Chevron Left
Zurück zu Distributed Computing with Spark SQL

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Distributed Computing with Spark SQL von University of California, Davis

4.4
Sterne
149 Bewertungen
42 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is for students with SQL experience and now want to take the next step in gaining familiarity with distributed computing using Spark. Students will gain an understanding of when to use Spark and how Spark as an engine uniquely combines Data and AI technologies at scale. The four modules build on one another and by the end of the course the student will understand: Spark architecture, Spark DataFrame, optimizing reading/writing data, and how to build a machine learning model. The first module will introduce Spark, including how Spark works with distributed computing and what are Spark Dataframes. Module 2 covers the core concepts of Spark such as storage vs. computing, caching, partitions and Spark UI. The third module looks at Engineering Data Pipelines covering connecting to databases, schemas and type, file formats and writing good data. The final module looks at the application of Spark with Machine Learning through the business use case, a short introduction to what machine learning is, building and applying models and a final course conclusion. By understanding when to use Spark, either scaling out when the model or data is too large to process on a single machine, or having a need to simply speed up to get faster results, students will hone their SQL skills and become a more adept Data Scientist....

Top-Bewertungen

GT

Jun 10, 2020

I highly recommend this course for anyone in the BI and Data space interested in learning Spark. The course gives an easy to understand to the framework and applicable hands on examples.

KS

May 14, 2020

Amazing course that really cuts through the fundamentals of using distributed computing power to analyze and manipulate data. Well organised structure on fundamentals

Filtern nach:

26 - 42 von 42 Bewertungen für Distributed Computing with Spark SQL

von Borusyk O

May 25, 2020

Nice work! Thnx

von Estrella P

Jul 21, 2020

Great Course

von Rinrada P

Jul 16, 2020

great course

von Katerine C

Jul 05, 2020

Very good

von ANDRES F C

May 25, 2020

great

von Kota M

Apr 29, 2020

Very great introduction to the Spark SQL and databricks environment worked perfectly as a hands-on.

It would be great if the course covers the Spark ML applications. We used sklearn in the course and utilized a trained model by using the user-defined function. I wonder how it compares with the case where we use Sp ark ML for the training as well.

von Hitesh B G

May 10, 2020

Positives - Just having SQL knowledge got me to learn how the large data can be processed using SPARKSQL. I had a great time getting hands-on experience for spark SQL notebook.

Negative- I just wish the videos are too paced as there was a lot of information to cover in all the videos.

von Praneeth N P

May 22, 2020

A good way to get started with Spark SQL. You might need some knowledge of SQL to get started with.

von Truong T T H

Jul 07, 2020

It is a good course. I have learned a lot about Spark.

von HITESHWAR K A

Apr 13, 2020

Happy to attend this course.

von Alex C

May 27, 2020

it was an interesting course in as much as it has got me interested in spark and it was doable. I think it tried to cover too much ground in not enough depth. After completing I have gone off and am doing the datacamp spark courses which are also interesting.

The implementation stuff in databricks was really annoying in that the platform used a ´´ whatever it actually was - i still dont know!!!! i just had to copy and paste it every time...it was never mentioned that it didnt work like sql with [] or that it wasnt a apostrophe or whatever.

The use of jupyter notebooks itself was nice, and the exercises were also nice as a learning exercise, i got a lot out of them by having to actually find out some things and see ah ha thats how it works.

The presenters were very good. I could be critical of a few points but i wont as i am guessing its there first mooc or so, and my personal opinions are irrelevant in my annoyances :-)

All in all a nice course as it has good me interested and actually up and running with spark, so i can see where and how it fits and will look further...

Many thansk!

von Noah M

May 10, 2020

A highly polished presentation, however I still feel only a superficial understanding of partitions and other Spark optimisation techniques. In Course 4 of this Specialization, I had to google myself how best to set partition parameters (ie. how to choose a value) which perhaps shouldve been covered in this course.

High-level definitions are given, but not so much in way of actual application to clarify the concepts.

von Sizhe L

Oct 26, 2019

video quality needs to be improved. Be careful about the last assignment. The accuracy asked in the question is the accuracy over the training data.

von Pedro S

Jun 01, 2020

There is not updated notebook with the last spark release, it's very confusing and a lots questions into the forum

von Zhenhua C

May 20, 2020

great course. but the last assignment has too many coding problems to fix after q2. dont know why

von Bryan B

Jul 06, 2020

The first module felt more like a sales pitch for DataBricks than anything else, and the last module was about machine learning, and not distributed computing. So, in my opinion, only 2 of the weeks attempted to focus on distributed computing, but even they failed. The course seemed to focus way more on SQL, and less on Spark and how it works. Sure, there were pieces of information on how to how to change the number of partitions, but how partitions work, or how Spark actually handles distributed computing was lackluster at best. If you have even a rudimentary understanding of data engineering, you should be able to ace this course with minimal effort, but you'll likely not take much away from it. Great course for absolute beginners though.

von Palak S

Jun 06, 2020

I did not like the flow of content explained! I expected a lot from this course but at then end I just have basic idea of queries at the end of the course! Nothing in deep about Spark's core concepts. Also the assignment quiz on queries were very weird and not properly formed! The Week 3 assignmnet was not displaying feedback! It was a really messy course!