Chevron Left
Zurück zu SQL for Data Science

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für SQL for Data Science von University of California, Davis

4.6
Sterne
3,265 Bewertungen
819 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top-Bewertungen

AM

Jul 17, 2019

This course is designed with beginners in mind, and it is an excellent introduction to SQL. I intend to further my knowledge of SQL after taking this course. The instructor did a terrific job.

AM

Jun 08, 2019

Great introductory to the SQL programming. This will definitely not only add another programming skill but also give me more capabilities programming in SAS. I would recommend this to anyone.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 816 Bewertungen für SQL for Data Science

von Andrew K J

Jun 16, 2019

This course is excellent for anyone interested in data analysis who wants a thorough introduction to SQL and who desires to learn specific SQL queries for pulling down and organizing data. The quizzes and final assignment provided great practice.

von Rubén S

Jan 07, 2018

The course provide a complete knowledge of SQL necessities... The explanations are clear and Tests are enough to get and mantain learning practices... I'm really enjoing the course and I thinks is usefull for my academic and professional profile

von MUHAMMED I

Oct 15, 2019

The only thing that i will suggest is adding the output table for many codes that was shown. For the ones which was shown it was pretty easy to understand the whole idea. Other than that course was great and final assignment was really helpful.

von Georgijs N

Nov 06, 2019

Very good course to get the basics of SQL language and main principles. After this course and some "google" help you will be able to write really complex SQL queries. Course gives you the base and then it is only practice, practice, practice.

von Javier G

Jan 20, 2020

Very useful course. The videos are short so they don't need much effort to finish. They are easy to understand and well explained. The girl talks very fluency and slowly so it's easy to understand and also she is pretty so it´s nice to see.

von Haijing

Oct 15, 2018

This course starts from core concepts and easy coding. Provided with comprehensive practices and good resources recommendation. I like the instructor very much. She can speaks clearly every concept and usage of SQL commend. Highly recommend

von Robert B

Jan 23, 2020

This was a really great course that provided good instructional material, opportunities and recommendations of additional research, and good hands on exercises. First Coursera course for me and I would certainly recommend this to others.

von Michael B

Mar 27, 2018

I enjoyed this course very much. There are a few issues that need to be addressed, but if you can overlook her occasional stumbles, she is effective and entertaining and the material was engaging and held my interests which is NOT easy.

von Azhan A

Sep 01, 2018

I would recommend this course to everyone who has almost no knowledge of SQL except for the name SQL. This course taught me about everything. I don't know about advanced level but for the basics , this is enough and this is the best.

von Summer M

Apr 09, 2018

Great introduction to SQL- I knew nothing about the programming language prior and have minimal experience with writing code. The course was easy to understand and had great practice examples in the quizzes. 10 out of 10 recommend.

von ruchitha g

Nov 06, 2019

Its a very clearly explained information that i received from this course that made me want to pursue data science. I'm going to take up projects and look for internships since i ve learnt enough to know this is something id enjoy

von Daren C

May 04, 2018

This is a great learning experience. Although I have learned Database System Concept during my undergraduate course, this course taught me something new and novel. This is my first course in coursera. Hopefully I can work harder.

von ABDUL R

Mar 05, 2019

Best thing about this course is that its syllabus starts with fundamentals of SQL and covered most of the concept of SQL. By completing this course you will be able to write data queries according to client or your requirement.

von Peter O O

Sep 26, 2019

A good course especially for the beginners. Part 2 of the assignment, however, is more intense than the expectations, incorporating some areas not included in the course, which I guess is to compel learners for more research.

von Jose D

Jun 26, 2019

Great course for a beginner or novice SQL learner! I especially enjoyed that the course is focused on learning SQL to be applied to data science scenarios. Useful for anyone interested in improving their SQL query knowledge

von Sarah S

Nov 05, 2019

This was a really solid class to understand and apply basic concepts. It requires that you put some work in, especially if you're less familiar with SQL, but it has been useful to me already in refining some of my coding.

von Dikshant l

Mar 04, 2019

A really good course. They have covered all the details starting from the basics and made sure you have understood everything through quizes. The quizes are also great and cover all the concepts taught during the videos

von Jessica R

Jun 04, 2018

This course is excellent! I loved that I could test queries and be creative. I really got to learn what I could (and couldn’t) do with sql. I definitely feel more confident with putting SQL as a skill on my resume now.

von Evgeniia L

Sep 13, 2018

That's a great beginners guide in SQL. What I like about this course is that there's plenty of practice exercises to master your newly acquired knowledge. Highly recommended for those who want to start exploring SQL.

von Karina S

Aug 05, 2019

Great course on the fundamentals of SQL for data analysis. I particularly enjoyed the last assignment. I feel that I have learned a lot (though I also needed to complement it with other SQL courses). Thank you Sadie!

von Sarah P

Mar 25, 2019

This is a great course for those without any prior programming SQL knowledge. It helps if you already have experience working with datasets and if you already know how to program in another language (i.e. SAS, R).

von vivek

Sep 09, 2018

I find this course very helpful, prior to this course I used to think its just a language to query the data from Data base but now I have realized its importance after seeing how it can be helpful for data science.

von Anand N

Mar 30, 2019

Good course to learn a overall high-level view of SQL. However, to get the full grasp of SQL you need to practice SQL from external resources as well. This course explains SQL commands in a brief and concise way.

von Dave N

May 18, 2019

This course is a great course for people new to SQL. No prior programming experience is necessary, and Sadie is very to-the-point while still being very welcoming and friendly. I highly recommend this course.

von Mobeen A K

Sep 11, 2019

The Peer Graded Assignment was challenging and the really helped in refreshing the concepts with applications. The coding assignments during different modules were helpful in getting the coding mode on.