Chevron Left
Zurück zu Unternehmensstrategie

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Unternehmensstrategie von University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
Sterne
1,129 Bewertungen
248 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course you will learn how organizations create, capture, and maintain value, and how it is fundamental for sustainable competitive advantage. You will be able to better understand value creation and capture, and learn the tools to analyze both competition and cooperation from a variety of perspectives, including the industry level (e.g., five forces analysis), and the firm level (e.g., business models and strategic positioning). • Understand how managers coordinate different functional areas, resources, and systems inside a company and align them with the external environment to enhance overall performance • Knowledge of strategic management tools and frameworks, and apply them to real business contexts Process diverse business and industry information to diagnose strategic issues, evaluate strategic alternatives, and formulate a coherent and actionable strategic plan • How to think like a CEO, entrepreneur, or general manager. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top-Bewertungen

HL

Aug 26, 2018

I am really honored to review this course. The course and the Professor was really having a high practical approach. 4th Module was little bit confusion although it was a great time doing the course.

TW

Aug 11, 2016

I really enjoyed the case studies in this course and the education on various frameworks felt like I could immediately use the material in real world scenarios. Highly recommended course materials.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 249 Bewertungen für Unternehmensstrategie

von MUHAMMAD A S

Aug 31, 2019

After taking this course, I have learnt following,

Solutions to the business challenges under the study of 1st course, that we can have better results after setting and communicating cleared mission and vision according to the business model to the whole organization so that individual’s efforts can convert in to one FORCE towards the accomplishment of common objectives & sustainability of business model. And how to get internal coherence towards the business module and overall strategic fit within the organization and outside challenges under the definition of V A R S framework. A new thing to me that strategic intent for team can also play a vital role in high achievements.

Solutions to the business challenges under the study of 2nd course, for sustainably of business model and profitability the analysis of industry are most important to take corrective actions and future decisions. Study and understanding of PESTEL framework and Five Forces made more clarity to take relevant and correct decisions. There was lot of material and support to understand that how we can make a successful strategic fit between internal strength, activities and capabilities with external environment or requirements.

Solutions to the business challenges under the study of 3rd course, here in course it is an ample study, material, lecture and case study to understand that how we can keep sustainable competitive advantages to reduce or minimize the challenges of five forces which always keep the company’s profitability low or high cost of business. There is learning over best strategic fit of activities, resources and capabilities along best use of value chain and network chain to develop best economic value added.

Solution to the business challenges under the study of 4th course, there is the best-case study to understand the best application of generic strategies, after the study of this course we can make best use to determine the generic strategy but here we will apply the study of 2nd and 3rd courses as well. Cost leadership and differentiations both are back bone of current ear businesses, this study will support us a lot of over generic strategies and will lead towards strategy renewal as well while evaluating internally activities, resources and capabilities with external challenges. Now we are much confident after this study that we can identify stuck positioning of company, then can recommend over strategy renewal so accordingly to the industry to keep strategic positioning.

Summary,

Business strategy demonstrates the FIT among different activities, functions and capabilities within the company, enables the manager to add value and to capitalize business opportunities and helps to ALIGN internal strengths with the external environment for business sustainability. It briefs and guides over business strategic TOOLs that how a manger can use such well described frameworks and can ANALYSE environment & industry to DEVELOP competitive edges for sustainability and strategic positioning and leads towards strategy renewal in case of stuck in middle.

von Emmanouil K

Apr 24, 2017

Excellent class! Highly recommended to anyone who wants to learn the basics of business strategy. Professor Somay is a subject matter expert and his lectures are wonderful. Many thanks!

von Francesco R

Aug 21, 2019

Great to waste time due to idiots that give you low marks on purpose, in spite of the quality of your assignments. Thanks, Coursera.

von Anant S

Jun 24, 2020

Course is worth taking time. Deepak somaya has well explained the concepts. Peer review assignments were worth to take, without that course has no value. One must do all peer review assignments with effort, without copying or writing from somewhere else. you will definitely learn a lot from this course.

von Izabela K

Jun 09, 2020

Business Strategy is an exceptionally well designed online course. The knowledge and skills learned in each Module can be immediately applied in daily work. It also provides great resources to broaden the knowledge. The case studies are both informative and extremely engaging. Thank you.

von Ekene M

Aug 23, 2017

Highly recommended course for anyone looking for foundational and advanced knowledge of strategy. Prof. Somaya did an excellent job. I really enjoyed the peer review assignments as it helped to grasp and deepen knowledge gained after each module.

von Elena L

May 07, 2019

Great course and especially professor Somaya is a brilliant teacher, always coming up with interesting cases, metaphors and constant willing to share as much as possible with students. Deepest appreciation and gratitude to the whole course Team!

von Tom W

Aug 11, 2016

I really enjoyed the case studies in this course and the education on various frameworks felt like I could immediately use the material in real world scenarios. Highly recommended course materials.

von Siri

Jul 20, 2017

Although the professor did a good job of bringing in examples and real-world business strategists, it would have been great to encourage more women into business by including female entrepreneurs or bosses in his interviews and examples. I understand that there are far more men than women in the highest levels of corporate leadership, but professors have a unique opportunity to change that by amplifying their voices and encouraging the next generation of business students to include women in leadership.

