Chevron Left
Zurück zu Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation von University of Cape Town

4.8
351 Bewertungen
138 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This free 6 week course is for anyone who wants to make a difference. Whether you are already familiar with the field of social innovation or social entrepreneurship, working for an organization that wants to increase its social impact, or just starting out, this course will take you on a journey of exploring the complex problems that surround us and how to start thinking about solutions. We will debunk common assumptions around what resources are needed to begin acting as a social innovator. We will learn from the numerous examples of social innovations happening all over the world. You will be challenged to get out of your comfort zone and start engaging with the diverse spaces around you. By the end of the course, you will have formed your own approach to social innovation, and you will have begun to develop the concepts, mindset, skills, and relationships that will enable you to start and evolve as a changemaker. You will be able to purchase a Verified Certificate if you wish to show evidence of your achievements, but this is optional, and you may apply for Financial Aid if you are unable to pay the certificate fee. The Bertha Centre for Social Innovation and Entrepreneurship co-created this course with RLabs, a social movement ‘born-and-bred’ in Bridgetown, Cape Town that is now active in 22 countries. The movement empowers youth through innovative and disruptive technology by teaching them vital skills and providing much needed support and a sense of community. Advocating and supporting initiatives such as RLabs forms part of the Bertha Centre’s mandate. The Centre is a specialised unit at University of Cape Town’s Graduate School of Business, and is the first academic centre in Africa dedicated to advancing social innovation and entrepreneurship. You can view the course trailer at www.youtube.com/watch?v=TcWYG64WO20 Tweet about this course using the hashtag #socinnMOOC...

Top-Bewertungen

SI

Feb 11, 2018

Highly recommended for the change agents who have no background in social entrepreneurship. This course will walk you through step by step into changing the system for the better of humanity habitats.

OM

Jun 05, 2018

This is a very effective course for anyone who would like to be an innovator or an entrepreneur. It helps with the knowledge and foundation of the necessary skills needed for social innovation.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 136 Bewertungen für Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation

von Julia F

Jun 12, 2018

Excellent course, beyond expectations. It took me a big deal closer to where I want to go - create an organization to unleash digitalization in remote areas. It really gives you a great overview, great practical insights with the RLabs example, and it answered all my questions - the ones I had at the end of a module where always answered by the next module, amazing :) The instructors are great, high quality videos, and the practical examples, specially the inclusion of RLabs, extremely motivating. Even the assignments are a pleasure doing, and the exchange with my classmates as well. I got a lot of very valuable feedback. I highly recomment this course to anyone who feels an urge to do some action for a better world! THANK YOU FRANCOIS, WARREN, MARLON and TEAM!

von Sarah H

Feb 07, 2017

I found this course truly inspiring, particularly because I hail from the Cape Flats in South Africa and have knowlege of (although I don't completely pretend to understand) the manifestations discussed by Marlon and the Rlabs team.

I also understand that the problem is a transhistorical cultural-structural-psychological-physical one, and my interest is to understand these problems in its structure, so that it can be dealt with in its structure and not only in terms of individual manifestations, as this course attempts to do.

I do however find that dealing with our interconnected problems in its structure, is an uphill battle, and I am keen to try out the advice given in the course, to see at least if a dent can be made, however small.

Thanks, and all the best. Dr Sarah Henkeman

von Roseanne T

Dec 30, 2016

Great course. Practical and relevant.

von Catalina B

Nov 01, 2016

It is a wonderful course that brings great tools to think and develop ideas towards social innovation. Highly recommend it!

von Rudolph R

Jul 30, 2017

This course is very well thought through with a good combination of knowledge, practice and examples. Also the part of peer review makes is more lively and interactive. Great job, that will create great social business I think.

von Hao W

May 03, 2018

Completed

von Pablo A O

Nov 28, 2016

Great course from a great team. These wonderfull overskilled people is doing an amazing work. This course succeed in scaling a critical questions that hopefully turn in more projects that can make a difference.

von Husik S

Mar 04, 2018

Well designed and very informative course

von Learner I

Jan 18, 2017

Excellent course. Met my expectation. Highly recommend this course be continued and offered by Coursera.

von Alandrea D

Nov 07, 2016

This course is extremely informative and comprehensive without overburdening the learner with vocabulary, dated theories and complex concepts. It teaches you through the examples of verified Change Makers who are successful today!! Thank you!!!!!

von Martina G

Jun 14, 2017

Great course! I learned so much in a very hands-on way!

von Felipe H

Sep 30, 2016

I'll strongly recommend this course for those who are interested to introduce themselves to the Social Enterprise world from scratch. Very well explained, easy to understand, logic order for the content, true stories as an examples, inspirational. 100% recommended!

von SRINIVASA R N

Apr 12, 2018

Excellent course I recommend for all my staff.

von Sanjib S

Oct 09, 2017

This course is really interesting and well customised. all the sessions are effectively designed and the course moderators, the videos, RLABS story is wonderful. Learnt a lot on design thinking and way for social innovation!!

von Hildegard O

Jun 27, 2017

This course is amazing in combining theory-based approaches with practical thinking and tools which can be applied easily to a broad variety of complex problems. It offers a broad range of useful readings and the opportunity to discuss questions and issues with other students online. Being well familiar with beeing graded at school and university I like the free approach because it trusts that students want to learn, that cooperation contributes to learning and that learning is about compassion. The course also connects theory with individual motivation and making concrete steps. I deeply appreciate this offer and am thankful that I have found it.

von Maciek Z

Jan 21, 2018

It's a terrific course! Very well designed, structure, rich with real-life examples and opportunities to interact with other learners.

von Yvette D

Nov 26, 2017

Thank you for this interesting and enriching course. It really helped me define what is closest to my heart, what I feel committed to and where I want to make a difference.

von Scott G

Feb 24, 2018

Interesting, engaging, and genuinely inspiring.

This course will subtly alter your thinking, improving your problem-solving skills, creativity, and even your empathy.

I found the lectures on uncommon resource identification particularly insightful, and enjoyed the assignment in week 4 that combined everything we'd learnt up to that point.

Overall, I highly recommend this course to anyone and everyone, from business-people to students alike.

von Clay E

Nov 13, 2017

A

b

r

I

l

l

I

a

n

t

c

o

u

r

s

e

a

n

d

s

u

p

p

o

r

t

I

n

f

c

o

n

t

e

n

t

.

von Denise

Apr 15, 2018

Great Course to get started on social innovation. I liked how it was partly the theoretical frame work, and partly a real case example through the RLabs story. Would highly recommend this course to anyone wanting to embark on becoming a changemaker.

von Anne K

Oct 16, 2017

A very good way to feel and understand how Social Innovation is and can change the world !

von Adrian Z

Dec 19, 2017

This is a fantastic course -- and I have many years of university and other studies under my belt. The information is very digestible and framed by the real-world example of the successful RLabs project. This course is also inspiring and has a real feeling of kinship and warmth. If you care about changing the world for the better, this course will benefit you whatever stage you are at. THANK YOU EVERYONE AT RLABS!!

von Sujith S

Jan 23, 2018

I didn't know that my mind was capable of thinking as the mind of a change maker until I took this course. This course will help streamline your thought process in trying to solve a problem.

von Salajan A G

Jan 15, 2018

It's a great cours. I love it vry much, the presentation in very good, the teachers, the materials. I learned a lot of things and it gave me force to believe that i can be a changemaker.

von Osmunda E M

Jun 05, 2018

This is a very effective course for anyone who would like to be an innovator or an entrepreneur. It helps with the knowledge and foundation of the necessary skills needed for social innovation.