Chevron Left
Zurück zu Capstone: Your Story

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Capstone: Your Story von Wesleyan University

4.6
Sterne
345 Bewertungen
136 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Everything comes together in the Capstone. You will draft a complete story, narrative essay, or memoir of 8–15 pages. With the advice of your peer readers, you will revise, rewrite, and complete it. The skills you’ve learned of plotting, setting, physical description, characterization, and stylistic clarity and innovation will culminate in an original work of art all your own. We’ll discuss the steps that professional writers take to bring their work into the public world. Along the way you’ll learn the patient habits of revision that make up the writer’s life....

Top-Bewertungen

TB

8. Mai 2020

I got so, so much out of this! It's not only helped me with my own writing, but it's helped me with being able to be a better editor, also. Enjoyed being able to read other writers' works, as well.

AM

24. Okt. 2018

It was challenging and inspiring, one of the best courses I have taken. I took my writing to new places and learned quite a lot : ) Thank you so much for the opportunity and platform for learning.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 135 Bewertungen für Capstone: Your Story

von SAIBAL C

22. Jan. 2021

Great experience

von SERGIO J H G

18. Apr. 2017

Excelente curso

von LE M D

4. Dez. 2020

Thank Teacher

von Michael B

2. Aug. 2021

Great course

von Susy I B K

13. Feb. 2021

very good!

von Liliane M

30. Juli 2018

Excellent!

von Aniketh B

9. Aug. 2020

Loved IT!

von Bui L P L ( H

21. Juni 2021

good

von Maria J d C M

23. Sep. 2021

This course is a great value for money and perfect for a first, comprehensive deep dive into basic tools of the creative writing craft. The videos are very good, and the teachers have very different lecturing styles / personalities, which makes it livelier. In my experience, peer review quality was mediocre, before I adjusted expectations, to pretty good, after I did. This was the adjustment: accepting the reality of this being a MOOC, not a personalized teaching experience or a place of learning where all peers have equivalent standards, motivations and aspirations. Before adjusting, I expected to get 3 considerate, detailed, and usable peer reviews for each assignment, in exchange for my 3. After accepting the MOOC reality, I realized that GIVING the peer reviews is great practice and the greater value of the peer review part of the assignments; and if I got ONE single one that matched my standards, I took it as a fortunate bonus. I did get at least one usable review per assignment. Thanks much to Dean F for the extensive, usable and encouraging review of my Capstone story, in a genre you didn't like, and cheekily 5 pages over the ambiguous 15 page limit (in another video, it was said that the final submission could be longer.) Coursera Plus one year subscription is 300-something euros /dollars; Wesleyan in-person tuition is 60 thou a year or more. Summa sumarum: great value for money!

von Daniela

28. Okt. 2020

This whole specialization is really good and helpful for anyone who need help with their writing skills. I will give it 4stars for two reasons. First I think it would really good to have a segment to help with how to construct a dialogue, it's a point where i struggled a lot and some of the peer reviews mentioned it too. Second, and I know is not easy to monitor this, the peer review system sometimes is a let down. Especially when I reached the capstone project I needed those review more than even and found most of the time with simple "good" or "ok" , which was infuriating giving all the effort I put in my project and in giving others constructive reviews. A different way to work on peer reviews of the capstone would be ideal but again, I understand is not something easily done.

I will recommend this course to anyone who wants to start writing!

von Beladee N

3. Juni 2022

The course was productive in exploring a longer piece of writing, reviewing other author's work, and editing and revising one's own work. The course gave seven weeks to complete the process , but for writers that work more quickly, the interest in one piece of work began to flag, and the requirment of more than a dozen peer reviews seemed excessive, however, it was interesting to read many different genre of writing and the videos with the Wesleyan University writers were informative. This writer was disappointed by the video that discussed publishing and felt it might have contained more concrete information for writers in the program. Overall, the course was compelling in exploring a longer piece of work and for the practice of editing a piece and revising it to its most perfect presentation for other readers as was possible.

von Freddie d M

18. Aug. 2020

All the lecture's were great as with the rest of the modules. The one area that it does suffer a bit is in the peer reviews. I expected that because it required completion of the other 4 specialisations that it would have people who were mostly motivated but it was all too common to get responses on my work that wasa a simple 'good' or perhaps that in a few more words. I ended up resubmiting a lot of my work because I would only get 1 of 3 responses with any useful feedback. Being able to rate peoples feedback would be really great and might encourage people to dig a bit deeper. It's incredibly frustrating to spend 30 mins giving a detailed reply explaining all of the issues and good things in someone elses work to recieve something that scarcely took two seconds of thought.