von Zaw Z O

Sep 18, 2018

This research based specialization has provided the fundamental knowledge and essential skills in from daily strategic leadership to Managing organization effectively; you will see how the course is precise and concise that leads the potential leverage for achieving your organization’s goals and sustaining its long-term success.

von Joe

Sep 25, 2019

The lectures are way too political. The constant push for climate change initiatives is the instructors political viewpoint, it is not business strategy. It’ would be one thing to mention climate change once or twice in reflection of some business customers views. A business has to take many customers views into consideration, even when you don’t necessarily agree. But most customers have political views far less extreme than academia. Harping on and nagging the instructors political views distracts from the on subject content and seriously degrades the value of the course.

I wanted to learn more about formal business strategy. As a small business owner, I don’t always know the formal names of the concepts. It is good to learn the lingo.

Instead, I am realizing why so many college graduates need to be deprogrammed, like they were in a cult, before real world businesses can bring those graduates to client meetings, Alienating half of one’s customer base with extreme politics is a stupid business strategy.

Keep the politics out. Focus on business strategy like the course advertises.

von Kyle B

May 12, 2019

I've loved this course. The lectures are concise but interesting, and I like that the professor seems to have written his own book (available as a PDF) to supplement it. Unlike in some of the other courses, the professor seems to have put a bit of thought and creativity into the way that he presents the material, and it somehow feels more personal than the other courses.

I also like the open-ended and longer-form writing assignments. It really helps see whether the other students we're grading actually UNDERSTAND the material, and from time to time I learn something from the way others have constructed their responses.

von Brian T

Jan 05, 2017

The best course I've taken on Coursera. Really should be considered as the epitome of how Coursera business courses are done. Extremely well laid out with excellent slides and the best transcripts I've seen. Tests and assignments are thoughtful and not full of trick questions. Writing essays as memo format another great touch. Bravo!!!

von Anton F

Jan 29, 2017

outstanding course. Efficient, strategic, very well structured and, what I especially like, it feels very personal because of those additional snippets like interviews, reports from football field. Great case studies. One of the best courses I've taken. Absolutely recommend it to anyone interested in introductory business strategy questions.

von Ivana P

Mar 19, 2020

It is really awesome experience to learn about Business Strategy with such clear explanation and clear connection between theory and application. I really enjoying myself to learn and also to do assignments because it pushes me to research the case. Thank you so much, Professor Deepak Somaya and University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign!

von MD K Z

Jun 03, 2020

I appreciate the flow of the syllabus, supported by comprehensive case study for each company presented. One of the biggest learning, is the different views projected by all members in the forum, and assignments. It creates sense of knowledge adoption whether you are align with others, or totally different view. Thank you

von Judy D

Jun 18, 2019

Very informative. At first I wasn't looking forward to writing a paper every week, but it definitely helped to reinforce and fully understand the lessons. Professor Somay provided very clear explanations and I enjoyed his use of soccer to explain concepts. It's a great class to learn about business strategy.

von Tarek E

Jun 13, 2019

Amazing experience, I already studied Business Administration and Strategy as my formal high education but never was able to look at businesses and industries as a business or strategy analyst. The frameworks and tools in the module are very helpful in assessing and intervene in business and how they operate!

von yongmyoung L

Apr 11, 2018

It's a really helpful course to understand corporate strategy. And it contains case studies for easy adoption of theories and interviews with C level officers what they implemented in real field. Especially EVA concept gives clear direction when I create a strategy even its concept is quite simple.

von Jennifer N

Jun 11, 2018

Wonderful course. I got out of it exactly what was promised. The professor is very good at communicating the concepts and providing details. I found that I often disagreed with his analysis of the case wrap-ups... but appreciated the views. Overall, wonderful professor and great class.

von Nehemiah Y K

Dec 13, 2019

This is a very comprehensive course and I have learned a lot, from how important it is for leaders to lay a good foundation from vision and mission, how business models determined the competitiveness of an organization and how a business can have a sustainable competitive advantage.

von Corina H

Nov 18, 2019

Mr. Deepak Somaya has been the best lecturer I've encountered thus far, his method of teaching is commendable and always explains himself well with lots of examples. I found the course interactive, with examples easy to understand yet challenging. I highly recommend this course.

von Praseeda C

May 22, 2020

the expert interviews were excellent source of info on strategy in practice. the case submissions made me feel like a student again and motivated me to do a lot of analysis before submission. interesting lectures, apt examples and totally fruitful experience. Thank You.

von John T M

Jun 11, 2020

Excellent Course. Especially loved the mission statement from Enron Corporation which I thought is funny in hindsight (I am old enough to remember them), the interviews, and the concrete references to companies like Starbucks and Circuit City. Great job!

von Jay H

Dec 06, 2018

This is by far the best class of the specialty so far. The case studies and analysis questions are so thoughtful and thought-provoking. Thanks so much for spending the time to develop a class that is so immediately applicable to my work and career.