Chevron Left
Zurück zu Sports and Society

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Sports and Society von Duke University

4.8
Sterne
1,026 Bewertungen
275 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

Top-Bewertungen

MM
11. Nov. 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

RK
13. Jan. 2017

This course tells us about how social customs and traditions have contributed to the evolution of sports and how sports has vice versa reflected the changes in social order of any age.

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 274 Bewertungen für Sports and Society

von benmaamar h

22. Dez. 2018

thank you .

von Shirley K

16. Aug. 2020

fun course

von Doğan A

25. Mai 2020

Excellent

von Cosmas E C

6. Aug. 2021

AAwesome

von jose e c s

5. Okt. 2020

Tank you

von JOACI J C

6. Juli 2018

amazing!

von Camilo E

21. Juli 2017

excelent

von Djordje I

20. Jan. 2017

Perfect!

von Đăng K N Đ

4. Sep. 2021

amazing

von Mario A C

10. Feb. 2021

Awesome

von khaled M l a

30. Sep. 2020

Amazing

von tushar d s

15. Apr. 2020

Awesome

von Ben R

28. Feb. 2020

Top lad

von zhangzhe

21. Sep. 2018

perfect

von Taozheng Z

7. Juli 2021

GREAT

von P. L D

23. Mai 2020

Good

von Tommy W

15. Okt. 2019

good

von Rajesh M

2. Nov. 2017

best

von victor c

13. Mai 2019

c

von Deleted A

29. Sep. 2018

This online course is very interesting for people that enjoys playing and watching sports. To explain the impact of sports in society and the development of sports in general, ideas and studies of many social science experts are provided and translated to the sport reality. Many well-known sport facts and personalities are provided to support the arguments.

The lecturer (Orin Stark) presents the subjects and his personal opinion on an “easy-going” language. He is someone with who you could have a very pleasant pub conversation. His approach and “easy going” language make the course and its content interesting and easy to follow, also for people without any background in social sciences, like me.

I really enjoying this course!

von RaymondMistral

6. Sep. 2016

J'ai trouvé ce cours très intéressant. Il aborde de nombreux aspects du sport auxquels on ne pense pas toujours, mais qui sont très importants dans le monde contemporain. Le professeur Orin Starn est agréable à écouter et les illustrations permettent de bien visualiser de quoi il est question tout en maintenant les élèves attentifs au cours. Cependant, pour un non-anglophone, l'effort demandé en termes de lecture est parfois un peu trop important et il est difficile de terminer la lecture des articles avant la fin de la semaine.

von Razvan C

19. Apr. 2020

The course was very well structured and vividly presented with examples and very documented historical facts. The only problem I faced was the availability of resources. Some of the mandatory readings were missing and links provided errors. Nevertheless, very interesting topic and I am happy that I joined it.

von SANTOSH K

17. Juni 2020

It has been a great experience to complete the course. The lectures are short and effective with one to one concept explanation with examples. The course instructor has been energetic and enthusiastic in every video with all his tropes to drive the points. Great learning experience. Thank you.

von Martijn L

28. Apr. 2020

Interesting course, there's much more to the subject than I imagined before I took the course.

The lecture video's were good and the readings were complementary to it. I enjoyed the readings very much.

Martijn

von Kendell H

28. Okt. 2020

I enjoyed the course very much. It would be interesting to have an updated course since this one was completed to discuss and reflect on the increase in activism by athletes, especially in 2020