Chevron Left
Zurück zu SQL for Data Science

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für SQL for Data Science von University of California, Davis

4.6
Sterne
4,558 Bewertungen
1,209 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top-Bewertungen

JP

Apr 06, 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

AB

May 24, 2020

The instructor was awesome, whatever she taught was enough to do the assignment. I fell in love with her way of teaching, and now I will also do UC Davis specialization. Assignments were good.

Filtern nach:

876 - 900 von 1,205 Bewertungen für SQL for Data Science

von Callum L

Feb 04, 2018

A good introduction to SQL. The first few weeks were very informative and easy to follow, however week 3 and week 4 seemed disjointed. Some topics were covered very briefly, so I feel like my understanding Is not quite complete.

von Christian A R N

Jul 28, 2018

very nice course and good explanation

would have been nice if a summary document would have been provided at the end of each module to be able to look up content more easy and have a guide when writing applications later in time

von Katherine R

Nov 14, 2019

I think the peer-reviewed assignment should be only on the last portion of the last project for the custom data analysis part only. Because the other questions are very technical and can accelerate the process of grading :)

von Guillermo E F

Feb 07, 2018

I enjoyed the course and learnt quite a lot in a relatively short time. My only critic is that I felt there was a gap between the depth with which each topic was cover in the lectures and the complexity of the final exam.

von Shahryar S

Feb 11, 2020

It was a great experience to have a course. It was my first ever course as Online. I am thinking that the journey has started and it will never end. I also have selected the next course that I will complete in the next.

von ANUBHAV C

May 08, 2020

I believe this course focused entirely on retrieving data and no emphasis was given on creating or modifying tables. If these topics would have been included then it can come out as a complete package for learning SQL

von Naman K

Mar 26, 2019

This is a great course for beginners. One of the things which can be improved is to have more practice questions to use all the concepts introduced in the lectures. For example: I did not get a lot of chance to create

von FUAD A J

Nov 19, 2019

I have prior knowledge on SQL as a programmer. However after studying this course I got a another flavor of SQL from the Data Science point of view. I loved this course and the trainer as well. Thank you coursera.

von Sim Y X S

Jun 17, 2019

Some examples in the later part of the course is a bit difficult to understand for those with limited programming background. Few broken down, step by step examples of complex queries will be highly appreciated.

von Jiawei L

Sep 24, 2019

The first two modules are okay and easy to understand, but the last two modules are little bit confusing, and from my perspective, the instructor is simply reading the script rather than teaching a lesson.

von Naomi N

Jun 14, 2019

The course content itself was awesome! Be ready for some technical glitches though. As long as you pay close attention to the forum, you should be fine. Overall, I would definitely recommend this course.

von Aaron H

Mar 12, 2019

Although several concepts are not explained very clearly and a number of assessment questions are unclearly worded, this course is otherwise an excellent introduction to understanding and applying SQL.

von Samuel M

Mar 16, 2020

Good course for beginners.

- classes are fine

- quizzes evaluate quite well your understanding I think

- the final assessment contains plenty of VERY ambiguous questions and I think it should be reworked

von Lenard E O

Sep 12, 2018

Did not need to be a peer review assessment, most of the tests lacked creativity and could be automated. The peer review component should just apply to the creative components that can be expanded.

von Leonor G

Apr 10, 2018

Great course for beginners, very clear and instructor share useful tips. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is because I think there could be more material related to date and time functions.

von Bruno G

Nov 11, 2019

Videos are a bit lengthy course could be shorter by 10-20% from a time perspective with the content staying the same. Overall good course for anyone that need to learn or to refresh their skills.

von Edmund D

Jun 26, 2019

Nice that it doesn't expect us to know SQL and programming well. But not nearly enough exercises to understand how to do the queries well. I am feeling lost on the practice tests especially.

von Aditya S

May 14, 2020

A well-structured course for those who are eager to gain knowledge about SQL.

The activity, test, and the mentor are very good and the best part is they showcase a bit of industry knowledge.

von Ana G G

May 14, 2020

Great course, with well explained notion, well documented. The only thing I could add is that some exercises could be updated. Creates confusion when trying to solve.

Great presentation.

von Raymond M

Jun 02, 2018

great beginner class and also teaches critical logic thinking, which is what most business want out of Analysis type of jobs or Data Science in general, something useful and actionable.

von Patrick H

May 20, 2020

There were a handful of errors in the video lecture's text on screen and lecturing. Some parts were hard to follow because of that. Otherwise the assignments and material was helpful!

von Ishwari L

Mar 26, 2018

Great course work! Loved the pace of the course and the examples. The instructors speech was pleasing and easy to understand. Would have loved more difficult SQL queries for practice.

von amr a a e

Oct 26, 2018

Thank you to everyone who is in charge of this course. But the training platform is not good and does not support all orders sql and there must be training after each lesson. Thanks

von Juan M F B

Jun 21, 2019

Very good explanations during the course, but we were working with data that weren't making sense, like texts data types.

A lot of records without real foreign key in their tables.

von Kirstin L

May 27, 2020

Actual course was interesting and engaging. The final assignment had questions that were not written with enough detail. I was also offended by language used by a reviewer.