Chevron Left
Zurück zu Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation von University of Cape Town

4.8
Sterne
1,022 Bewertungen
409 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This free 6 week course is for anyone who wants to make a difference. Whether you are already familiar with the field of social innovation or social entrepreneurship, working for an organization that wants to increase its social impact, or just starting out, this course will take you on a journey of exploring the complex problems that surround us and how to start thinking about solutions. We will debunk common assumptions around what resources are needed to begin acting as a social innovator. We will learn from the numerous examples of social innovations happening all over the world. You will be challenged to get out of your comfort zone and start engaging with the diverse spaces around you. By the end of the course, you will have formed your own approach to social innovation, and you will have begun to develop the concepts, mindset, skills, and relationships that will enable you to start and evolve as a changemaker. You will be able to purchase a Verified Certificate if you wish to show evidence of your achievements, but this is optional, and you may apply for Financial Aid if you are unable to pay the certificate fee. The Bertha Centre for Social Innovation and Entrepreneurship co-created this course with RLabs, a social movement ‘born-and-bred’ in Bridgetown, Cape Town that is now active in 22 countries. The movement empowers youth through innovative and disruptive technology by teaching them vital skills and providing much needed support and a sense of community. Advocating and supporting initiatives such as RLabs forms part of the Bertha Centre’s mandate. The Centre is a specialised unit at University of Cape Town’s Graduate School of Business, and is the first academic centre in Africa dedicated to advancing social innovation and entrepreneurship. You can view the course trailer at www.youtube.com/watch?v=TcWYG64WO20 Tweet about this course using the hashtag #socinnMOOC...

Top-Bewertungen

SA

Jul 03, 2020

This course was great! I learned a lot through discussion and project submissions. I have not only learned how to create change in my community but I have taken the first steps to make it a reality.

PJ

Jun 05, 2020

This was an inspiring course. I enjoyed applying Design Theory to an idea I had been pondering for years. I was able to refine my idea in order to share it with others and explore its feasibility.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 404 Bewertungen für Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation

von Melanie H

May 01, 2020

This is an excellent course, based in research and uses a wide range of materials.

The presentation is varied and provides theoretical and practical knowledge, with examples.

One is pushed out of your comfort zone to 'think further' and try ideas.

The peer reviews were valuable and provided some helpful inputs.

von chris s

Oct 08, 2019

Great introduction to social innovation and related concepts. I've recently started on a journey with a social innovation project and working through the course with this project in mind really helped me flesh out my ideas and give structure to my plan of action for it. Thanks so much for this course.

von Ashley O

May 28, 2020

This course is exactly what I needed in order to learn the foundations of becoming a change maker. I feel like I now have the knowledge to tackle problems in my community, step out of my comfort zone, and create a positive impact . Great course if you want to step into the world of social innovation!

von ANJANEYULU

Apr 24, 2020

This course is very much useful for aspiring social entrepreneurs. It gives a lot of insights into social innovation and all the faculty and guest speakers are highly practical oriented in the field of social entrepreneurship. Anybody willing to become social entrepreneur---Just go for this course.

von Brighton T

Oct 30, 2017

Not only did I gain innovative ideas that will help transform my community but as I continued along doing this course, I also stumbled upon two big business ideas which hopefully are going to be life-changing. I don't know if that could have been possible without taking on this course. Thank you!

von Clara M

Sep 04, 2019

The alignment to a Social Innovation project that commenced in 2017 in CapeTown, before Social Innovation was a known entity for community benefits, with the academic insights and knowledge combine to make this not only valuable for learning about Social Innovation, but inspirational as well.

von Michal S

Feb 26, 2019

It was a very well prepared and very practical course. I love the cooperation of the university and the social enterprise that gives the course a very practical point of view. You immediately see what are the learnings good for or where they actually come from. Thanks so much for this course!

von Linda S

Jul 11, 2020

Awesome , Awesome, Awesome. Had so much fun doing this course whilst the Lockdown was on in South Africa.

Very informative, even used some of the skills I learnt to provide items to a NGO during their lockdown as they have a soup kitchen.

