Chevron Left
Zurück zu Sports and Building Aerodynamics

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Sports and Building Aerodynamics von Eindhoven University of Technology

4.8
Sterne
83 Bewertungen
20 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

COURSE ABSTRACT: Have we reached the boundaries of what can be achieved in sports and building design? The answer is definitely “NO”. This course explains basic aspects of bluff body aerodynamics, wind tunnel testing and Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD) simulations with application to sports and building aerodynamics. It is intended for anyone with a strong interest in these topics. Key fields addressed are urban physics, wind engineering and sports aerodynamics. COURSE CONTENTS: The course consists of 6 weeks. The first 3 weeks are on fundamentals, the second 3 weeks on applications. - Week 1: Basic aspects of fluid flow - Week 2: Wind-tunnel testing - Week 3: Computational Fluid Dynamics - Week 4: Building aerodynamics - Week 5: 100 m sprint aerodynamics - Week 6: Cycling aerodynamics COURSE UPGRADES: In January-February 2017, the course will be upgraded/extended with: - New modules on cycling aerodynamics - Week 7: Climate adaptation of buildings and cities - Week 8: Air pollution If you want to take the upgraded/extended course, please wait with enrollment until mid February. LECTURER: The lecturer is Bert Blocken, professor at Eindhoven University of Technology in the Netherlands and KU Leuven in Belgium. He is a Civil Engineer holding a PhD in Building Physics. His main areas of expertise are urban physics, wind engineering and sports aerodynamics. He has published 126 papers in international peer-reviewed journals. He has received the 2013 Junior Award from the International Association of Wind Engineering and six best paper awards from the Elsevier ISI journal Building & Environment (2009, 2011, 2012) and at international conferences. According to the 2016 Academic Ranking of World Universities (Shanghai Ranking) & Elsevier, he is among the 150 most cited researchers world-wide both in the field of Civil Engineering and in the field of Energy Science & Engineering. Since Dec 2016, he is editor of the ISI journal Building & Environment and starting 2017, he is also associate editor of the ISI Journal of Wind Engineering & Industrial Aerodynamics. He is member of the editorial board of the ISI journals Building Simulation and Sports Engineering. He has acted as a reviewer for more than 70 different ISI journals. He is currently supervising a team of 4 senior researchers, 32 PhD students and 5 MSc students....

Top-Bewertungen

MM

May 18, 2020

Really intriguing and interesting course. The standard of the MOOC is exemplary. It tries to address many unconventional theories with perfectly validated studies. Highly recommended course.

BR

Sep 24, 2019

When I joined this course, I had an expectation to learn about CFD and I got as anticipated. Learn by example, this is what it is.

Filtern nach:

1 - 20 von 20 Bewertungen für Sports and Building Aerodynamics

von Bimlendra r

Sep 24, 2019

When I joined this course, I had an expectation to learn about CFD and I got as anticipated. Learn by example, this is what it is.

von Priyaanshu k J

Aug 23, 2019

One of the best course i have ever learned and the way of teaching is very good. i really liked it . Thankyou

von Filipe D

Apr 19, 2020

Interesting and relevant topics. Concepts well explained.

All videos have an introduction and a closing summary. For the students that do not need those, it is easy to forward to the main video content.

Week quizzes actually demand you to watch and know the topics that had been presented, so it is not just a "bureaucracy". That helps paying attention and learning the important contents of the videos.

It took more than a week to get the final assignment reviewed by the necessary number of peers. Count on that. It also appears that you will have to go to the forum to ask others for review.

On the "minus" side, the videos are already a few year hold (2014, 2015, I think). While they are still valid, it would be useful to have an extra week with some notes on the latest developments on the topics discussed. I do not think the existing week need any change.

von Sthavishtha B R

May 15, 2020

An excellent course, presented in a very detailed fashion : module question for every lecture, reading materials (journal articles) for every module, introduction of references midst lectures, peer-review assignments, past/ongoing/future research highlights, interviews with experts, view of the real-lab experiments etc. My only concern is that the instructor lists several quotes in certain module lectures, which keeps the listener bored. It would be advisable to include the essential quotes alone. Additionally, the course has not been currently upgraded to include two new modules - "Climate adaptation of buildings and cities" and "Air pollution", which has actually been mentioned in the course description.

von Asif M A

May 18, 2020

This course is an excellent resource to the beginners such as mine. Moreover the contents are well organized and very helpful to fill the blanks of knowledge in this area. However, if hands-on example for each special topics such as 100 meter sprint, building aerodynamics and cycling case are included it would have been the best resource to learn CFD simulation for the above mentioned cases.

von Rafael S A

May 13, 2020

Came to this course looking to enlarge my theoretical background, but found even more. How to apply air dynamics knowledge to different fields, some guidelines to perform feasible simulations and rare counter-intuitive effects to keep in mind, all explained in a perfect path by professor Bert Blocken, to whom I want to thank for this MOOC.

von André F M

Apr 21, 2020

This course has an excellent approach so that I can remember many concepts of aerodynamics that I had already studied and still delve into topics such as CWE and tests in wind tunnels. Easy-to-understand classes that I'm really enjoying for my aerodynamic learning process. In addition, he presents interesting quotes from the area.

von Efe O

May 04, 2020

It was a great opportunity to recall the principal laws of fluid physics and widen the focus on sports aerodynamics. Thanks to Coursera and Eindhoven Univesity of Technology for this MOOC. I hope Prof. Blocken will make a new detailed one on urban physics.

von Daniel C M

Jul 31, 2019

Great course!

You will find very useful aspects of fluid flow, you will learn a base to make wind tunnel tests and CFD simulations and find very interesting examples in the fields of Building Aerodynamics and Sports Aerodynamics.

von Murukesh M

May 18, 2020

Really intriguing and interesting course. The standard of the MOOC is exemplary. It tries to address many unconventional theories with perfectly validated studies. Highly recommended course.

von Pedro A

May 15, 2020

The course is mandatory for the ones interested in aerodynamics and how the details in high performance sports matter.

von ABHIMHANYU V

Jan 18, 2020

Amazing course with deep insight into the various tools employed in the research domain of aerodynamics

von Luca R

Feb 29, 2020

Exceptional material and explanations from the teacher. Very good resources where to learn from

von AKSHAY D B

Aug 15, 2019

A very nice course.

von JHOSDADO A L R C

May 15, 2020

Is a course great!

von VINEETHKRISHNA.U

May 21, 2020

Good

von DharshiniMurugan

May 17, 2020

Good

von Vishnu K G C

May 17, 2020

good

von PO-JUNG H

May 21, 2020

The course content is difficult and requires a lot of time to comprehend. It will be better if you already had some fundamental knowledge in this field. The peer assessment for me stands too heavy in the ratio (50%) and I would recommend to lower to 40% or 35%. Great course! Thank you very much.

von Dhanesh P

Apr 02, 2020

A good course for understanding basics of fluids aerodynamics CFD and its applications.