Chevron Left
Zurück zu SQL for Data Science

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für SQL for Data Science von University of California, Davis

4.6
Sterne
12,514 Bewertungen
3,209 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top-Bewertungen

JP

5. Apr. 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

JG

22. Aug. 2021

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 3,291 Bewertungen für SQL for Data Science

von Silvia V V F

6. Nov. 2021

Un curso completo que cubre los aspectos principales de la creación y recuperación de consultas en un sistema de gestión. Los temas se entregaron bien y los materiales / asignaciones fueron relevantes para el desarrollo de habilidades. Seria Recomendable que le instructor tomara en cuenta hacer mas ejemplos prácticos para ir a la par con la teoría, dar información resumida de la sintaxis que sirva de ayuda y refuerzo a los estudiantes.

von Ellie L

25. Okt. 2021

The lecturer's teaching of this course is detailed, so that students with zero foundation can get started smoothly.In this course, I learned what SQL is, the historical evolution of SQL, and the basic knowledge of retrieval statements, functions, operations, connections and so on.In each class, the teacher explains the precautions and errors in SQL coding in combination with daily examples. He is very friendly to zero based students.

von Ravilall s

29. Juni 2021

hi, this course was very new to me but found it challenging but yet interesting. This course has exposed me to fascinating aspect of data science and how data is kept (databases) and how data can be retrieved by using skills learnt in this course. Based on the knowledge received i will endeavour to expand my knowledge in this area even through You Tube Videos. Thanks to the Coursera Team and the Commonwealth Team, Canada.

von Lara B

5. Apr. 2021

Before this course I had no knowledge in SQL, neither any other programming language really. This course quickly got me acquainted with what SQL is, what it can be used for and how to use it. The videos, presentation slides and transcript were very useful. And the combination of theory and practice examples helped with a effective and efficient learning process. I recommend this course to anyone getting started with SQL.

von ARNOGIANNAKIS A

27. Sep. 2020

Great introductory course. My only complaint is that the lecture has a level of difficulty 1 out of 5 and the practise quizzes are 4-5, so upon reaching the quizzes of the week, personally I would get discouraged but after some grinding, I would solve them and feel confident about my understanding on SQL. But, I wish there would be some bridging between the lectures and quizzes and some tutorial for sqlite environment.

von Joshua P

3. Juli 2020

Being a beginner it was worthwhile to learn things and this course I think was designed in a way that can be understand my even a laymen. If you can spend a little more time learning concepts and practicing only then will you be able to have a clear understanding which helps build a lot of confidence.

This is my experience and if it happened to me I'm sure you will also experience the same.

All the best! God Speed Guys!

von Giovanni M

7. Apr. 2022

Amazing beginner's course to SQL. I came in with absolute zero experience handling SQL, even though I have heard of it often as a nice tool to have for almost any technical role I looked into during my job search. I was able to get comfortable with it, learn something new every time I logged into the course, and also played around with it when working on quizzes or the final project assignment. I enjoyed learning SQL.

von SATHISH S

9. Okt. 2020

fantastic course, perfect for beginners, gained a lot of confidence to go into SQL and DATA SCIENCE. though sometime feeling lost during weekly assignments and final assignment (which is just awesome), the tip is stick to lectures and solving quiz in the way she told - think about your problem, build slowly, check results intermittently while writing your complete query... they all help you. thank you instructor.

von Chelsea H

25. Mai 2020

This was my favorite Coursera course so far. The instruction was slow and light enough to understand. The instructor did not present the material as overcomplicated, even if it was complicated. I really liked the additional links, and the intermittent quizzes.The modules and quizzes were instrumental in my learning because they gave me hands on practice. I look forward to continuing my learning. Thank you so much!

von PhoebeNgg

19. Nov. 2019

This course is perfect for my level as a beginner. However, the real study time is more than 20hrs as it was supposed to be. To learn deeply and actually understand the content, there should be some effort to self-learn and practice the concept. It is useless if just watch the video and click multiple choices, you must go around on the Internet, read more materials, create your own example and practice the code.

von Lindsey C

31. März 2018

Clearly-explained, organised lecture flow and materials, easy to follow, not burdened with great details for beginners while emphases are made on crucial aspects of database management with SQL. The course fuels motivations for learning outside of the class. For a no confusion foundation on SQL, this is a great course as it really builds in me the confidence to claim a new skill and to take on my own project!!

