Chevron Left
Zurück zu Statistics for Genomic Data Science

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Statistics for Genomic Data Science von Johns Hopkins University

4.2
Sterne
300 Bewertungen
56 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

An introduction to the statistics behind the most popular genomic data science projects. This is the sixth course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization from Johns Hopkins University....

Top-Bewertungen

ZM
27. Juni 2018

The professor is really enthusiasm, so I was really impreesed by him. And his teaching is brief, and I can learn key points through the lectures. Great course!

GP
25. Aug. 2017

Excellent, but I would be grateful if you could translate all your courses of absolute quality into Spanish.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 54 Bewertungen für Statistics for Genomic Data Science

von Paul S

3. Jan. 2018

The worst executed course I have taken in 36 years of post-graduate education.

1 The instructor speaks so fast it is difficult even for a native English speaker like myself to understand.

2. This course is only suitable as a review for people who are experts in the field already. Even if you know how to use Bioconductor and are familiar with programming in R, if you don't know the tools being used already the instruction in the course will not give enough information to be able to do the quizzes without a great deal of difficulty.

3. The examples presented are thrown out in a cursory fashion without enough detail about how the data is being set up or manipulated. Matrices are transformed and recombined with little explanation about why things are being done.

4. Although generalizing from material presented to new applications is a valid instructional approach, the instruction does not give the student enough information to do this and the instructor expects students to be able to figure out new algorithms from vague public domain documentation.

5. Although the instructor makes an impassioned plea for carefully thought out statistical test design, proper documentation of work flow, and appropriate use of p-values, he does not describe the interpretation of statistical tools presented. For example, tools for calculating thousands of principle components in seconds is given, but beyond showing clusters of dots on a graph may indicate a genetic cluster does not explain what the individual points in the PCA mean.

In summary, the tools presented are very powerful but are not well described. Extensive revision to the course is needed.

von Ian P

30. Aug. 2018

I did my best to work through module 1, but encountered one problem after another with installing the various required R packages, due to version issues. From the absence of recent discussion posts it seems that this is not really a current, viable course. From what I have seen of the course, I get the impression that even if package installation went smoothly, the course is more about R than statistics or genomics - which is not what I joined for.

von Hylke C D

25. Sep. 2019

Much of the code is broken because it is outdated. In the specialisation you learn to use Python, and here all of a sudden they switch to R. Some familiarity with R is assumed in this course. A lot of the functions and packages that are used are not discussed at all. By far the worst course I have taken on coursera so far.

von sandeep s

20. Dez. 2016

The course was tough and was explained in a very fast way assuming that the student knows prior statistics.

von John M

25. Mai 2017

Covers a large amount of material in a short time.

You will learn a lot but you will have to spend a lot of time researching and experimenting.

von Hemanoel P

24. Jan. 2019

This is totally not for beginners..

von David B

24. Feb. 2019

Theory part, remaining that it has to be done in pills, could be done a lot better. R part is done better, but the principal issue is that you have not a clear connection with theory.

von M C

27. Juni 2017

For some reason, this was a really tough course, it blew my socks off. I did not get the explanations they just did not sink in.

von ELISA W

23. Juli 2018

I think this is one of the best courses in this specialization. I found it the most helpful in building together what should be learned in genomic data science. I wish 1) this course was earlier in the specialization, 2) there was additional building from this course to build together the workflow from beginning to end, and 3) reduction or removal of some of the other courses (or other courses taught together with this one).

von Chuan J

15. Juli 2019

It is really great that told me lots of basic statistical information that I didn't know.

von Tushar K

25. März 2019

Very good course and useful understanding statistical aspects of data.

von Stefanie M

25. Feb. 2019

In the course, easy concepts are well explained, but the more complex topics are very tricky to understand. However, I appreciated the enthusiasm of the teacher a lot

von Yahui L

11. Sep. 2020

Great course overall! Good at those aspects: 1. a comprehensive cover of key statistics used in genomic data analysis. I have some experiences in genomic data analysis. Taking this class offers me a quick overview of the underneath statistical skills, which helps me gain more understanding of the bioinformatics analysis I have been working on. 2. The course materials are well organized and easy to follow. The Professor is proficient at the materials and also fun. Another thing I like is that the codes in the class can still be run smoothly without any troubles, even though it has been a few years since the class recorded. 3. The class also provides with other materials for further study, which are helpful.

Just a few downsides, the quizzes are a bit difficult. I often spent 5-6 hours doing research to get it right. Also, the forum of the course is not active. I did not get response for my question. Overall, I have learned the topics I need from this class, and the learning experience was quite fun.

von Jian L

5. Apr. 2021

The instructor is one of the best whose teaching and course design appealed to me most effectively due to his capabilities of being able to focus on the key issues even in a very broad area of knowledge and go right into them and make them understood sufficiently regardless of one's varied background. This is by no means an easy task. Jeff has a great insight in designing problems from learners' perspectives to maximize the learning experiences.

von Pedro S S

23. Jan. 2021

The course teaches useful materials in a clear way. I took it (inside GDS specialization) quickly because I have some biostatistics background, but I sugest to enjoy it with time!!

von Zhen M

28. Juni 2018

The professor is really enthusiasm, so I was really impreesed by him. And his teaching is brief, and I can learn key points through the lectures. Great course!

von Gregorio A A P

26. Aug. 2017

Excellent, but I would be grateful if you could translate all your courses of absolute quality into Spanish.

von Luz Y M R

23. Mai 2016

I have really enjoyed the course and I have learnt different concepts relevant for my current study.

Yurany

von 李仕廷

30. Juni 2018

really a good course for people who want to learn use R to dispose genomic data

von Juan J S G

7. März 2017

La semana 3 puede hacerse dura, pero el curso es muy completo y recomendable.

von Hewan D

9. Apr. 2021

This is the best. It opens my eye for genomic data analysis.

von Manali R

4. März 2020

Great course as a starting point for statistical genomics!

von Alex Z

6. Aug. 2017

talk fast and informative! I enjoyed it a lot.

von Chunyu Z

10. Feb. 2016

very helpful class. instructor very organized.

von Hamzeh M T

7. Nov. 2018

Great place to start learning genomics in R