Chevron Left
Zurück zu SQL for Data Science

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für SQL for Data Science von University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
3,088 Bewertungen
766 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top-Bewertungen

AM

Jul 17, 2019

This course is designed with beginners in mind, and it is an excellent introduction to SQL. I intend to further my knowledge of SQL after taking this course. The instructor did a terrific job.

AM

Jun 08, 2019

Great introductory to the SQL programming. This will definitely not only add another programming skill but also give me more capabilities programming in SAS. I would recommend this to anyone.

Filtern nach:

501 - 525 von 763 Bewertungen für SQL for Data Science

von Wei T Y

Sep 27, 2019

good

von Tairun M

Feb 28, 2019

精辟易学

von ABDUL A

Sep 04, 2018

good

von Magne V

Jul 12, 2019

E

von Ganesh L

Dec 05, 2018

E

von Danny N

Jul 28, 2018

This course was my first exposure to SQL. Much of the topics covered were easy to follow. I would have liked to delve deeper into some of the course topics. Some of the lectures were a little vague with only the static PowerPoint background. It would be helpful if the lecture was overlaid with motion pictures to help demonstrate how some of the code works in practice. The option to practice SQL on a computer using SQL Server or SQLite for applicable practice would also have been appreciated. Typing SQL code into the website isn't the same as using the actual programs one would use for work. Also, upon course completion, the Coursera website indicates this is 1 of 3 courses. However, it is unclear what course 2 and 3 are. I would like to learn more as I am hoping to utilize my economics and mathematics background in the work force as a data analyst. Overall, I enjoyed this course and recommend it to other folks if a traditional college course is not a viable option. If the option is available, I strongly suggest enrolling in an accredited, recognized university program.

von Adrian R

Sep 04, 2019

I must say the final could use some improvements some things I wasn't really prepared well for was searching for any nulls that took a huge query and the last question on the final project was kind of vague. I took this course to learn by doing, wish there was some extra help when I ask sometimes nobody responded, so it was supposed to be a three week course, but took me 4 months. I gained alot of weight during taking this course, when studying this it takes me hours on hours sometimes I can't schedule other things in the day in fear of overlapping and forgetting. The instructor was good I had to research more on my own on the different times to use subqueries vs joins. Overall it is good experience I feel this is not like riding a bike and to remember it you have to keep doing it consistently. The readings on Data science are really really long as well the readings actually take a huge amount of time.

von Anushri P

Aug 10, 2019

Hi! I'm still on WEEK 3 of the course and I'm yet to finish the course. The course content for Week 1 and Week 2 was amazing! The explanation, enthusiasm of the instructor in teaching, the examples and the description as well as clear cut definition of each term made it so easy to learn the concepts. Thank you for putting up such a great course material.

That being said, in Week 3, the concepts get tougher so the explanation should be more detailed and there should be more number of examples. However, that's not to be seen in the videos. There are hardly any examples.

The tables and what output we get after submitting the query is not shown. Without looking at the table contents and the kind of output each type of join query gives, it's very difficult to understand the concept. :/ I hope Coursera will do something about this. Thank you. :)

von subbiah v

Jul 11, 2019

Really tough assignments. Tests your knowledge of you have learned. A good notes is necessary to attempt the final peer review assignment. Good links to outside sites for reference reading and clarity. Overall enjoyed the course. Learned a lot and understood how important data is in our life and how vital a knowledge to work with it is in today's world.

Small Advice: After each concept videos please make learners attempt questions on the solitary concept alone instead of brain storming the whole weeks total concepts in one coding assignment. It helps the learners to grasp the concept more and to remember it with enthusiasm.

Wonderful course with lot of tricky assignments. Have fun guys. I heard a specialzation is on its way for this. So its worth taking it and following a path.

von Alex R

Mar 11, 2019

It's a good intro course to SQL for data science. The videos are helpful but the lack of practice questions or active presentations (showing the presenter using SQL and not just showing code on the screen) made it difficult for me to engage with the course. I had to go find additional practice question resources outside of the course and frequently used outside sources to help understand what I was doing. SQLite is also terrible and frequently times out because your query took more than 3 seconds. This was very frustrating as it leaves you unsure if your code is causing problems, the website/server was busy or SQLite just didnt process in time. I'd like a more robust SQL option similar to the way Hackerrank works.

von Aron S T

Jul 19, 2018

Nice course that covers the fundamental aspects of SQL and paves the way for a more in-depth dive into SQL and RDBMS. I really liked the integration of the chinook and yelp datasets in this course, as they give you a glimpse of what it is like in the real world. Quizzes and assignments were not too challenging which is fine considering this is more like an intro course. I also liked Sadie's teaching style, however I do favour a more organic teaching approach in the videos. I understand that, a lot of logistics goes into preparing these videos and I appreciate that. However, the teaching videos were a bit lifeless, if that makes sense.

von Samuel A

May 03, 2018

I loved the course. I think it is at the right pace with the right amount of information. Normally, I get bore when the instructor explain many things and after I got it, she/he continues explaining.

I loved that the instructor goes right to the point and does not waste time repeating the same thing again and again.

