Chevron Left
Zurück zu Distributed Computing with Spark SQL

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Distributed Computing with Spark SQL von University of California, Davis

4.5
Sterne
416 Bewertungen
100 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is all about big data. It’s for students with SQL experience that want to take the next step on their data journey by learning distributed computing using Apache Spark. Students will gain a thorough understanding of this open-source standard for working with large datasets. Students will gain an understanding of the fundamentals of data analysis using SQL on Spark, setting the foundation for how to combine data with advanced analytics at scale and in production environments. The four modules build on one another and by the end of the course you will understand: the Spark architecture, queries within Spark, common ways to optimize Spark SQL, and how to build reliable data pipelines. The first module introduces Spark and the Databricks environment including how Spark distributes computation and Spark SQL. Module 2 covers the core concepts of Spark such as storage vs. compute, caching, partitions, and troubleshooting performance issues via the Spark UI. It also covers new features in Apache Spark 3.x such as Adaptive Query Execution. The third module focuses on Engineering Data Pipelines including connecting to databases, schemas and data types, file formats, and writing reliable data. The final module covers data lakes, data warehouses, and lakehouses. Students build production grade data pipelines by combining Spark with the open-source project Delta Lake. By the end of this course, students will hone their SQL and distributed computing skills to become more adept at advanced analysis and to set the stage for transitioning to more advanced analytics as Data Scientists....

Top-Bewertungen

GT
9. Juni 2020

I highly recommend this course for anyone in the BI and Data space interested in learning Spark. The course gives an easy to understand to the framework and applicable hands on examples.

KS
13. Mai 2020

Amazing course that really cuts through the fundamentals of using distributed computing power to analyze and manipulate data. Well organised structure on fundamentals

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 102 Bewertungen für Distributed Computing with Spark SQL

von Aaqib A

30. Aug. 2020

Great Course for Beginners...!!!

von Karthik C

14. Apr. 2021

Very Good Course Content

von Phú T

28. Okt. 2021

very easy to follow up!

von Mohammad M R

17. Apr. 2020

Good course for spark

von David M G

1. Mai 2020

Fantastic Course!

von pablo s l

27. März 2020

A

w

e

s

o

m

e

c

o

u

r

s

e

!

!

von EDGAR I M P

18. Nov. 2021

cosa bien hecha

von Borysiuk O

25. Mai 2020

Nice work! Thnx

von Ammar S

20. Sep. 2021

Great course!

von Estrella P

21. Juli 2020

Great Course

von Rinrada P

16. Juli 2020

great course

von Katerine C

5. Juli 2020

Very good

von Muhammad I I B J

25. Juni 2021

AWESOME

von ANDRES F C

25. Mai 2020

great

von Julio R Y

16. Nov. 2021

done

von Julio C R F

4. Nov. 2021

good

von Bryan G G C

24. Okt. 2021

good

von Erick R M A

28. Nov. 2021

..

von Justin M

15. März 2021

I liked how the instructors delivered material; their videos were informative and easy to follow, and they did a good job. The assignments were fine, especially the quizzes. I got a good sense of why distributed computing is useful and how to do it in spark.

I will say that the course material might be too complex for the time allotted. I think the instructors did a good job, but some of the topics were pretty advanced and likely required some knowledge that was beyond the scope of the course. Some of the assignments reflected this. In some of them, I was writing most of the code and could follow what was happening pretty easily. By the last assignment, though, I was pulling code from custom packages that the profs had written and doing regressions using equations that they wrote out for me. I think that was necessary-- going through all of this would have been too time-intensive for this course-- but if I had to write a ML model by myself, I doubt I could do it.

BUT, I definitely understand the models on a conceptual level. In this sense, the course was very successful. While I likely couldn't reproduce a lot of the code, I understand the computer science behind a lot of it. So overall, I think the course was very strong.

von Joanna M

21. Juni 2021

Overall a lot of knowledge and an interesting course. I was disappointed that the last part focused more on Machine Learning instead of on databases, data lakes etc. as I feel this would be more relevant to the specialization.

I did not like the assignment as they were not demanding enough. Majority of the code was written for us, it did not require us to analyze the code more to actually understand what we are doing and learn it.

von Kota M

29. Apr. 2020

Very great introduction to the Spark SQL and databricks environment worked perfectly as a hands-on.

It would be great if the course covers the Spark ML applications. We used sklearn in the course and utilized a trained model by using the user-defined function. I wonder how it compares with the case where we use Sp ark ML for the training as well.

von Carolyn O

7. Feb. 2021

The course was a struggle. I didn't take calculus or trigonometry. So, the square root means was a bit over my head. It was nice that the machine learning queries were already in the assignments. However, it would have been helpful to explain them better. Then I would be able to understand why they are written a specific way and how to read them.

von Hitesh G

10. Mai 2020

Positives - Just having SQL knowledge got me to learn how the large data can be processed using SPARKSQL. I had a great time getting hands-on experience for spark SQL notebook.

Negative- I just wish the videos are too paced as there was a lot of information to cover in all the videos.

von Laura M D V

4. Aug. 2020

It was very helpful to me.

I would improve the assignments' design. Sometimes it felt like something was missing and not very clear, at least not as it is in the real world. And I loved Brooke's way of teaching.

von Linlin L

14. Dez. 2020

This course provides hands-on experience in using Databricks's Spark. I learned a lot. I recommend people with some SQL experience to take this course for efficient programming skills!