Chevron Left
Zurück zu SQL for Data Science

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für SQL for Data Science von University of California, Davis

4.6
Sterne
7,900 Bewertungen
2,051 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top-Bewertungen

JP
5. Apr. 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

AL
21. Aug. 2020

A comprehensive course that covers major aspects of query building and retrieval in a management system. The topics were delivered well and the materials/assignments were relevant for skill-building.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 2,044 Bewertungen für SQL for Data Science

von Mark P

3. Jan. 2018

I'm fairly proficient in R and wanted to add a database language to my data science repertoire. Most data science jobs ask for SQL so I thought this was the perfect starting point for learning. I found learning the language fairly straightforward, especially because many SQL-type commands are built into R packages (like dplyr). My job has a comprehensive relational database but, I usually use a point and click interface to make queries- now that I'm more proficient I'll start using SQL though. Additionally, I was hoping to pick up SQL before starting my grad program in analytics so I can "hit the ground running" and be ready for classes focused on database management and data engineering. I was able to accomplish this without any question.

I really liked the course, which is not surprising given all of Coursera's data science content is excellent. The final assignment was very thorough and helped put together lots of focused questions you might encounter using SQL as a data scientist. It really helped solidify my learning. For about $60, this was a no brainer for getting started in the language.

von vijay k d

4. Jan. 2020

DO Slowly, Build up. This is a wonderful course and you will not know when you have learnt so many things. The instructor is wonderful she explains things nicely. The people who have designed the course must be working professionals because Of their depth of understanding of the subject and knowledge.

The most interesting thing about the course is you will learn a few things in a module then try your hands on. you don't even need a laptop to code because they have integrated everything on the Coursera's platform. I have watched most of the videos on my smart phone and submitted a few assignments too.

and the last part of the journey through this course for me is realization. You solve the questions given in the peer graded assignment specially part 2 and for a person who Has been listening the terms like PREDICTION, SENTIMENT ANALYSIS kind of stuff , Learning a few lines of codes in SQL from this course has actually let me do them.

Wonderful course Amazing team

Thanks Coursera

Thanks Sadie St Lawrence

von Katharina F

24. Okt. 2019

It was really helpful. As a beginner I really appreciated that it started right at the beginning. The videos were all easy to understand and well structured. I would recommend paying for this course to get the whole package because it really helped me to do the quizzes as well to practice. I found it helpful that it always consisted of a theoretical and a practical part.

The only negative thing was the very last assignment. It took me way longer than it said it would and I had problems understanding a few things around it. Looking through the comment section it seemed like I wasn't the only one. I think it would've been helpful to have another video or text before this to prepare better for this last assignment.

von Vakhilchuk O V

2. Aug. 2020

I took this course with basic knowledge of SQL, that is, I had experience in programming in the MySQL language. This course helped me understand more about databases and learn more about the structured query language operators used. I created a table with data for competently building queries, and therefore the code that was given in the lectures had to be adapted to my table. But you can download the Chinook Database in the public domain, as many examples are written for this data. The training is conducted in the SQLite language, but also tells about the features of other languages.

Have a nice course to everyone who wants to study it!

von Harshvardhan K

25. Okt. 2020

This is just one of those courses, everything about it screams professional. The slides are concise, and mostly provide all the content of the lecture itself, the instructor is great too. However the real gems of this course are the Exercises/Coding Assignments. Every question is varied, and at the end of the course, you will yourself learn a few neat tricks on Joining Tables, Grouping multiple data, and Complex Subqueries.

I would suggest to include a few more examples, for things like Self-Joins, Grouping, and Operations. Keep in mind, this is more of a beginner course, but it covers enough topics to dive into Analyses of your own!

von Maria C F

7. Nov. 2020

This is such an excellent beginner SQL course.If you are seeking hard challenge however, prepare to be disappointed. The course just teach queries in SQLite but does not go in depth regarding data types nor table creation. This is because this course only teaches the fundamental skills of data scientist - to query and analyze data, not create database.The quiz and assignments are actually very easy, but if you make it complicated then you will go down the rabbit hole. The course is supposed to be fun and motivates you to learn SQL.I highly recommend if you know nothing about SQL or Data Science! It's a really good intro course!

von Jacquewyn F C

26. Apr. 2020

It was a lot of learning - not as simplified as I initially anticipated. I learned so much, and the practice quizzes as well as graded ones provided a platform for efficient amount of practice. It leads you through a course while reshaping your mindset on technology and data, if you are a beginner, and very new at this.

As an ethnographic researcher from the tangible fields, shifting the qualitative thinking capacity trained from anthropology and ethnography enabled me to perceive, correctly, the difference of ethnography from the technology concepts, and adapt to a new mindset in behavioral data analysis.

von Wei O

12. Sep. 2020

Anyone with a passion in SQL can learn and comprehend this course. To excel in this course, the more you help to look at your peer's problems and resolve theirs, the more you learn on how to overcome yours faster. I think many students are a little lost when the ER diagram is not displayed in the intro for each of the video using it to teach. Overall, Professor Lawrence is awesome in her clear and easy to follow teaching. You will be challenged to think and resolve real-world project, be diligent in your own work and you'll feel your mind is growing!

von Anuj S C

26. Apr. 2020

Very engaging and active course. I liked how there were knowledge-based quizzes and quizzes that we had to utilize coding to complete as well. The peer-reviewed project at the end took considerably longer than I anticipated and was more difficult than I anticipated, however, I think this exercise was important for real-world learning to occur. Having this project peer-reviewed (and reviewing others) was instrumental in learning as well. The diverse set of learning and grading in this course has been excellent.

