Chevron Left
Zurück zu SQL for Data Science

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für SQL for Data Science von University of California, Davis

4.6
2,888 Bewertungen
709 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top-Bewertungen

AM

Jul 17, 2019

This course is designed with beginners in mind, and it is an excellent introduction to SQL. I intend to further my knowledge of SQL after taking this course. The instructor did a terrific job.

AM

Jun 08, 2019

Great introductory to the SQL programming. This will definitely not only add another programming skill but also give me more capabilities programming in SAS. I would recommend this to anyone.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 706 Bewertungen für SQL for Data Science

von shubham

Jan 24, 2019

i want my money back

von Ashley A M

Jun 08, 2019

Great introductory to the SQL programming. This will definitely not only add another programming skill but also give me more capabilities programming in SAS. I would recommend this to anyone.

von Avinash M

Jul 17, 2019

This course is designed with beginners in mind, and it is an excellent introduction to SQL. I intend to further my knowledge of SQL after taking this course. The instructor did a terrific job.

von Chloe W

Oct 31, 2018

=) Very clear walkthrough of important concepts in SQL and why use certain functions for certain tasks.

=( Wish there were more practice questions so it's more interative.

=( Also it would be great if there are more "real-life" SQL practices that involve solving for an actual question that you might encounter as a data scientist working for a tech company.

Thanks so much for sharing this with us, Sadie!

von Sergii S

Jan 12, 2019

The Content of the course is good, quizzes are fine, but the final project is a total mess up, inconsistent and don't contain the course potential, so you won't be able to apply the knowledge by doing it

von Nikhil K s

Jan 30, 2019

Great course with great learning and an opportunity to apply that learning

von Omer G

Jul 02, 2018

While I did learn some useful bits, I found the course lacking. I think it could have been much improved if certain conditions would have been met:A. More practice! You don't learn a computer language by hearing about it, you learn by using it. The only practice this course had were the quizzes, and they were far from sufficient. I would expect each lesson to be followed by at least some practice. I often found myself venturing to different websites in order to practice what I had learned, and learned more from that than I did from the actual course.B. Better explanations. I found the explanations short and sometimes lacking. Moreover, at times there was no synchronization between what the instructor was saying and what was presented on screen (e.g. she was talking about products when the example presented data of employess). It's a small thing but can be very confusing. It is very important to be precise here. Again, I found myself reading elsewhere in order to better understand certain concepts, which I might as well have learned elsewhere altogether.C. Examples! Again, you don't learn a computer language by hearing about it. You learn by using it or by seeing how it is used. Whenever I'm taught something, I want to be shown examples of possible ways to use it. Examples were scarce and incomprehensive.D. Applicability. The course is called "SQL for Data Science", yet I found very little in the way of applying SQL to data science. I would expect a lot more tips and tricks and examples of real-life problems and how an actual data scientist would tackle them. There was almost none of that. There were positives as well. The instructor was pleasant, the course was pretty well structured and did provide an introduction (although not much more) to SQL. But I did not get what I was hoping for.

von Peilin G

Feb 02, 2019

As a beginner, the course is easy to understand and follow, and the course teaches a lot of useful commands. However, I think the course still has a lot to imrove. Some codings in the lectures have problems (e.g. lack ','). When introducing new commands, the teacher did not show the running results of the coding example. I also think the course lacks some application in the real world. Maybe providing more real business cases will help students understand better about when some commands will be applied.

von Godswill C A

Jan 14, 2019

Great course!

von MOSES A E

Jan 30, 2019

Interesting content delivery carried out in logical sequence.

von Elena L

Jan 30, 2019

Perfect course! But recommend the last main exercise do more readable and understandable. It is difficult to read in a text file, single-color task and it is not always clear what needs to be done.

von Xin W

Jan 30, 2019

very hel

von Mark W

Jan 21, 2019

Excellent way to continue to develop SQL and Data Analyst skills

von David C

Jan 19, 2019

Excellent course structure. Thorough lectures and examples. Working with a real database from Yelp was very useful and made the course work enjoyable.

von Claude N

Jan 19, 2019

very good

von Dita A

Feb 02, 2019

I took this course due to a new project at work which involves checking the input data by querying it using SQL scripts. This course has really eased my job. It covers the basic stuff pretty thoroughly. I recommend this course to anyone who's just starting out (or aspiring) to be a Data Scientist.

von Hem A

Feb 03, 2019

Great Information/Presentation.

von Ruochen W

Jan 21, 2019

It wii be better if the website can provide some description for each variable in the ER diagram

von Shaolun Z

Jan 22, 2019

Straightforward and easy to understand. Great course

von Daniel M

Dec 29, 2018

An excelent course. Complete and understandable

von Kai C

Jan 03, 2019

This was a really good course! It was comprehensive and thorough. Truly truly great course!

von Manuel A L C

Jan 02, 2019

pretty useful for a beginner insight on data science

von Mohammed A F

Jan 06, 2019

Though this course is on the foundation of SQL, I am completely taken away by the the teacher teaches SQL. I will strongly recommend anyone who wants to learn SQL. Thank you.

von Fábio P

Jan 07, 2019

This course is a great option for both beginners in SQL and people with some experience that want to improve the knowledge of SQL focused in Data Science.

von Saurabh P

Jan 07, 2019

An amazing course! Covers so many topics in these lectures yet it feels like it was just done so easily and the way of teaching is just amazing.