von Olivia R

26. Okt. 2020

This course covers a lot of material, but I think it is set up well. The videos are very informative and really do help with the assignments. The only thing I would change is maybe having small practice coding questions after each video so students can test their knowledge right away and see if there is anything they need to review before moving on. I learned a lot and I'm excited to test out my new skills!

von Hardik K

31. Juli 2020

Really enjoyed. Didn;t need to install anything, the practice questions were good. The best part was the peer graded assignment, i would have loved another peer graded assignment. But It was brilliantly taught by Sadie, also loved the fact that she gave many times her experience in real world project, that she use this a lot working on real time, this gave us a feel to the use of SQL in real world projects.

von Eslam M

14. Apr. 2020

thank you very very much for your excellent work with us and the many information data you given it to us , i learned so much in this course i understand why we use SQL and How use it and how it can help us to work with our data and how i can retrieve or filtering data , manipulating data , using mathematics operators , aggregation function , case statement and many ad many

thank you very much :) 3>

von Sudheer R

27. Jan. 2018

I accessed this course just to evaluate this as a potential course for my colleagues who have working knowledge of SQL (running stored procedures but not writing own queries). This course is good for anyone who does not even know what SQL is. I like the instructor too, her pace is adequate and ability to transfer knowledge is high. Definitely recommend this course to anyone who works on "data"

von Imantha A

16. Dez. 2019

The course was well structured and covered all the basics needed to know with SQL. The instructor was clear and taught in an understandable manner. Ability to run SQL queries on the same environment of quizzes and assignments should be highlighted. The only negative point is with peer graded assignment as some questions are not very clear and even the answer given for grading is not specific.

von Shreyansh M

22. Okt. 2019

A great course for anyone looking for the basics of basic stuff regarding SQL. The pacing is perfect for an introductory course as well as I am actually surprised how the assignments allow you to experiment with your own SQL codes as well as the last assignment which has questions which depend on how you would analyze the situation. Kudos to the teacher for making it a pleasurable experience!

von Tim

29. Sep. 2019

Up to this point, this is the best SQL course that I've ever taken. Not only does it give students a ton of practice with SQL code, but it also tests students on SQL and database concepts and on what to do in common SQL-related situations. In other words, this course covers both the "how" and the "why" with an ideal proportion for each instead of placing too much focus on just one of those.

von S S N

27. Juli 2020

Pretty good course, will definitely help those who are wanted to learn basic fundamentals and key concepts of SQL to be used in Data Science life cycle. This course is pretty useful and most of required information has been covered in this course. If you are looking to learn basic aspects of SQL for Data Science, then this is definitely for you, just go for it and have fun learning !!!!

von Shreya S

15. Mai 2020

This course is very interesting. It starts with basics and explains to a great extent. Every concept is clearly explained. I found the assignments very helpful. There is one practice assignment and then an assignment for grading for each module which is very helpful as question-level starts with basics and goes till advance covering every part of that topic.

I enjoyed doing this course.

von John K

5. Okt. 2020

The course was overall knowledgeable. It helped me to understand parts of SQL that wasn't clear for me. It was a lot or reading, videos to watch and a lot of coding. I for one prefer the coding, and that is what kept me going throughout the course. Thanks for allowing me the opportunity to take part in this course with coursera and I will be recommending this platform to my peers

von Laila M B R

7. Juli 2020

Very good structured course, for me that was a beginner with no experience on SQL was very easy to understand things, some of the exercises were demanding for my personal experience but that's what help us too, get out of the comfort zone. I would recommend the course even to the one's that have experience working with SQL because of all the concepts we learn through the course.

von Chintan G

27. Mai 2019

Overall it was a good course, I just wish it was in a different format. Instead of the instructor on the left and presentation on the right of the screen, I wish the instructor was not present on the screen and was using a pen to explain the concepts. Also, they could code more examples with the students on the screen, instead of showing us already written code as examples.

von Italo R

26. Feb. 2021

Whether you're a beginner to SQL or you have prior knowledge you'd like to refresh, this course is a very complete, clear and hands-on way to exercise your SQL querying muscle. Sadie is a great instructor and provided me with a refreshing take on how to use the power of SQL and its possibilities. The datasets provided for the exercises, quizzes and assignments are great!

von Manjula K

21. Feb. 2021

An extremely comprehensive and well-structured course. Sadie St. Lawrence is an amazing instructor and articulates the course content in an effective manner. I do not possess a background in coding but this course helped me build my fundamentals in data science. Truly grateful to UC Davis, Sadie, and everyone involved in helping create such a great course. Thank you!