Chevron Left
Zurück zu SQL for Data Science

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für SQL for Data Science von University of California, Davis

4.6
Sterne
6,971 Bewertungen
1,812 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top-Bewertungen

JP

Apr 06, 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

MP

Jul 18, 2020

best course for learning SQL for beginners.I learned so much from this course.the speaking language is also simple ..So i Recommended this course for beginners who's 2nd or third language is English.

Filtern nach:

1226 - 1250 von 1,800 Bewertungen für SQL for Data Science

von rahul k

Jun 15, 2020

good

von ADE J

Jun 04, 2020

Good

von uddesh c

May 24, 2020

good

von Gurleen K

Jan 20, 2020

nice

von Wei T Y

Sep 27, 2019

good

von Tairun M

Feb 28, 2019

精辟易学

von ABDUL A

Sep 04, 2018

good

von OUMAR B

May 26, 2020

top

von Ángel G

Sep 07, 2020

GJ

von vishal c k

Aug 31, 2020

..

von M S

Aug 03, 2020

nj

von Ayman M

Aug 24, 2020

a

von Dwi F A

Aug 23, 2020

-

von James P

May 08, 2020

I

von Omkar G

Mar 11, 2020

.

von Magne V

Jul 12, 2019

E

von Ganesh L

Dec 05, 2018

E

von Annamaria N R L S

Apr 23, 2020

Excellent course. Professor very knowledgeable and professional. A few minor observations -- the presenter could have broken down some of the larger topics (i.e. joins into separate modules and prepared more practice assignments, especially writing queries so the students could get more comfortable with the task. Also, the alerts when a students does not write a query correctly could be a bit more explicit (i.e. which"(" they are referring to). Furthermore, one of the questions in "Graded Assignment"in the Week 4 Module where the first question did not recognize one of my answers as correct, even though it was. Next, some of the questions in both the graded and final assignments were not clearly worded so it was a bit difficult to understand what they were asking. Finally, if I wanted to repeat or pause a portion of the video, it would often jump back on to the very beginning.

On the whole, however, this course was very informative, interesting, and enjoyable. A must for anyone interested in improving their skills in both data/database management and computer skills in general.

von Danny N

Jul 28, 2018

This course was my first exposure to SQL. Much of the topics covered were easy to follow. I would have liked to delve deeper into some of the course topics. Some of the lectures were a little vague with only the static PowerPoint background. It would be helpful if the lecture was overlaid with motion pictures to help demonstrate how some of the code works in practice. The option to practice SQL on a computer using SQL Server or SQLite for applicable practice would also have been appreciated. Typing SQL code into the website isn't the same as using the actual programs one would use for work. Also, upon course completion, the Coursera website indicates this is 1 of 3 courses. However, it is unclear what course 2 and 3 are. I would like to learn more as I am hoping to utilize my economics and mathematics background in the work force as a data analyst. Overall, I enjoyed this course and recommend it to other folks if a traditional college course is not a viable option. If the option is available, I strongly suggest enrolling in an accredited, recognized university program.

von Gabriel W

Jul 12, 2020

Overall this course provided a great curriculum to begin learning SQL basics as well as thinking about data in a scientific way. My only real feedback would be that I frequently had to look elsewhere on the internet for examples to understand the syntax and rules of each operator or function that was introduced. The core video lessons sometimes provide only one or sometimes zero examples of how to use the operator or function being discussed. More specific examples would be helpful. I am a native English speaker and still had occasional difficulty understanding what the instructor was trying to communicate during some of the video lessons. Many of the sessions could have been edited for clarity, especially when many students of the course are non-native speakers. Overall I learned a great deal and understand the basics of SQL such that I feel confident moving onto the next course and expanding my skillset. Thank you!

von Adrian R

Sep 04, 2019

I must say the final could use some improvements some things I wasn't really prepared well for was searching for any nulls that took a huge query and the last question on the final project was kind of vague. I took this course to learn by doing, wish there was some extra help when I ask sometimes nobody responded, so it was supposed to be a three week course, but took me 4 months. I gained alot of weight during taking this course, when studying this it takes me hours on hours sometimes I can't schedule other things in the day in fear of overlapping and forgetting. The instructor was good I had to research more on my own on the different times to use subqueries vs joins. Overall it is good experience I feel this is not like riding a bike and to remember it you have to keep doing it consistently. The readings on Data science are really really long as well the readings actually take a huge amount of time.

von Karolina F

Jul 05, 2020

Good introductory course for SQL beginners. Adequate content with plenty of reading to expand interest and find further references. Also an adequate pace that allows to combine learning with busy life. It allows to quickly build understanding of the concepts and their basic application to solve basic business questions as well as confidence. Sanbox practice w/o need to buy into any program is very usefull. The course delivers what it says it will deliver. Looking at others' reviews, expectation far exceeds what this course is designed to deliver in the given timeframe.

The polling questions are excellent during the lecture videos, as they keep the participant engaged and check understanding of subject. Only suggestiion for further improvement would be to split the video tutorials with some sandbox practice, instead leaving it out to the end of the section for a practice quizzes.

von Nush

Aug 10, 2019

Hi! I'm still on WEEK 3 of the course and I'm yet to finish the course. The course content for Week 1 and Week 2 was amazing! The explanation, enthusiasm of the instructor in teaching, the examples and the description as well as clear cut definition of each term made it so easy to learn the concepts. Thank you for putting up such a great course material.

That being said, in Week 3, the concepts get tougher so the explanation should be more detailed and there should be more number of examples. However, that's not to be seen in the videos. There are hardly any examples.

The tables and what output we get after submitting the query is not shown. Without looking at the table contents and the kind of output each type of join query gives, it's very difficult to understand the concept. :/ I hope Coursera will do something about this. Thank you. :)

von subbiah v

Jul 11, 2019

Really tough assignments. Tests your knowledge of you have learned. A good notes is necessary to attempt the final peer review assignment. Good links to outside sites for reference reading and clarity. Overall enjoyed the course. Learned a lot and understood how important data is in our life and how vital a knowledge to work with it is in today's world.

Small Advice: After each concept videos please make learners attempt questions on the solitary concept alone instead of brain storming the whole weeks total concepts in one coding assignment. It helps the learners to grasp the concept more and to remember it with enthusiasm.

Wonderful course with lot of tricky assignments. Have fun guys. I heard a specialzation is on its way for this. So its worth taking it and following a path.

von Alex R

Mar 11, 2019

It's a good intro course to SQL for data science. The videos are helpful but the lack of practice questions or active presentations (showing the presenter using SQL and not just showing code on the screen) made it difficult for me to engage with the course. I had to go find additional practice question resources outside of the course and frequently used outside sources to help understand what I was doing. SQLite is also terrible and frequently times out because your query took more than 3 seconds. This was very frustrating as it leaves you unsure if your code is causing problems, the website/server was busy or SQLite just didnt process in time. I'd like a more robust SQL option similar to the way Hackerrank works.