The only piece I was not happy about was the final assignment. It has things not explained in the course that were not easy to solve. Of course, after figuring out the answer, it seems easy, but it is not while the person does not get it.

But overall, I loved it. I would have given 4.5, instead of 4, but I was not able.

von Megan R

Sep 24, 2019

Great exercises and quizzes to really test SQL knowledge. I feel confident in my ability to work with basic SQL commands to modify a data set for analysis. I found the videos helpful to introduce topics, but felt like I gained most of my understanding from the exercises.

Instructor was very knowledgeable but explained some of the concepts awkwardly. I appreciated her comparisons and metaphors when included.

Overall, really good course for someone who is brand new to SQL like myself. I look forward to applying these skills in practice and integrating them with other data analysis tools.

von David E

Jan 03, 2018

Most of the course is satisfactory. However, the final project has some major problems. First, it will take you longer than the stated 2 hours. Also, documentation on the provided data is lacking. Moreover, a large part of the final project is data analysis that you would never conduct in SQL - what would take a few lines of code in Python becomes cumbersome and frustrating and incomplete in SQL. If you're interested in obtaining the course certificate, just be aware that you won't encounter the most frustrating part of the course until you've completed every other course requirement.

von Daniel B

Mar 09, 2018

The course is informative, but there should be more hands-on type questions mid-video. Internalizing information would be much more efficient if there was more than just seeing results of queries and answering poorly worded questions. The final assignment can be one of great effort or minimal effort depending on the individuals interest in trying out complex queries that are out of their comfort zone, but both sides of the coin end up with the same certificate in hand. So, just like most courses in life, you get only what you put into it.

von John M D

Dec 11, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course as my first experience in Coursera. The lectures were presented in a well paced manner and the information was sufficiently broken down. However, the first few weeks suffered from insufficient assignments to reinforce the concepts learned. As a result, the final assignment was well beyond the normal intensity of the course and I felt unprepared. The final assignment appears to be developed by someone other than the core instructor and has a completely different understanding of the course scope.

von Eric M

Feb 19, 2019

Overall I think the course was pretty good. I think a lot of sections could have used more examples, especially of queries that combined several different types of clauses. There were also too many "choose the better answer" type questions in the weekly quizzes with more than one correct answer. Finally, the wording on many of the final assignment questions was terribly unclear. There are dozens of posts and questions about these on the forums. Ironing out these deficiencies would really help improve the overall course.

von Shaocheng P

Jun 11, 2018

It's better if someone can give learners some advice on their project. It's really hard to finish a complete project by the learners themselves. What's more, as a starters, everyone knows a little, only some basic knowledges, so we don't know how we did on our project. It's better that someone who is more professional on this course, like TA or someone who can give us some advice on our project and it could be better if we can have some sample answers after we finally finished the complete course.

von Sarah B S

Jun 08, 2018

Hi, I just started this course, and so far it's great, but in Data Models, Part 1:Thinking About Your Data, I think there is a typo in the last question for this module. One of the answer choices is "A translation system for used to communicate with Data Scientists" You probably meant to write "A translation system used to communication with Data Scientists" (leaving out "for") Just figured you might want to know so you can change it before more people sign up for the course. All the best!

von Wenhao Z

Feb 08, 2018

The course content is generally good, but the final work, in my opinion, needs to be adjusted to work better. I completed this course in a relatively short time. However, the final work took me a lot of time to do some of them were quite confusing. I was quite frustrated by this work and I found a lot of people had the same feeling. I think improvements needs to be done to the work. This lectures, however, is worthy to participate in.

von Ignacio D B

Jun 21, 2019

The course is well structured, but the time needed to complete it (if the person is not used to programming languages) exceeds what the course says. In addition, the only drawback of the course is the final assignment. It is sometimes time consuming and the questions are in some cases poorly worded deriving in learners confusion ( a lot of discussions in the forums have been opened because of this matter).

von Safeer U H

Mar 04, 2019

I think the course covers most of the theory part. It needs to add more of the coding lesson and quizzes as well. For instance, the small questions we receive during the video, there should coding questions as well. When we receive the coding questions directly in the coding assignment at the end of the week. It is quite difficult to do these questions. Overall, it was an amazing learning experience.

von Garrett C

Jul 15, 2019

I enjoyed the course and feel like I have a good grasp on the common SQL applications, processes, functions, etc. The videos were informative, but I wish there were more examples (and more examples to actually work through and practice with). Overall, I think this is a really good course to learn the basics of SQL and the final assignment is very thorough and helps solidify that understanding.

von Ninnart S

Feb 06, 2018

I found this course to be a good introduction to SQL. However, I noticed that there are some minor mistakes in the downloadable PDF files - some don't align with the video lectures and some slides are wrong. A few questions in the final peer review assignment were also very ambiguous. With that being said, I would still recommend this course to anyone who wants a brief intro to SQL.

von Vince L

Mar 15, 2019

It would have helped me to have more "hands on" use of the concepts right after they are presented instead of after many concepts are presented and then having to try to remember all of them. This is how you do this, then do it. It's like how Code Academy does it where they give you one step at a time to do and then on to the next step but not necessarily broken down that much.