Networking is definitely key to being a changemaker.

von Mary N B

Oct 21, 2019

This was an amazing course that helps you think past your own, isolated thoughts and self-limiting believes and helps you figure out how small changes can make huge impacts. If you’re looking for self-improvement & how to make your corner of the world better - this is the course for you!

von Karima B

Jun 13, 2020

A very interesting course. I learned a lot of new things, and what I loved the most is all the examples that you gave to us. Thanks to Rlabs for given us hope and courage to start our own project. If I have the chance to visit South Africa, I will come to see you guys. Thank you.

von Beyonifer M G

Mar 19, 2017

Great course. Loved the interaction between peers and they marking your work. Was irritating at first, but shows you the mistake we all make. Thinking that others should buy into your idea, but it gives you a slight glimpse into how the community might view it from their side.

von Ilse V E

Jun 05, 2020

This course is an eyeopener on a lot of levels. It boost your ideas and your energy.

Warren Nilsson, Francois Bonnici, Kurt April, Mugendi M'Rithaa and of course Marlon Parker and the other speakers of RLab do a very good job in offering you excellent, clear and rich content.

von piyush m

May 25, 2020

This course is very much helpful to make ourself thing abroad about the system we live in, and have new innovative solution of any problem with different tangible and untangible resources with observing the ideation and prototype our idea in a enculcating way of aboundance

von Aoyumi J

Dec 14, 2018

I like it!

A good course to dig deep into different layers of problems and find creative ways to tackle it.

The way can be right there which is called hidden resources or available asset that we do not know and try to find something superficial... This is so cool for me!

von Felipe H

Sep 30, 2016

I'll strongly recommend this course for those who are interested to introduce themselves to the Social Enterprise world from scratch. Very well explained, easy to understand, logic order for the content, true stories as an examples, inspirational. 100% recommended!

von Ayush K

May 20, 2020

This course is amazing it really helped me to get out of my comfort zone and think about what I can do to bring a social change within my possibilities and I was amazed that I could really think out some very beautiful ideas which I never thought of doing before.

von Giuliana Z

Jul 09, 2019

It was amazing doing this course! The first step to start my social innovation and to bring real change to the world. If you want to learn more about social impact, start shaping your own idea and get pratical examples around the world, this course is for you!

von Tadashi T

Jul 05, 2020

Gran curso. Trae algunas definiciones que me parecen interesantes y muchos casos reales. Tal vez reforzaría más herramientas y definiciones más especificas. Siento que puede faltar profundidad en las definiciones, pero está bien para ser un curso de inmersión

von Ankit S

Jun 20, 2020

The course is the best first step for helping change makers to bring change in their communities. Recommend this course to all who feel that a societal issue needs your time and resources and this course will help you and motivate you to lead for the change.

von Haridas R

Jun 03, 2020

Excellent course - Recommend for everyone who really wants to make a difference in communities or cities and wondering where to start. This is the best place to start and also now is the best time to start. Thank you coursera team for making this happen

von Sayyed D A S H

May 01, 2020

This course has changed my life and I also learned a lot of new positive things. I hope I will play a vital role in changing and making our society better. The course met my expectations but I was expecting more.it's amazing. In the end, a lot of thanks

von Denise

Apr 15, 2018

Great Course to get started on social innovation. I liked how it was partly the theoretical frame work, and partly a real case example through the RLabs story. Would highly recommend this course to anyone wanting to embark on becoming a changemaker.

von Mohamed N

Jun 07, 2020

It is such an amazing course with plenty of interaction and The Tutors are really pedagogical when stepping from one point to another !

I extremly enjoyed the course and would like to recommend it to anyone who seeking to become a social innovator .

von Bunmi

May 10, 2020

The Lecturers were detailed and made the course easy to digest. It seemed nothing was impossible to achieve from conceiving the idea to its execution.

Marlon’s expertise is priceless and has helped in helping me carve out the execution of my ideas.

von Alandrea D

Nov 07, 2016

This course is extremely informative and comprehensive without overburdening the learner with vocabulary, dated theories and complex concepts. It teaches you through the examples of verified Change Makers who are successful today!! Thank you!!!!!