Chevron Left
Zurück zu SQL for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for SQL for Data Science by University of California, Davis

4.6
2,147 Bewertungen
550 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top-Bewertungen

AM

Jul 17, 2019

This course is designed with beginners in mind, and it is an excellent introduction to SQL. I intend to further my knowledge of SQL after taking this course. The instructor did a terrific job.

AM

Jun 08, 2019

Great introductory to the SQL programming. This will definitely not only add another programming skill but also give me more capabilities programming in SAS. I would recommend this to anyone.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 of 546 Reviews for SQL for Data Science

von Yifan Z

Dec 07, 2018

She's a horrible teacher as of explaining code. For the most time, she only shows the input and never mentions the output. And if you google it, most of the codes are from templates online that are not very illustrative. Also, many of the questions in quiz are irrelevant to what she taught, or the things she spent a lot of time on never appeared in the quiz. Terrible experience with this instructor.

von Chris S

Jan 30, 2018

There is virtually no assistance from staff regarding the numerous clarifications necessary to even understand the last assignment (peer-review), and I'm pretty sure we didn't go over correlation and/or regression in the course, let alone hypothesis testing.

I'm pretty sure I won't be able to finish the course at all considering the plethora of uncorrected problems plaguing the course. I recommend that this class be evaluated for quality assurance.

I am not the only student experiencing problems with this assignment. The forums for week 4 are teeming with unanswered questions regarding the assignment and its unclarity.

I recommend contacting UCD and telling them that they really need to solve the problems with the class.

Best,

-CS

von Shuchi T

Dec 03, 2018

Great course for beginners!

von Jose R

Dec 04, 2018

Very well expalined, intended mainly for anyone which does not have any prior understanding for either SQL language or data analysis.

von Ganesh L

Dec 05, 2018

E

von Kuruwage S S

Dec 20, 2018

Great course content and clear to understand. Thank you ..

von Francesco L S

Nov 23, 2018

very nice introduction to SQL, in very few steps got me from my 0-knowledge to being able to understand DBs and run complex queries!

von Tabish F

Dec 11, 2018

Would be better if you could support MySQL,

PostgreSQL

von Mohamed A A

Dec 12, 2018

Great course. Thank you very much !!

von Sergio G C

Dec 13, 2018

Loved this course. Easy to follow videos, they go straight to the point and you can practice queries right away from the first lesson. Gradually increases in difficulty and you end up doing a very interesting and helpfull assingment. I fell I earned all the basics in SQL.

von Márcio A B d L

Dec 13, 2018

Excelente!

von Alexander H

Dec 26, 2018

Sadie is very well-spoken and keeps the material interesting.

von Manuel A L C

Jan 02, 2019

pretty useful for a beginner insight on data science

von Shenkuan Z

Jan 27, 2019

Very helpful lectures. It is introduced in a step-by-step way and easy to follow.

von Alastair M

Jan 26, 2019

Great course offering could practical experience and good theory.

von Kai C

Jan 03, 2019

This was a really good course! It was comprehensive and thorough. Truly truly great course!

von Sachin T

Jan 30, 2019

This course is structured very well. Used concepts widely used in Data Science/Engineers work.

Few concepts required more details.

von MOSES A E

Jan 30, 2019

Interesting content delivery carried out in logical sequence.

von Elena L

Jan 30, 2019

Perfect course! But recommend the last main exercise do more readable and understandable. It is difficult to read in a text file, single-color task and it is not always clear what needs to be done.

von Xin W

Jan 30, 2019

very hel

von Dita A

Feb 02, 2019

I took this course due to a new project at work which involves checking the input data by querying it using SQL scripts. This course has really eased my job. It covers the basic stuff pretty thoroughly. I recommend this course to anyone who's just starting out (or aspiring) to be a Data Scientist.

von Hem A

Feb 03, 2019

Great Information/Presentation.

von Robert V

Feb 06, 2019

Great introductory course!

von Elina M

Nov 23, 2018

The Course was really good and specially the Assignments getting tougher gradually and making us dive into the database for a deeper understanding.. I appreciate that.

von 王安凤

Nov 08, 2018

perfect