Chevron Left
Zurück zu Sports and Society

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Sports and Society von Duke University

4.8
Sterne
1,026 Bewertungen
275 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

Top-Bewertungen

MM
11. Nov. 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

RK
13. Jan. 2017

This course tells us about how social customs and traditions have contributed to the evolution of sports and how sports has vice versa reflected the changes in social order of any age.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 275 Bewertungen für Sports and Society

von Uriel R

14. Nov. 2016

Great class, easy to follow, and very informative. One of my favorite, if not my favorite, course I have taken in Coursera.

von RuiYang Y

27. Juli 2021

Amazing experience, I learned a lot in this class and it will be beneficial for my future academic learning and career :)

von Colm H

25. Juni 2021

An excellent informative, engaging and inspiring course. It is the best online course I have ever done. Colm Hickey PhD

von Maria A S

4. Juli 2020

very interesting and informative course. The instructor did an exceptional job. Kept the entire narration so interesting.

von Timur A

22. Mai 2020

The best sports related course I ever had at Coursera! Fresh approach and a lot of insights! Thanks a lot, Mr. Starn!

von David V D

18. Sep. 2016

Got to learn a lot about sports and how it can have a complete different perceptive than only watching or playing it.

von Davis J

27. Jan. 2016

This is by far the best course I have taken from Coursera. Orin is very knowledgeable and passionate in his lectures.

von Sovan M

20. Jan. 2022

Excellent course. It explains the deeper meaning of sports and human relationships. The joy of play is the divinity.

von Matthew D

1. Juli 2020

Very interesting combination of history of sport, psychology of sport, and society in general. Highly recommended.

von Arun J

13. Juni 2020

I really enjoyed this course which helps to know about the modernisation and history of sports Thank you team DUKE.

von Muhammad A J

9. Feb. 2019

Excellent topic and well presented for those looking for an understanding between sports and society as a whole.

von Parker W

19. Apr. 2020

Enjoyable overview of sports and society. It raised a number of angles and thoughts I had never thought of.

von Chiara C

3. Nov. 2020

Muy interesante aprendizaje sobre el mundo del deporte a través de los años y sus cambios en la sociedad.

von Chew W Y

2. Juni 2016

Great course, passionate instructor, lively examples. I highly recommend this course for all sports fans!

von Katrina E

26. Nov. 2021

Very enjoyable, Orin is energetic and knowlaedgable, providing interesting topics in an informative way.

von Assile T

27. Nov. 2020

One of the most exciting overall fulfilling courses I've ever taken.

Thanks Professor for your hard work!

von Martin S

8. Aug. 2016

Great course that look at sports from an anthropological view and exposes many ideas that even the hard

von Yimiao D

17. Sep. 2021

I totally love the atmosphere in the class, how the professor are lecturing and explaing everything.

von José E R A

24. März 2020

Excelente, curso recomendado para cualquier persona que quiera dedicarse a las ciencias del deporte.

von Santiago M Q

16. Juli 2020

Great course that provides comparison between the sports world and the events of the real world.

von Jesus J V C

17. Juli 2020

EXCELENTE EXPERIENCIA, GRAN CONOCIMIENTO DEL DOCTOR, MUCHO QUE APRENDER Y REFLEXIONAR.

GRACIAS.

von Rodrigo V G

10. Jan. 2018

Excelente! Logras recordar o aprender momentos históricos que marcan pautas para los deportes.

von Genaro G J

8. Juni 2021

Excelente, un gran balance entre lecturas que permiten profundizar y los vídeos del profesor.

von Diego D P

30. Aug. 2020

Great course to understand sports and their effect and connections with society and politics

von LILIANA F R A

28. Feb. 2021

Excelente curso, diferentes perspectivas y contextos que influyen el deporte y sus actores.