von Charae B

24. Apr. 2020

This course was really great. I enjoyed it and the lectures were detailed and right to the point. The example code in the lectures was extremely helpful, but the assignments still left room for critical thinking and creativity when writing code. If you are looking to learn SQL for the first time, and you already have some programming background, this will be a quick course for you. If you haven't programmed before, you may find this a little more challenging, especially the Peer Review Assignment.

von Nina L A

27. Dez. 2019

I took this course without having any background in programming; I had never written a single line of code. This course is fantastic for beginners like me who saw the power of SQL and the potential of SQL to solve current business needs. Completing this course has empowered me to take more computer science classes; I now KNOW that learning a programming language is not impossible, and when one understands the principles and power of SQL, an entire new window of caree

von Zenia B

26. Juli 2018

I really enjoyed this class! The instructor broke everything down in a way that made it easy understand and fun to learn. I also thought the exercises were also very helpful in making the material easy to learn the material we had just reviewed. I looked forward to completing my course every week! Thank you for making this class so enjoyable! If this instructor is teaching another course that's relevant to Data Science, I'll absolutely be taking that course!

von Reuben Y J J

4. Okt. 2018

Simple and straightforward introduction to SQL for business-oriented/frontend-facing end users (data analysts, data scientists). Very good as a refresher for those, like myself, who have been exposed to SQL in the past but did not have much opportunity to use it. Instructor covers the course material without overloading with technical jargon, and mentions best practices, which some courses lack (material addresses the 'how', not necessarily the 'why').

von Elizaveta P

15. Nov. 2018

I'm so satisfied with this course! Good structure, a lot of practical tasks and examples. In parallel, I solve hackerrank tasks and this course gave me everything to pass it easy.

Really appreciate final peer-review assingment, it looks close to real-life analytics and was a little bit challenging for me. But I had so much pleasure done it)

So strange pronunciation of SQL)) But I thank you a lot for this course and sharing your knowledge.

von ARNOGIANNAKIS A

27. Sep. 2020

Great introductory course. My only complaint is that the lecture has a level of difficulty 1 out of 5 and the practise quizzes are 4-5, so upon reaching the quizzes of the week, personally I would get discouraged but after some grinding, I would solve them and feel confident about my understanding on SQL. But, I wish there would be some bridging between the lectures and quizzes and some tutorial for sqlite environment.

von Joshua

3. Juli 2020

Being a beginner it was worthwhile to learn things and this course I think was designed in a way that can be understand my even a laymen. If you can spend a little more time learning concepts and practicing only then will you be able to have a clear understanding which helps build a lot of confidence.

This is my experience and if it happened to me I'm sure you will also experience the same.

All the best! God Speed Guys!

von SATHISH S

9. Okt. 2020

fantastic course, perfect for beginners, gained a lot of confidence to go into SQL and DATA SCIENCE. though sometime feeling lost during weekly assignments and final assignment (which is just awesome), the tip is stick to lectures and solving quiz in the way she told - think about your problem, build slowly, check results intermittently while writing your complete query... they all help you. thank you instructor.

von Chelsea H

24. Mai 2020

This was my favorite Coursera course so far. The instruction was slow and light enough to understand. The instructor did not present the material as overcomplicated, even if it was complicated. I really liked the additional links, and the intermittent quizzes.The modules and quizzes were instrumental in my learning because they gave me hands on practice. I look forward to continuing my learning. Thank you so much!

von PhoebeNgg

19. Nov. 2019

This course is perfect for my level as a beginner. However, the real study time is more than 20hrs as it was supposed to be. To learn deeply and actually understand the content, there should be some effort to self-learn and practice the concept. It is useless if just watch the video and click multiple choices, you must go around on the Internet, read more materials, create your own example and practice the code.

von Meiling C

31. März 2018

Clearly-explained, organised lecture flow and materials, easy to follow, not burdened with great details for beginners while emphases are made on crucial aspects of database management with SQL. The course fuels motivations for learning outside of the class. For a no confusion foundation on SQL, this is a great course as it really builds in me the confidence to claim a new skill and to take on my own project!!

von Olivia R

26. Okt. 2020

This course covers a lot of material, but I think it is set up well. The videos are very informative and really do help with the assignments. The only thing I would change is maybe having small practice coding questions after each video so students can test their knowledge right away and see if there is anything they need to review before moving on. I learned a lot and I'm excited to test out my new skills!

von Hardik

31. Juli 2020

Really enjoyed. Didn;t need to install anything, the practice questions were good. The best part was the peer graded assignment, i would have loved another peer graded assignment. But It was brilliantly taught by Sadie, also loved the fact that she gave many times her experience in real world project, that she use this a lot working on real time, this gave us a feel to the use of SQL in real world projects.

von Eslam M

14. Apr. 2020

thank you very very much for your excellent work with us and the many information data you given it to us , i learned so much in this course i understand why we use SQL and How use it and how it can help us to work with our data and how i can retrieve or filtering data , manipulating data , using mathematics operators , aggregation function , case statement and many ad many

thank you very much :) 3>

von Sudheer N R

27. Jan. 2018

I accessed this course just to evaluate this as a potential course for my colleagues who have working knowledge of SQL (running stored procedures but not writing own queries). This course is good for anyone who does not even know what SQL is. I like the instructor too, her pace is adequate and ability to transfer knowledge is high. Definitely recommend this course to anyone who works on "data"

von Imantha G A

15. Dez. 2019

The course was well structured and covered all the basics needed to know with SQL. The instructor was clear and taught in an understandable manner. Ability to run SQL queries on the same environment of quizzes and assignments should be highlighted. The only negative point is with peer graded assignment as some questions are not very clear and even the answer given for grading is not specific.