Chevron Left
Zurück zu Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation von University of Cape Town

4.8
365 Bewertungen
144 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This free 6 week course is for anyone who wants to make a difference. Whether you are already familiar with the field of social innovation or social entrepreneurship, working for an organization that wants to increase its social impact, or just starting out, this course will take you on a journey of exploring the complex problems that surround us and how to start thinking about solutions. We will debunk common assumptions around what resources are needed to begin acting as a social innovator. We will learn from the numerous examples of social innovations happening all over the world. You will be challenged to get out of your comfort zone and start engaging with the diverse spaces around you. By the end of the course, you will have formed your own approach to social innovation, and you will have begun to develop the concepts, mindset, skills, and relationships that will enable you to start and evolve as a changemaker. You will be able to purchase a Verified Certificate if you wish to show evidence of your achievements, but this is optional, and you may apply for Financial Aid if you are unable to pay the certificate fee. The Bertha Centre for Social Innovation and Entrepreneurship co-created this course with RLabs, a social movement ‘born-and-bred’ in Bridgetown, Cape Town that is now active in 22 countries. The movement empowers youth through innovative and disruptive technology by teaching them vital skills and providing much needed support and a sense of community. Advocating and supporting initiatives such as RLabs forms part of the Bertha Centre’s mandate. The Centre is a specialised unit at University of Cape Town’s Graduate School of Business, and is the first academic centre in Africa dedicated to advancing social innovation and entrepreneurship. You can view the course trailer at www.youtube.com/watch?v=TcWYG64WO20 Tweet about this course using the hashtag #socinnMOOC...

Top-Bewertungen

SI

Feb 11, 2018

Highly recommended for the change agents who have no background in social entrepreneurship. This course will walk you through step by step into changing the system for the better of humanity habitats.

OM

Jun 05, 2018

This is a very effective course for anyone who would like to be an innovator or an entrepreneur. It helps with the knowledge and foundation of the necessary skills needed for social innovation.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 141 Bewertungen für Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation

von Leigh F

Oct 04, 2016

Becoming a Changemaker Course was fun and I have learnt a lot as a result. The course met my expectations but I was expecting more - it is geared towards people who have an idea and aims to harness that idea into something tangible. I am a little further down the line and this would've been fantastic had I done it a few years back, although it was fantastic going back to basics.

I am hopeful that a "Part 2 - Social Business Incubator" could be developed in future which delves into more detail to lead people who've decided to become a changemaker through the process of putting together a business case and measuring the impact of what they have started so that they are prepared to scale the social innovation and be better prepared to raise the necessary finances to succeed.

von Cecilene L B M

Mar 14, 2017

A excellent course-especially for professionals who want to add to their skills set. It also provides a good introduction to Social Innovation.

von Daiza V C

Oct 10, 2016

Great job! Thanks for sharing your ideas and experiences. For me, it would be more helpful if the teachers or mentors, will give their own feedback in week 4's assignment- Prototyping. Their feedback is very much needed as it is their expertise. Thanks!

von Joan L F

Mar 29, 2017

Worth following with practical tools to understand better the required thinking to design innovation. I strongly recommend

von Amanda S

Nov 24, 2016

A fantastic way to get people to think and operate differently!

von Kimble P

Jan 09, 2018

top notch. The resources alone allow the uninitiated to enter into a heretofore unknown world of both strategies AND people who CARE. Fellow course members are the life blood of the course, and we have access to the input of previous course members interaction. AMAZING ideas and aspirations lie awaiting or have been put into action somewhere someplace. Reading what other people aspire for their part in the world heartens jaded minds. I learned of an academic branch of study that I had had no idea of: Design Thinking. I am writing this review and I still have 2 weeks to go. What a roller coaster ride of thinking and doing, renewing and challenging oneself and keeping the respect of others. I would link this course to their critical thinking course to skill up for the work and thought process.

von Neville P

Dec 17, 2016

Even though it is only an introduction level course it really opened my eyes to hat is possible and exposed me to valuable tools in starting my project. I would definitely like to learn more. Thank you so much!

