Chevron Left
Zurück zu Software Security

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Software Security by University of Maryland, College Park

4.6
837 Bewertungen
182 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course we will explore the foundations of software security. We will consider important software vulnerabilities and attacks that exploit them -- such as buffer overflows, SQL injection, and session hijacking -- and we will consider defenses that prevent or mitigate these attacks, including advanced testing and program analysis techniques. Importantly, we take a "build security in" mentality, considering techniques at each phase of the development cycle that can be used to strengthen the security of software systems. Successful learners in this course typically have completed sophomore/junior-level undergraduate work in a technical field, have some familiarity with programming, ideally in C/C++ and one other "managed" program language (like ML or Java), and have prior exposure to algorithms. Students not familiar with these languages but with others can improve their skills through online web tutorials....

Top-Bewertungen

GB

May 27, 2019

Was prepared and presented in a very special and superb way. I am glad I took and completed it. Thanks to my tutor Michael Hicks and special appreciation to coursera for making this possible for me.

PR

Nov 20, 2016

Content is really valuable and actionable with a specific comeback for the student in terms of secure development, security and how to understand the origin of exploits and other cyber attacks

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 185 Reviews for Software Security

von Anish B

Jul 06, 2019

More practical based, with updated systems could have been helpful...

von hmka

Sep 16, 2018

The course is impressively well-structured and organised. When I came to know about MIT's OCW's Computer Security course, I was eagerly hoping it gets included in as a Mooc. After taking this course, I believe it's on the same par.

Software Security is intended for a more advanced audience compared to usable security. Mainly, those who have some modest experience with programming and are aiming to apply security designs and implementations to their code. Moreover, it gives you a good idea, backed up with labs, about security in domains like web application, low-level systems, penetration testing, etc, good enough for someone to choose which one to pursue a career in.

von Mohd Y

Jul 13, 2019

Great, better than others in this specialization.

von Scott S

Jul 03, 2019

Solid course in software security. Really clear explanation of looking under the covers of how buffer overflows work. However, the virtual machines are four years out of date and getting them running for the labs were a major pain.

von Aditya N S

Jun 28, 2019

Please add practicals with existing theory, because these kind of topics, mainly which are related to programming could be understood better by practical rather than theory (via presentation). Although this course content and instructor is really good, but adding more practicals with theory will help us more to understand the concepts.

von Manav C

Jun 16, 2019

Great course

von Joseph G

Jun 14, 2019

Excellent course for those interested in software security

von Vaibhav S R

Jun 01, 2019

Truly Exceptional Course

von John B

May 31, 2019

I found this course really insightful. I have wanted to understand the source of software vulnerabilities and the course met that objective well. I particularly liked how it addressed the whole software development cycle from requirements - design - implementation - test.

I did find it quite difficult, having a dated and somewhat limited coding background. However, the exercises can be completed successfully if you are prepared to put in some extra work to understand some of the essentials of the C programming language.

von George J B

May 27, 2019

Was prepared and presented in a very special and superb way. I am glad I took and completed it. Thanks to my tutor Michael Hicks and special appreciation to coursera for making this possible for me.

von CLAUDIO A

May 19, 2019

Excellent course ! i wish there would be a part 2 to go deeply into some of the topics like penetration testing and fuzzying which are too wide to cover in 1 chapter.

von Kai P

Mar 31, 2019

Seems outdated (as of 2014). Quiz for week 5 is strange and not easy with the provided material.

von Roberto T D

Mar 21, 2019

First of all, sorry for my english. I'm very glad to have participate in this course. I'm learned so many new things! And I think it's really a very interesting area. I'm mostly a developer, although last years I've been learning many aspects related to Cybersecurity, ethical hacking and pentesting (I'm CompTIA Security + and CEH, but I'm a newbie), and curiously (and sadly) I hadn't ever heard about secure software developing techniques explained here in almost 20 years of career. So, I'm very proud to know them now. Congratulations! It has been tough for me on certain points, but I've enjoyed it very much!!

von Muhammad A N

Feb 25, 2019

Good

von Zeming Z

Feb 10, 2019

prefect

von IYAPPAN V

Feb 06, 2019

good teaching

von Abhirup B

Jan 27, 2019

The way the course instructor taught the course was very boring.

von Sanoop s

Jan 16, 2019

good course.very helpfull for a beginer like me to start with.

von Muhammad F b S

Dec 05, 2018

Lecturer is awesome!

von Emilio A O Z

Nov 13, 2018

Excelente Curso

von ishan o

Nov 12, 2018

got to learn a lot

von Deepak C

Nov 05, 2018

This is hands down one of the toughest courses on coursera. Learning curve was steep and provided quite a lot of information. I recommend it to everyone who ever writes code or tests it. It was time well spent !

von Julián J G

Oct 26, 2018

Except for the static analysis and symbolic execution unit, which I actually found pretty hard (there are a lot of terms and definitions), most of the course is pretty easy to get in for anyone with some CS background, but offering solid knowledge and very good examples. 100% recommended as a Software Security introductory course.

von Saksham A

Oct 14, 2018

This was a good course, I learned a lot from it. Instructor and guest interviews.

von Grace S

Oct 06, 2018

Part of this course was tough for me, but I learned a lot