Chevron Left
Zurück zu SQL for Data Science

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für SQL for Data Science von University of California, Davis

4.6
Sterne
3,486 Bewertungen
886 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top-Bewertungen

AM

Jul 17, 2019

This course is designed with beginners in mind, and it is an excellent introduction to SQL. I intend to further my knowledge of SQL after taking this course. The instructor did a terrific job.

AM

Jun 08, 2019

Great introductory to the SQL programming. This will definitely not only add another programming skill but also give me more capabilities programming in SAS. I would recommend this to anyone.

Filtern nach:

801 - 825 von 890 Bewertungen für SQL for Data Science

von Marc G

Mar 27, 2018

A reasonably good course but not of the calibre that I've come to expect from Coursera. Assignments were poorly worded and clearly not thought out properly. The mentors also appeared inadequately prepared and were largely unhelpful. I think with a little effort the course could be tidied up and meet the standards I have experienced in the other Coursera courses I have done.

von Cathy W

Mar 11, 2020

Course was a good introduction to SQL and its application to Data Science. There were some more complex concepts such as joins that I thought should have been explained and more examples provided in the course as it was assumed that someone had a good understanding of these concepts for the quizzes and final project when they were only lightly touched upon in the course.

von José R d S

Jan 24, 2019

Good introduction/refreshment course. I think it needs some updates, though. There are some errors in the slides and in the quizzes (even pointed out in the forums) that should be fixed. Some assignments could be improved too, some questions are not very clear.

Minor issues apart, I enjoyed taking the course and would take it again.

von Diego O H

Nov 07, 2019

The quality of the course decreased after Week 1. I understand what you put in is what you get out, but the course didn't offer any additional practice for the extra resources they provided. Also, the lectures were terrible as the instructor hardly showed any of the code's output, which means I had no idea if it was correct or not.

von Jason K

May 21, 2019

It was a great course and I've definitely improved my SQL skills, however there were a few things that could be improved. Practice questions and quizzes should be placed throughout the course material, not at the end just before the final quiz. Secondly, the content itself could be explained in better ways. Not always very clear.

von Ege K C

Feb 08, 2018

I carried some advanced skills from Excel that helped me understand the subject better. I like non-scripted more natural story-telling like courses better. Otherwise I prefer more advanced tricks for programming. Overall, it was a simple to understand and start programming kind of course. Oriented for beginners, no prerequisites

von Arthur I A

Nov 27, 2019

This course is bad structured - the rule from simple to complex is not respected. Focuses more on theoretical knowledge. Only suitable for beginners to familiarize themselves with SQL.

I recommend read the book: "Beginning SQL Server 2005 Programming" (by Robert Vieira) - it best for your starting in the SQL "world".

von Orzumand K

Feb 14, 2020

The course is very good for beginners but you need to do your own homework. No actual coding was practiced in this course so I had to learn it on my own. Also, got very confused with understanding RDBMS and differences between SQL/SQL lite and etc. Overall, course was informative and helpful in learning SQL.

von Udit B

Mar 12, 2020

This course teaches the very basics of SQL but in the final assignment gives real world problems, that was never mentioned in the course span. How to use the queries for analytics and gathering data and coming to some conclusion, these things are not available in this course

von Daenara

May 28, 2018

I give it three stars because I did learn a few things.

I think my only recommendation is to add some more practise coding before the quiz available . For example, after we finish a video, have a practise code since coding is learnt by doing more often than anything.

von Zacharie L

May 04, 2018

This course is great at getting you started in SQL. The complexity of the assignments however exceed the practice questions available. Further there are not enough practice questions to become fluent in using the concepts described. Feedback: more practice questions.

von Nazmus S S

Nov 07, 2019

I think this course does not provide opportunity to learn sql practically. It only gives the theory of sql language, which I think is not sufficient to get the whole idea. Another thing, the quiz and questions are way too harder compared to the lectures provided.

von Charla S

Nov 24, 2017

This is a basic SQL course. I'm not sure why it is called "SQL for Data Science" other than that is a catchy title. I took this course to refresh my SQL skills. It did give me an idea of where I am weak, but I don't feel I achieved my objective.

von Carlos E P M

Apr 18, 2018

El curso fue muy básico.

En mi opinión hubiera sido mejor si los contenidos de las semanas 3 y 4 fueran más prácticos.

Las preguntas del examen final tenían una redacción muy pobre y ambigua, y no había mentores encargados de solucionar dudas.

von Gaurav P

Mar 30, 2020

After the 2nd week, the instructor just introduces new concepts and does not explain the working of the algorithm. Also, more or less the video length should increase and more examples should be discussed.

Overall the course is great !!!!

von David T

Jan 07, 2018

Quizzes and assignments require a lot of knowledge not actually covered in the course forcing you to search for information elsewhere.

Questions are not clear in many tests creating incorrect answers which are not of the learners fault.

von Monica W

May 03, 2018

This course is okay but I feel like they need more practice queries not just a test and you never got to try it before also the questions need to be better explained. Other than that I feel like I did learn the basics of SQL

von Giulia T

Feb 14, 2020

The course vidoes were really nice.

The wording of the exercises is frequently confusing, especially in the peer-reviewed assignment. Many question cannot be answered with the tools provided (i.e. inference, correlation).

von Vitaliy

May 20, 2019

No practice examples at all. Videos have only theorethical queries without results, so you can`t see how it works on practice. Reference to SteckOverFlow is awesome. Why should I pay money for nothing?

von David H

May 01, 2019

Good program for beginners. Peer review assignment needs to be updated. The assignment is not graded by instructor. Certification means nothing because anyone who pays money will eventually get it.

von Weiyang T

Jul 26, 2018

Certain quiz questions were unclear. Final peer-review assignment had unclear/ambiguous questions that didn't fit with the data in my opinion. But content is useful. Delivery could be improved.

von Yi W

Dec 10, 2018

Strongly suggest adding more example code and its running result which will make more sense for beginner. And more exercise problems as current Quiz do not cover all the points in the lecture.

von Michelle P

Jan 29, 2019

You learn the basics of SQL but the course is a bit slow and repetitive, and the last peer-graded assignment should be graded by a computer or the TA's, not just random participants.

von Marcel K

May 01, 2018

Great Course to start with.

Gives a good understanding of SQL on one side en working with databases on the other.

A syllabus of al the code examples in the video's should behelpfull

von Muhammad A D I M

Oct 29, 2019

Overall good course. The lectures could be made a bit interesting and engaging with exercises broken up. Found the lectures monotonous however course material is good.