von Andrea H

Sep 26, 2016

This course has changed my life and I hope I can do even just a tiny bit to change the world. Well worth it for anyone tired of seeing the need for change and not knowing how to take action.

von Tista M

Nov 30, 2017

Have only completed week 1 but the course materials and narrative is simply excellent. I have always been curious about how to actually make social innovations work in context to the problems around me. This course is only helping me to analyse problems betters and pursue an independent solution oriented discourse, while at the same time keeping an eye out for how serious global challenges like poverty, illiteracy and climate change are tackled by innovators.

von Nuala S

Jan 16, 2019

Thought provoking course. The weekly videos give a broad outline of the topic and the suggested reading / videos give learners a chance to dive deeper into the subject.

von Justine K

Dec 06, 2019

In terms of content this course is 5 star. A mix of segmented videos with read along. You can cut to parts of the video by pressing its corresponding written sentence underneath.

The assignments are simplistic enough to do yet the idea behind it is challenging. I really enjoyed the assignments.

Its very easy to skip over research and assignments reflect this with some people.

The start is lost because this is a student based marking system. You mark 3 assignments and get marked by three students. This is floored. If not enough people come through you haven't got enough to mark and similarly enough students need to keep progressing in order to mark yours. This doubles down if you choose to do honours assignments. The very last assignment is basically marked by no one as I have marked well over 50 assignments and I'm heading into assignments over 2 years ago that are still sitting there. So this system needs some adjusting. Especially if you pay for the certificate.

von Nila G

Jan 28, 2019

Awesome course -- the right length,, practical in every way, applicable, excellent instruction!

Also, kicks your butt to achieve your goals and think critically ... while thinking about and helping others!

von Thandekile N X

Feb 04, 2019

I not only enjoyed the course but was challenged to broaden my thinking and ask more questions. This is a real resource for every social entrepreneur or change maker

von Anita A

Jan 03, 2019

Introduction to Social Innovation pushes you to be innovative. I really enjoyed this course! Kudos to the lecturers and the team!

von Michal S

Feb 26, 2019

It was a very well prepared and very practical course. I love the cooperation of the university and the social enterprise that gives the course a very practical point of view. You immediately see what are the learnings good for or where they actually come from. Thanks so much for this course!

von Francisco N C D

Mar 05, 2019

Grounded on inspiring practice, complemented with theory. Interactive, with people from beautiful Africa and around the world. Simultaneously, it encourages you to know your context, its problems and its opportunities.

von Elizaveta S

Mar 10, 2019

Loved the practical examples!

von Benson M

Mar 26, 2019

I really believe this course is one that all learners, irrespective of their chosen line of career development, must experience to gain some basic knowledge and skills necessary for them to become relevant to societal needs. The course has great potential to develop every individual, who desires to present themselves as a service or product provider, to a level where they can fully appreciate and understand community settings for a better impact.

von Jacek S

Jan 10, 2018

I really enjoyed the course - inspiring examples based in real life, stimulating leading questions and useful resources. Call for action at the end does make a difference. Great job Uni of Cape Town, thank you!

von Shubhda G

Nov 19, 2017

This course was truly a revelation to my passion for social development. Through this course, I managed to identify skills to market myself as a Freelance English Trainer at a Government run organisation. It also played a huge role in me getting an internship at an NGO and most importantly, has equipped me with skills that I never thought I would be capable of developing.

von arlene r

Oct 30, 2016

Excelent course. You will be taught with up-to-date information, guided by inspirational stories and taught by great professionals in the area. Really, a most take if you want to learn more about social innovation and, of course, impact.

von Simona S

Nov 25, 2017

I've really enjoyed the course and learn a lot. It has also helped me to organise some thoughts and random ideas. Thank you for the great job

von Emmanuel C O

Sep 29, 2017

A Very Great and Practical Course...

von Nkululeko S M

Jan 23, 2017

A well presented course. It allowed me to dig deeper into some Social challenges that are close to my heart, and gave me tools to start addressing the challenges.

von Claudia O

Dec 02, 2016

It's an awesome course. Well explained, excellent exercises, the topic were mind-blowing. I would take it again.