Chevron Left
Zurück zu Solar Energy Basics

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Solar Energy Basics von The State University of New York

4.8
Sterne
2,031 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course gives you an introduction to the fundamentals of solar power as it applies to solar panel system installations. You will learn to compare solar energy to other energy resources and explain how solar panels, or photovoltaics (PV for short), convert sunlight to electricity. You will be able to identify the key components needed in a basic photovoltaic (solar panel) system, such as is found on a house or building, and explain the function of each component in the system. You will also learn how to calculate the electrical demand of a building, how to reduce the overall demand, and then how to design a solar panel system that can meet that annual demand at a given location. You will also compare the different types of pricing models that are being used and key regulatory considerations for grid tied systems (where a house or building is connected to the electrical grid and also generates electricity from solar panels). A capstone design project that entails both the simple audit of a building to determine demand, and a selection of components to design a solar panel system to meet that demand....

Top-Bewertungen

A

17. Juni 2020

I would like to thank you and your team for this great course, I'm really appreciated, it was very helpful as starting in this field, and I will be the first one who will take all your next courses

PG

3. Mai 2021

Good course. Some downloadable presentation slides would have been helpful to seal the learning. Otherwise, I learned a lot and have a much better understanding of solar energy and it's potential.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 686 Bewertungen für Solar Energy Basics

von Ganesh E

5. Sep. 2020

good course it will help u in your final year projects if your dealing with any renewable sources and it gives you a idea pf what future could be .

von Abhishek g

12. Juni 2020

Very good corse for the ones who have a keen interest in Solar Energy Sector! The explanation by the instructor is very lucid and upto the mark.

von Rohit S

10. Juni 2020

It was very good and I got lot of exposure in world of Solar energy and alternate renewable energy resources. It was very nice experience.

von TEWODROS A S

5. Mai 2020

i get to know more about solar PV in this online program. the teaching mechanism is good and as well as the instructor is perfect. thanks

von Syed M B R

3. Juni 2020

It was probably the best and interesting course that i have come across coursera . The instructor was just awesome. Meda salam akhae

von Eamon D

3. Mai 2020

Excellent Course. Learned a lot. Maybe it was just me but I certainly needed a lot more than 2.5 hrs per week but time well spent.

von Orchi G

21. Juni 2020

One of the best courses. The instructor made it more easy to get all the difficult points. Very helpful for future implementation.

von Salman F S

3. Mai 2020

This course will help you to learn from basics of pv to expertise in energy audits and solar panel requirements in required area.

von Bhushan P

17. Juli 2020

These course is very helpful for the electrical and mechanical engineering to understand the basics of solar panel installation.

von Vaibhavsing D P

15. Juni 2020

Excellent course to gain knowledge regarding Solar Energy.All things included in this course from Installation to Certification.

von chebrolu b

20. Mai 2020

I have learned a lot especially through capstone project.

Thank you Dr. Neal Abrams

for make this Course useful and effective.

von C B

22. Aug. 2021

C​ourse gave a great overview of the basics of solar and how to perform calculations to determine what type of system would be best. Instructor did a great job of explaining the different components needed within a solar system to include inverters for conversion from DC to AC, the disconnects between the AC and DC power for on grid systems as well as off grid systems which use battery power instead of utility power. Even explains where a system can be installed on ground as a stand-alone system or even on a roof without penetrating the roof. Each section had a quiz which helped reinforce key learning areas. Instructor also explained different careers within solar which includes finance, engineering, installers, and sales. My main takeaway is that when solar generates enough power, you are putting energy back into the grid but there is a limit to how much because no one can essentially replace the utility company when on grid.

von Sayed M

2. Okt. 2020

Thanks for helping us to know about some thing about renewable energy . Before this course , I was only familiar with two things of renewable energy such as hydro electric and nuclear energy.I didn't know the huge advancement of solar energy where before invention of photovoltic transformation in this process the success is not acceptable.After ther invention of silicon as a photo voltic transforming particle this site see the unbelieveable success. It's one of the amazing things that only 100 years later it's efficiency increase more than 100% and cost also reduce 98%. This course is totally awesome for all of us.Thanks a lot again.

von Manosh C H

10. Mai 2021

This course enabled me to calculate an efficient PV system for any given residential or industrial complex. In this course, the instructor clearly explained different types of solar panels, how to calculate the load of a given system, how to calculate a PV system, etc. I highly recommend it for those who want to learn about solar system designing and implementation. Also, in the capstone project, I designed my own solar PV system for my home which was the best part.

von N. S S

17. Sep. 2020

As a professional from the Sustainable field, The Solar Energy Basics course has been extremely helpful in enhancing my understanding and skills of the calculations & conversions of photovoltaics. This course was informative, well presented, and graspable. I would like to thank The State University of New York & Mr. Neil Abrahams for his effort in teaching us explicitly. I'm grateful to Coursera for this opportunity.

von Antonio M

17. Sep. 2020

It has been a perfect course to get started in the world of renewable energy and especially in photovoltaics. The course is very well organized, you can follow the explanations and the instructor is very competent. The capstone project is very well planned and in addition to practicing the contents of the course you have the opportunity to review the work of other students from different parts of the world.

von Alejandro T

26. Okt. 2020

Very useful course if you want to have a basic overview of Solar Energy. It provides complete information about installation of PV Systems, photovoltaics history, calculations theory, the market of solar energy worldwide and future of renewables and certification.

I recommend this course to anyone who wants to start in the solar energy industry or gain a good knowledge on the subject.

von Orestis P

19. Jan. 2021

The course helped me a lot to understand some basic knowledge of Solar Energy! The professor's transmissibility was very good, everything was well explained, easy for me to understand! I highly recommend this course for anyone who wants to know more about Photovoltaics! I will follow also other courses of Neal Abrams he is doing a great job!

von Kaustubha A W

29. Sep. 2020

This course was extremely educational! It covers all the mentioned topics very well. My expectations of learning about solar systems were met and exceeded as it also taught me about how to apply the knowledge real world situations. The knowledge I gained in this course will help me tremendously to proceed seeking a career in Photovoltaics!

von Monika R

28. Apr. 2021

I was always heaving a headache when it came to maths and calculating and any kind of a technical stuff. This course is so friendly and explains solar energy basics so clearly I was actually having fun, also doing the final project. It made me believe that some of my skills actually exist. Thanks a lot!

von Rajkumar Y

4. Juli 2021

The course was very good and very effective.Now I can easily calculate the energy required for my home and can also calculate the solar panels required for that.The lecture was very easy to understand and brilliant.The professor did very well and after the lectures I can easily solve the questions.

von Dorji

29. Nov. 2021

C​lear introduction to the basics of solar photovoltaics. Just the right amount of basic math for those allergic to calculus.

World stats on solar installation and electricity production need to be updated (in 2020, it was already twice a much as in the original course, about 700 GW installed).

von Kumar, G

8. Mai 2022

Course is designed to provide basic information about the Solar Technology with related theory and calculations. Assigned time frame is perfect and contents are very much designed in the way to receive to the attendees in easy manner. I would like to attend more courses.

von Judith M C A

9. Sep. 2021

Me encanta la metodología, que usa el docente para explicar este tipo de energía renovable, lamentablemente no me permite seguirlo, porque me pide que compre el curso y al tratar de pagar no me acepta, no se a que se debe este problema. Motivo por el cual estoy atrasada.

von aman r

22. Mai 2022

It was a very interesting course which taught us about the solar energy and ways of harnessing it using PV modules and converting the solar enery to electrical energy. This course also helped me in estimating the consumption of electricity using solar panelled cells.