Chevron Left
Zurück zu Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions von University of Pennsylvania

4.7
Sterne
1,649 Bewertungen
448 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Top-Bewertungen

YG
2. Juli 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

NL
9. Feb. 2021

Excellent introduction to Calculus, I wanted to review the material to tutor my child but I am very happy that I learned a whole new way of looking at Calculus.\n\nThank you so much Prof. Ghrist.

Filtern nach:

401 - 425 von 443 Bewertungen für Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

von Timur S

31. März 2020

thanks great course! please, make about stability and dynamic system

von Wenruo H

5. Dez. 2016

It could be better if we can see the key or tips for the homework.

von Mohammad H

22. März 2018

a good and neat course, I used it for reviewing and it went well

von Yashh S K

29. Nov. 2018

Everything was exceptionally well taught except the Big-O part.

von Peanut G

11. Juni 2017

my first math.It is the best lecturein in my university life

von Fulgence O I

7. Jan. 2019

Very well and simply explained

Made review easier for me

von Kasym N

23. Juni 2020

Still, I couldn't grab the meaning of Limits.

von Shwet R

10. Jan. 2016

Its really challenging and rewarding course.

von adilet a

17. Juni 2016

This is very good course for students!!!

von Rajasekhar

21. Mai 2016

Good illustration of complex topics.

von Atef H

21. Mai 2016

Great new approach towards calculus.

von PADMA A

12. Mai 2020

The course is really informative

von Ahsan M

25. Jan. 2020

great course fot beignners !!

von Jaspreet S

25. Jan. 2016

very good learning process

von Amri M

8. Feb. 2021

lil bit confusing

von Balakrishnan M

11. Apr. 2020

Improve knowledge

von Sattam S S A

26. Apr. 2020

it was great

von Johannes M

20. Mai 2016

Very good!

von Aditya T

25. Juni 2017

good

von Senanayake H

18. Dez. 2016

good

von Suman K

21. Juni 2020

nic

von Jonah A

11. Feb. 2019

E

von Arthur H G

4. Okt. 2020

Much of the couse is good but the Homework test for Exponentials is attrocious.

Firstly the person setting it needs to learn English. Questions 6 & 7 say "which of the following expressions describes ..." describes is the singular form of the verb and leads one to expect only one expression applies. I did these questions twice being marked wrong because I had only included one answer It needs altering to "describe".

There are 2 correct answers listed for the first question but the marking system does not recognise one of them,

Question 8 again expects 2 answers but does not indicate there is more than one.

I did this test twice getting 50% but on realising these weaknesses i had no problem getting 100% but resdent wasting a whole morning because of your errors.

von Suyash M

18. März 2019

Very good course for revisiting calculus. It never feels old as it tackles functions and limits from a different perspective - that of the Taylor Series. But it is mostly concerned with evaluating limits and series. Some things were assumed to be true without explanation, which, I admit, might have made understanding them easier. But it slightly chafes the mind to know something without knowing proof for it, and how it came to be. Some questions that may arise but remain unanswered in the lectures include : How to find the domain of convergence of a series? Where did the Taylor's Series formula come from? These and some more are not addressed in this course, but they might be in the future chapters (which I have not completed)