Chevron Left
Zurück zu English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics von University of Pennsylvania

4.8
886 Bewertungen
290 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Top-Bewertungen

UU

Apr 08, 2018

Great efforts are done to design the course.It was really effective and informative course.It was amazing to know about different renewable resources and technologies discussed in the course.

MA

Jul 20, 2018

A very fruitful course in knowledge and language.\n\nI also benefit from the style you use on your videos .\n\nI use some sites such as quizlet.\n\nI got 92.4 % . Thank you very much.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 279 Bewertungen für English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

von evens d

Apr 28, 2019

I find the course to be valuable. Video lectures were engaging and very good quality. Practice examples and quizzes were pointed and relevant. The consequence of all this is that I learned a great deal about global warming and gained valuable insights about what we can, and should do to curb some of it's negative impacts. Otherwise, the consequences of inaction is far too great.

von sandipkunwar

May 09, 2019

good

von Sakar C

May 09, 2019

Super

von yuri m p c

May 01, 2019

very useful, for life, for job, for all

von Aness N

Apr 15, 2019

I have learned a lot about climate change and improved my English

von Priyanka F P

Apr 14, 2019

Excellent technical information!

von Nguyễn P

Apr 12, 2019

This is a great course, will asked my family member to enroll

von Gaurav M

Mar 29, 2019

not received my certificate

von gowtham

Apr 09, 2019

Well constructed course for beginners.

von Deepak U

Mar 25, 2019

It was good course. Great concepts of emerging science. Reading and Writing Scientific literature was impressive.

von Liu R

May 21, 2019

I've not used MOOC for a long time as well as English, so I took this course as my comeback bufferin. It fulfilled my purpose as the the English taught here is clear and without stress (you can speed up the video whenever you want), to add to that it taught me a lot of knowledge about climate change and scientific findings new to me. The citing skills and reference standards are things I'd always wanted to learn. All in all, it's of great help to me.

von QUAN M N

Jan 06, 2019

I would like to express my gratitude to Coursera and Penn University that give me useful lessons to improve my learning skills and upgrade more knowledge in the fields for my future.

von JUAN C F F

Jan 16, 2019

excellent

von Aayush S

Jan 14, 2019

Thank you for this course.

von Yati S

Feb 02, 2019

I've got so many knowledge from this course.

von Artur F S d O

Jan 21, 2019

Best course

von Sagar S

Jan 23, 2019

This is probably going to help me and my other friends in their future.

von Carlos A V A

Dec 14, 2018

hermoso curso

von Aalok G

Jan 05, 2019

Really amazing course. Really a helpful course for students.

von Carol L

Jan 10, 2019

I really like how professionals were the instructors and the tematic addressed: the climate change!

von Sandy Y

Feb 24, 2019

This course is so great, I've learned so much from it. I've learn how to read STEM articles, how to write essays, how to present my thinking, and so forth. I really recommend this course to anyone who intend to step into college or academic area.

von Iryna A

Feb 24, 2019

Very interesting course! Thank you for sharing your knowledge! This topic is very important! Thank you for your work!

von Samyog C

Feb 28, 2019

good

von Kyoung H Y

Mar 04, 2019

T

von Cindy J N

Mar 04, 2019

I would like to recommend this to my friends and relatives too. I learned a lot in this course.