von Brian C

4. März 2018

I loved this course! The lectures were magnificent as were the interviews with visiting authors. A 20 minute view into a class at work parsing a mate's story was particularly interesting. My own experience with the reviews by my peers was quite the opposite. From the seven lines one wrote, it was clear that she had not read my story or had not read it carefully. Another copied and pasted most of my story in the comments section and added shallow praise at the end. That was not a problem. We were all directed to seek outside reviews and that is what I did with most noting the improvement in my writing. This class was a fine ending to the course of study and the professor was wonderful.

von Steve

24. Juli 2021

T​he instruction is excellent and the value of the course is excellent considering that the instructors are teachers in a top creative writing program, published authors, and have experience in publishing. Their advise feels informal yet is very very practical and dense (the lectures aren't long but incredibly informative). The assignments are simple, challenging and effective in building skills in creative writing. The connection to an online writing community was good next-step and experience in reviewing peers valuable for participating in the community.

von Fred R

4. Mai 2018

I enjoyed the whole specialization. Capstone was a way to put it in motion. I guess I miss teacher's presence but also writer is a solitary job. I had the sensation many of the students never wrote a text before. I think it's a very good training camp for writers but maybe not so good for absolute beginner writers. But I enjoyed it a lot. I would like to know what are the next steps you propose in your mail giving me the good news. Thanks anyhow. It bettered my writing even in latine language such as French or Spanish.

von Elisabeth S

16. Juni 2020

All the videos, the tips for improving one's writing, and the assignments are well thought out and very useful. The course is a challenge and very rewarding. The structure is a little bit different to the previous courses, so that took some getting used to, but the reviews also feel more well thought out than previously. Apart form the fact that there are one or two timing/technical glitches, the course is great. Definitely a challenge, also, and you can tell that the makers of the course are really dedicated.

von Jeffrey W

18. Apr. 2021

The information is valuable and gives great insight on how to make your writing the best it can be. Regrettably, the feedback received in the peer reviews leaves much to be desired. It is quite clear there are many learners that are not taking the course seriously. Feedback is often a single word or punctuation mark. It would be a good idea if there was a minimum character requirement to ensure actual feedback is provided.

von Lavaniya D

4. Juni 2020

This was a great way to finish the specialisation. However the course is not well structures. The tutorials about critique come the week after you submit your first draft and must critique others' work. I would not do this purely for peer reviews. The problem is that people know what they like. As adults we look for the genres we favour so it is unfair to expect someone who doesn't read your genre to give good advice.

von David A

18. Okt. 2020

The instruction is top-notch, but the peer review system needs changing. It is frustrating to receive a one-word response to a submission; what kind of review is that? I spent time critiquing my peers; unfortunately, I did not receive the same consideration. Many students don't want to take the time to critique, so they insert "Nice" or "Well done" so they can move on in the course. I am very disappointed.

von Philip W

29. Sep. 2016

The only reason this excellent course does not have five stars is because of the technical issues that are the responsibility of Coursera and the failure of some of the peers to write peer reviews according to the instructions. I heartily recommend this course to anyone seeking to kick start, revive, or tune up serious writing.

von Maria-Isabel C

11. Feb. 2021

This is the final course of the Creative Writing set of courses I surely have enjoyed. I really recommend it to anyone who likes to write and wish to become a writer. I have learned so much and enjoyed the time with the instructors. I just want to thank the Coursera community for this great opportunity this means to me.

von Russell D

16. März 2017

I enjoyed the course very much. The critiques were the most important part and that is where this course fell down. I only received two instead of the expected three critiques for the sanding and final critique assignments.

von Ian B

31. Aug. 2017

Good opportunity to keep writing and get feedback. The only drawback is the quality of reviews you get on this site- everyone wants to BE reviewed, no one wants to do the reviewing!

von Chris D

5. Juni 2020

The assignments are varied and helpful. The feedback less so. And the IT department needs to re-tool how the feedback system works. Too many issues, too many problems.

von Daniel Y

17. Nov. 2020

The schedule was a bit confusing, but it didn't hinder my ability to complete my assignments.