into this issue from their own specialist and knowledgeable perspectives.

I understand why it was not possible to include material on other candidates, and internal evidence from the texts, on this course but I feel that it is difficult to avoid these two key aspects of the debate. It would be great if the University of London provided further courses in these two areas, linked to this one.

It is always good to get to know your fellow participants on the programme, and I enjoyed conversing with a number of individuals on the threads on various aspects of the SAQ. However, it was noticeable that only a small number of participants took part in these discussions. It would be worth thinking through whether there might be a better way of bringing participants together in a way which encourages everyone to exchange views and ideas, rather than just a dedicated few.

Ros Barber managed the course very well, dealing with problems effectively, and presenting the evidence in an engaging and well-conceived way. The only issue I had with the content of the course was the use of quizzes to test the memory,, and the fact that this was mainly on information which tended to be favour a non-Stratfordian perspective. I didn't feel that this was a very effective way for me to test my own critical thinking on the various matters discussed, although I understand that it would be difficult for the small team involved to deal with written material from participants.

von Margaret S

Mar 26, 2018

I greatly enjoyed the course and found it quite informative. Dr. Barber’s open attitude encouraged us to reflect and ask questions of both the evidence and ourselves. Me only bémol is the forum, which at times was very contentious, people with an agenda fir disruption, people who wanred only to push their rather already cemented ideas. For this reason I didn’t participate much in the forums. But still, I am quite pleased with the course.

Gwen

von Geoff W

Feb 25, 2018

This being my first course I'm reluctant to award 5 stars. Perhaps I would have if I had completed others to compare it with. I found it well structured and remained focussed on the central questions, most significant lines of argument and most relevant evidence. Being a somewhat 'controversial' topic it was pleasing to see a preamble that both acknowledged this fact and provided helpful information and suggestions as to how best to approach such a topic, even in a climate of 'internet trolling' and the like. Thanks for all your hard work, Ros Barber in in particular of course.

von Joy S

Jun 10, 2018

Lots of detailed info about the evidence for and against.

von John B

Mar 09, 2018

Excellent course. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I loved Dr. Barber's presentation and especially the discussion interviews. I have been interested in the authorship question for many years and was very happy to see it given such a presentation. I have long thought that the actual facts of the authorship should be taught in schools rather than the assumptions that have built up around the lack of factual evidence.