Chevron Left
Zurück zu Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions von University of Pennsylvania

4.7
Sterne
1,657 Bewertungen
450 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Top-Bewertungen

YG
2. Juli 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

NL
9. Feb. 2021

Excellent introduction to Calculus, I wanted to review the material to tutor my child but I am very happy that I learned a whole new way of looking at Calculus.\n\nThank you so much Prof. Ghrist.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 444 Bewertungen für Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

von Devarshi P

31. Mai 2020

Very creative way of teaching one of the most important and difficult applied math topic. The course is taught differently then traditional textbook and is challenging as well.

von Ning L

28. Okt. 2016

What can I say? It is so good that I watch the lectures when I have dinner alone. Prof Ghrist absolutely has presented calculus so well that it becomes such an entertainment!

von Sagar G

30. Nov. 2018

Great UI and explanation.Started with the Engg. maths and taking it to high school and for the Developer like me Big O is something which introduced in a appropriate way..:)

von Pietro R

16. Juni 2018

I easily understood concept that i never understood before. I'd say that this is the perfecto goal of any possible course: make understandable the not-easily-understandab

von Bongani P

14. Juli 2017

This is one of the best mathematics courses I have ever taken. The lectures are straight to the point and the homework's are very very challenging. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

von jing s

1. Sep. 2020

I learned a lot from this course.With animation to explain the formula,makes it easily to be understood.The learning of calculus laid the foundation for my future study.

von Dl M

7. Aug. 2020

I have already taken it once. I am taking it again now. A wonderful course. I am always amazed at how clear Prof. Ghrist's explanations are. Thanks for this course.

von Catherine C

30. Sep. 2020

It really gets you to think but stick with it and it is doable! There is enough information and support in the videos if you watch and listen carefully.

von Wolfe G

17. Feb. 2017

A little scary to start with Taylor series, but once mastered, it gives a depth of understanding not given by other MOOCs I have found on the subject.

von Wenkai L

8. Jan. 2016

This course is very great and helpful. However, I think the course should provide more exercises to help students comprehend the new knowledge better.

von Alvin L

16. Juni 2017

Great lecturer. The quiz questions can get pretty tough, at least for me. I found the explanations of Taylor series clearer than any I had in school.

von Rui F

17. Sep. 2018

Excellent course with appropriate difficulty. Professor's speech is very clear. This is extremely helpful for non-english speaking students like me.

von Mohamed K E

16. Dez. 2015

amazing class even for an experienced student like myself , i had many gaps in my understanding of calculus that was filled by this class

von Howard K

19. Dez. 2020

I'm jealous of my friends who went to Penn for having a professor as good as prof/g. He doesn't just spit out math - he really teaches.

von camillo s

19. Dez. 2020

very well structured intro to the subject. as non-native english speaker i particularly appreciated prof. ghrists clear pronunciation.

von Balalau M

5. Apr. 2020

Very well constructed course. I recommend it to all high-school students that want to develop their standard mathematical knowledge

von Serdal A

30. Nov. 2020

I like the course. I attempted all quizzes and homework. I think I did them well. I wish I had its certificate as well. Thank you.

von ASHWANI K J

11. Jan. 2016

This course really boost up the knowledge of Calculus with depth of understanding.

The quiz of challenges were really awesome.

von JORGE E M L V

18. März 2019

ES MUY BUENO ESTE CURSO DE VERDAD QUE SE APRENDE MUCHO AQUÍ, LO RECOMIENDO BASTANTE YA QUE TIENE CONTENIDOS MUY INTERESANTES

von Eric H

18. Juni 2017

Lectures are clear and well presented, slides are dynamic and very well done. Prof Ghrist put together an excellent course.

von Jarrod K

11. Nov. 2016

Fantastic applied mathematics course for students interested in engineering. Extremely challenging but amazingly rewarding.

von 邹文平

27. Mai 2020

Thank you so much. Your courses are interesting and really get me engaged in Calculus which I have found difficult so far.

von Георгий Ф

20. Mai 2017

Great course, thank you! Easy explanations for complecated math theorems is exactly what I wanted to see in online course.

von Noe G S G

26. Apr. 2016

Mr. Robert Ghrist is an excellent teacher. It's a dificult course.,You wil need to practice very much. But you can do it.

von Khin M M M

8. Jan. 2021

Dear Teachers,

I would like to tell you about my thanks because of it was very beneficial course for me.

Best wishes!!!