Chevron Left
Zurück zu Solar Energy Basics

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Solar Energy Basics von The State University of New York

4.8
Sterne
418 Bewertungen
148 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course gives you an introduction to the fundamentals of solar power as it applies to solar panel system installations. You will learn to compare solar energy to other energy resources and explain how solar panels, or photovoltaics (PV for short), convert sunlight to electricity. You will be able to identify the key components needed in a basic photovoltaic (solar panel) system, such as is found on a house or building, and explain the function of each component in the system. You will also learn how to calculate the electrical demand of a building, how to reduce the overall demand, and then how to design a solar panel system that can meet that annual demand at a given location. You will also compare the different types of pricing models that are being used and key regulatory considerations for grid tied systems (where a house or building is connected to the electrical grid and also generates electricity from solar panels). A capstone design project that entails both the simple audit of a building to determine demand, and a selection of components to design a solar panel system to meet that demand. This course is part of the Solar Power Installation Specialization. It provides a good overview of system components and functions, but uses some simplified assumptions. The other two topical courses in this specialization entail a more advanced coverage of site assessment, factors impacting efficiency, and the sizing, design, and integration of photovoltaic systems. The specialization concludes with a capstone project course of a full site evaluation, photovoltaic system design, and installation plan. The specialization is modeled after an on campus workshop that has been running on the ESF campus for many years, and can serve as an important step for those who are interested in working the solar power field for the certification process to become a Certified PV Installation Professional, or PV Technical Sales through the North American Board of Certified Energy Practitioners (NABCEP)....

Top-Bewertungen

RH

Oct 14, 2019

Very good overview of solar energy and practical knowledge as well as end of course project. to improve, there should be more involvement from faculty in the project as the peer-review is flaw.

DR

Apr 26, 2020

Nice Course. Full modelling of PV sizing and estimation of the energy demand of any site learned by this course.\n\nVery Much useful for installing and an overall idea about the solar industry.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 156 Bewertungen für Solar Energy Basics

von Ed P

Jul 12, 2019

Nice introduction to practical solar installations. The lecture was clear and appropriate. The materials were easy to follow.

von Kazim A

Sep 18, 2019

it was a great learning experience. Instructor way of teaching is fantastic. I recommend that for everyone who is interested in Solar career.

von Karla M G C

Oct 06, 2019

This course is excellent! It includes all the important topics you need to know about solar energy and it is easy to understand. Definitely, it was a great decision to take it.

von Mohsen S

Sep 16, 2019

it helps me a lot in my career

von Timur M

Jun 25, 2019

Couse interesting by itself, but unfortunately can't pass it, due to payment requirements. Can't afford it. Usually payments for certification, but here you have to pay for a quizes

von ricardo h

Oct 14, 2019

Very good overview of solar energy and practical knowledge as well as end of course project. to improve, there should be more involvement from faculty in the project as the peer-review is flaw.

von Muhammad H N K

Jan 18, 2020

to the point and precise course on the basics. do able on just one weekend.

von Andres E F C

Dec 06, 2019

Very good as an introduction to the topic.

von Carlitos S I J

May 26, 2020

This is a great course. I began gaining interest for renewable energies about two years ago and I always tried to find ways to gain knowledge, especially about solar panels. So I would watch YouTube videos and research through articles here and there and they were good enough for me to get by, however with this course I learnt so much more and I already feel capable of taking the next step in this journey which is to gain practical experience and be able to understand each and every part of a PV array system. Thank God for this course and I pray I continue to have a successful journey in this endeavor.

von Mushfiqur R

May 19, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. It's an application based course. Although I think while calculating PV size there is a portion where you have to divide Target power to Annual Sun Hour and then divide it by efficiency. There is a certain mismatch between two sides of the equation. But overall, it was a nice experience to go through. I was looking forward to joining second part of this 4 part course. Although I got an email about joining the second course, clicking there I could not find the second course. There is no link for the 'Keep learning' option right now.

von Vivek V

Apr 11, 2020

This course is very much useful for improving the knowledge in photovoltaics installation, audit calculation and improving my career as well. The explanation by the tutor in the lectures can be easily understood by anyone and has many key points which are useful in PV industry. I acquired the knowledge with help of this course.Thank you coursera for providing me such platform and course to improve my skill set.I recommend whoever is keen and interested to learn and improve their skill in solar PV to take this course

von Rohit V S

Apr 24, 2020

"I can't really express how much this certificate means to me. This acknowledgement is something that I will cherish throughout my life and would always look upon in those times when I feel low.

This course build my confidence about the solar energy field in electrical system that's why I know more knowledge about it and thank you so much ko Syria app thank you so much.

von PRASAD V J

May 18, 2020

Hello everyone,

The course will help the participant to understand renewable energy generation systems, energy scenario and also in depth knowledge of SPV system implementation.

I loved the course a lot as the instructor makes the concept understand very easily. Also way of calculations is explained very neatly.

Thank you MVPS'S KBTCOE and COURSERA

von SILVESTRE P I P

Jan 31, 2020

Very interesting, useful and profitable, spend time to finish this course. The teacher directs the lectures very well and focused on the practical, so that the objectives searched are fully achieved. Thanks coursera and the tutor who was in charge of the course, for giving this magnificent and well oriented teaching. EXCELLENT.

von Virginia W

Apr 19, 2020

I found this class on the ESF website and I thought it sounded coll, low and behold it was and I feel like I learned a lot. It wasn't stressful and it was easy to go at my own pace. There's physics/math, science, economics, and a bit of history. It was really cool 10/10 would take again

von João J O A

Apr 12, 2020

The teacher is really good, with good speach and easy to understand, and this is very important for this course, especially for students from other cities. I am a environmental engeneering student and this was very important for me. Thank you very much!!

von ankush k

May 10, 2020

Thank you Coursera by conducting very important & useful courses for various students. Its wonderful platform developed by Coursera to learn at any moment of time. Thanks again.. I will continue to learn new courses in future.

von PRATHAMESH A

May 30, 2020

Very Informative course. Explained all concept in very simple way that's the beauty of the course. From this course we will understand how the solar energy used in proper manner to achieved our energy need.

von Nippani S

May 16, 2020

Very Useful course for those who has an interest in Photovoltaics.

The instructor's explanation was extraordinary. I Thank the instructor very much for giving a complete insight into Solar Cell Basics.

von Dipanjan R

Apr 26, 2020

Nice Course. Full modelling of PV sizing and estimation of the energy demand of any site learned by this course.

Very Much useful for installing and an overall idea about the solar industry.

von Lagan G

Apr 21, 2020

I am very interested in the solar energy studies .basically I am a electrical engineering student.The coursera gave me a free chance to learn more about solar panel and it's installations.

von Vivek K K

May 30, 2020

Really great and Excellent basics along with learning photovoltaic process and other interesting concepts of solar installations and calculations of various parameters.

von Srinivas R G

Apr 27, 2020

Really great and Excellent basics along with learning photovoltaic process and other interesting concepts of solar installations and calculations of various parameters.

von Islam S E H E

Apr 03, 2020

The information presented in this course was superb and excellently presented in the easiest way possible, the persenter Dr. Neal Abrams is an excellent lecturer.