Chevron Left
Zurück zu Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis von Stanford University

4.8
458 Bewertungen
94 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Learn how to model social and economic networks and their impact on human behavior. How do networks form, why do they exhibit certain patterns, and how does their structure impact diffusion, learning, and other behaviors? We will bring together models and techniques from economics, sociology, math, physics, statistics and computer science to answer these questions. The course begins with some empirical background on social and economic networks, and an overview of concepts used to describe and measure networks. Next, we will cover a set of models of how networks form, including random network models as well as strategic formation models, and some hybrids. We will then discuss a series of models of how networks impact behavior, including contagion, diffusion, learning, and peer influences. You can find a more detailed syllabus here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Networks-Online-Syllabus.pdf You can find a short introductory videao here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Intro_Networks.mp4...

Top-Bewertungen

MR

Nov 02, 2017

Really enjoyed this course. The professor is really good and covers quite a lot of ground during the lectures. Good way to get into complex networks! Probably gonna do some studying on my own now :)

SW

Aug 09, 2016

Very good course on Social Networks, and also a hard one even for graduate level. Generally assignments are not too tough but fully understanding all the concepts take lots of extra readings.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 90 Bewertungen für Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis

von Tongtong H

Dec 05, 2016

Excellent course for both advanced micro theory PhD learners who wants to go deep into the prove and master (and up) level learner who wants to have a flavour of Network Theory. Professor Jackson is great in interpreting the intuition behind the theory and prove. This 8 weeks are great learning experience for me!

von Digant S

Jun 14, 2017

This course is quite helpful as network theory can be applied in epidemiology, economics, sociology and even physics. I would recommend this to anyone who wishes to learn how a certain group of subjects act in real world situations.

von jaderne H

Jul 09, 2018

Very interesting and well presented course .

von Desiree D

Nov 08, 2016

Matt, is awesome. Exercises are helpful so you can get the basics of what you need to learn. Also, complementary lectures and videos for advanced students are very helpful. I think there should be a follow up course to get an understanding on current research. So exciting!

von Nidhi S

Oct 08, 2016

A beautiful course that is mathematically rigorous and requires great understanding. Thank you :)

von david l

Nov 03, 2017

Really interesting. there is a lot of material and a lot of formula to be covered and Prof. Jackson does a great job teaching it.

Also, his book is really intesresting and goest deeper than the videoes

von Maurice V

Jul 11, 2017

Challenging, thrilling and extremely helpful!

von ANIBAL H B

Apr 26, 2017

excelente curso!! muy practico y sumamente útil. gracias!

von Ancil C

Jan 15, 2018

Enjoyed the course. The concepts are clear and the subject is interesting. For those looking at this course, please note that this is meant for advanced students, mainly at the graduate level, who are looking into this topic for potential research purposes.

von Benjamin K

May 20, 2017

Though this course confused the heck out of me many times, I have a broad understandings of what networks are and how they can be analyzed and modeled despite enrolling with minimal prior knowledge. I recommend it to anyone interested in analyzing how societies and their members behave and that when it seems difficult you stick it out. Thank you Matthew Jackson!

von Adarsh M

Feb 05, 2018

Wish we had projects to work on. Excellent theory material though.

von Carlos J D

Aug 16, 2016

Nice course, well paced, great teacher!

von Hakobyan Z

Oct 20, 2017

Thanks!

von Gabriel P

Jun 25, 2016

A very usefull course very different from others. Although for coursera standars, its very extensive and not so basic, that´s why I think its great

von Amirhessam Y

Oct 31, 2016

The course is exceptional, I just wish the instructor would also include chapters that could help researchers in the field.

von zuselcursos

Nov 20, 2017

This course is amazing, worth it a lot, I learned about game theory, mathematics, sociology. The teacher is very patient , I liked the practice test on Gelphi and the mathematical background in addition real life applications.

von Ajinkya K

Oct 24, 2017

A great course for anyone interested in learning about networks and social interactions. This course is ideal for a wide range of audience, from someone looking for an overview and introduction to networks to someone looking for a deep dive into networks and applying it to their research. Matt is a great communicator and presents the ideas in an intuitive fashion , had a great time doing all his material. Thank you Stanford and Matt Jackson for this amazing experience.

von Llewellyn P

Apr 17, 2019

Great presentation of a variety of materials. There could have been some more details in terms of fully understanding some of the details, calculations, etc. You see this in the comments where folks struggle to be sure how the calculations are made. So that takes time and maybe the book as some of that. But all in all, just a great way to get introduced to some exciting work being done leveraging graphs.

von Isard D

May 16, 2019

Dear Matthew,

Thank you so much for a wonderful introduction to social and economic networks. Your lectures were wonderful. Your choice of topics was superb and your top-notch pedagogical skills show through when you explain difficult concepts with disarming simplicity. I had no idea that your course will be so enjoyable. Thank you for introducing me to this fascinating subject. Now, at least I have some rudimentary understanding of this field and will dig further to incorporate networking tools in my research.

The videos are high quality and it is such a blessing to have the replay option. The cure for senior moments is to use replays. I can't wait for your followup: advanced topics in networking. Thanks, Isi

von Herbaut J P M

Jul 16, 2019

Excellent expérience ! Thanks You.

Herbaut Julien

von Apostolos A

Aug 28, 2019

Concise and full of useful information. Helped me a lot in my thesis preparation.

von Gubanov A

Jul 03, 2019

The course is very useful. The teacher is great also, thank's a lot.

von Manuel S

Jul 09, 2019

Excellent introduction to the world of networks. The course covers the basics in a clear and organized manner. I highly recommend it, and after that you are ready to read the literature of the area. Thank you, very much, Professor Jackson.

von Maik S

Oct 09, 2019

I like that this course is build upon a textbook. Makes it easy to follow.