Chevron Left
Zurück zu Startup Valuation Methods

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Startup Valuation Methods von Duke University

4.4
Sterne
608 Bewertungen
178 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

How do different types of investors think about an investment opportunity? What kind of securities and contracts do they offer? How should a company decide what is a "good deal"? This course is designed to introduce you to the challenges and pitfalls of financing new enterprises. You will learn the basic tools for valuating companies, including using discounted cashflow analysis in Excel and understanding how to apply this model to your entrepreneurial venture. You will then learn how valuation works with different types of securities that investors use to finance startups, from bank loans to venture capital to angel investing....

Top-Bewertungen

CK

30. Apr. 2020

The best ever online course one could find. It is worth every single minute spent. Thank you so much for offering this course. And really so happy to complete this course. Much love to the professor.

NB

2. März 2021

Learned lots of new valuation techniques, it was well crafted and smoothly presented by the professors. The tests were also in line with the course and very helpful in understanding the concepts.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 181 Bewertungen für Startup Valuation Methods

von Michael M

19. Okt. 2020

Covered some very useful and interesting concepts that are applicable to the VC industry. However, the content and teaching of week 3 are confusing and inconsistent unlike week 1 and 2. In particular, the option pool and required equity stake calculations were poorly explained and there are inconsistencies with what was taught, the practice quiz, and the graded quiz when it came to dilution effects.

von Spencer P

3. Juli 2020

Course material is very poorly explained beginning in Week 3. Examples are not completed. Quiz questions reference material not taught during the lectures. And examples that are completed either skip over important calculations or are better explained in forums and sub-reddits.

von Ong J W

10. Mai 2020

This course is a bit technical. For me, a lot of concepts and calculation in week 3 and week 4 are poorly or insufficiently explained. It required a lot of thinking and logical reasoning before arriving to the answers in the quiz.

von Greyson L

10. Juni 2020

The first two weeks were well made but the second two weeks were often sparsely explained. The quiz in the middle of the first week has material not covered by that point. The discussion of option pools was far too limited.

von Prashanth S

9. Aug. 2020

This course gives an good idea "How Startup valuations differ from mature companies and terminologies and methods used among VC markets and Angel investors. Sill week 3 and 4 could be more extensive and collaborative

von Patrick H

5. März 2020

The general concepts were pretty good and well presented, but there were errors in the lecture slides and I found some of the concepts difficult to understand from what they presented.

von Djafarov O

1. Feb. 2021

In Option pool and Anti-dilution lessons the calculations were not explained in details. One had to go to third-party sites like investopedia to have an understanding.

von Kirthi S G

27. Okt. 2020

I personally felt that the concept required to answer questions in the quizzes were not suitably addressed in the video lectures.

von Stefan M

18. Jan. 2021

In general a good course, but the quiz part was difficult as some questions did not match to what has been teached before.

von Fernando B

30. Apr. 2020

Week 3 is very important however overall the classes were not very clear with a lot of exercise uncomplicated .

von Francisco R

22. Apr. 2021

Very useful information, but the quizzes were very difficult and you only had 1 attempt every 24 hours...

von Nikesh G

16. Mai 2021

Videos are confusing on lots of places and there is not enough reading material provided.

von Aliza

26. Aug. 2020

Good but practical problems are beyond the material which was taught during the lectures.

von Ayman D

16. Nov. 2020

Many classes are not clear enough or require more explanation.

von Gerbert M

7. März 2021

First two weeks are way better than last two weeks.

von Marlon M P

24. Aug. 2020

Week 3 very unclear

von Luciano R

13. Apr. 2020

First part is very valuable. Second part really unclear

von Alexa B

18. Feb. 2021

Very little and vague teaching. I was already familiar with startup valuations but still spent time learning elsewhere to clarify what the instructors shared. The mini-lectures from the professors were very brief, often seemed as if something was cut out, and didn't exactly pair with the many quizzes. There are also many, many unanswered questions in the discussion forum which makes it seem as though this class is no longer actively managed.

von Saksham S

6. Sep. 2020

The Course suffers from lack of in-depth explanation

von Het D

24. Apr. 2020

I enjoyed the course, the lectures were kept short and precise. The notes contained all the important information and summarised well, and most importantly as an entrepreneur, the course detailed on each aspect I am currently focussed on. What I did find uncomfortable was that it was based on the perspective of VC's and Angel Investors, I often found the lectures being a bit insensitive on the sentiment of an entrepreneur. I am not sure if you would have received such a review before, but honestly, this is the only thing that made me a bit uncomfortable in this then otherwise amazing course. Thanks!

von Bill S

27. Juli 2020

Great course; would like to finish the specialisation if I had the funds; Would recommend to anyone. Had a great deal of fun while learning a great deal, too! I liked most how some of the answers weren't spoon-fed to us; some of the answers are hidden. There are concepts and formulations that we are expected to pick up on-the-fly, but that only adds to the value that you can earn from picking up this course. Would definitely run through this course in 3 months or so just to refresh; these concepts seem super foundational to company valuation; it kinda makes me wish I had a degree in finance...

von BrewGirl C

30. Juli 2021

A handful of useful insights and hands-on practices, really appreciate this great course! I found it especially helpful when Manuel guided us step-by-step to create a startup spreadsheet. David's courses however required more self-research or 'after school' study, but it provided a clear framework of the startup investors' world, and made me want to explore it more.

Overall I give it 5 stars the least, thank you!

von Kyle K

4. Juni 2020

Great course. Actually practical for my job (I work in venture capital). I'm using these methods right now to value industry categories and current deal flow. Week 3 & 4 will definitely be harder for those who don't work in venture. Lots of tricky questions, good luck.

von Thomas O

17. Dez. 2021

Necessary information about Venture Capital and Angel investors terminology and tools, without detail. Suitable to get acquainted with the topic, but would require further training in corporate finance to prepare a calculation of startup valuation in practice.

von Γιώργος Κ

9. Jan. 2022

The course I really nice. The content is top-notch and explains very good concepts and instead of predictions it makes precise calculations. I personally believe it applies to both investors and entrepreneurs, as both benefit from the calculations explained.