Chevron Left
Zurück zu The World of the String Quartet

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The World of the String Quartet von Curtis Institute of Music

4.7
309 Bewertungen
80 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Arnold Steinhardt, first violin of the internationally acclaimed Guarneri String Quartet, invites music listeners to the world of the string quartet repertoire and ensemble. Journey with him and interpretive analysis instructor Mia Chung through the history and features of quartet music, colored by stories of legendary quartets and insights from the stage. This season's Curtis courses are sponsored by Linda Richardson in loving memory of her husband, Dr. Paul Richardson....

Top-Bewertungen

BK

Oct 05, 2015

This course was incredibly interesting and greatly informative! I am an amateur violinist and loved the historical information about the composers and the demonstrations by the Aizuri Quartet.

TV

Nov 03, 2015

This is a great course. The professors are wonderful and they clearly have a tremendous love (which they pass on to their pupils) of the subject matter. Week six blew my mind.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 78 Bewertungen für The World of the String Quartet

von Min Z

Feb 16, 2019

It is one of the best classes I have received.

von Pamella E D

Jan 29, 2019

Exceptional

von Manuel M

Nov 18, 2018

Nice, broad and in depth overview. I used this course as an addition to my master's in composition studies.

von Chng H

Sep 27, 2015

Superb course. I learnt so much!

von Kari M J

Aug 23, 2015

A very informative, enjoyable course- well presented.

von Sokrates V

Aug 26, 2015

Great course and fantastic performances!

von Daniel M B

Dec 30, 2016

Excellent, it's just awesome to enjoy all the items of this course: info, performances, analysis, etc.

von Leslie W

Jun 06, 2016

Especially liked the musical demos of various pieces, interspersing lectures with descriptive passages.

von Timothy C

Aug 15, 2015

Truly a rewarding and eye opening course. If one is looking for a low-level work, yet comprehensive exploration of the medium of the String Quartet, this is the course to take. Both instructors are beyond par of excellence as well as entertaining.

von Jaka S

Aug 16, 2015

Exceptional!

von Douglas W O

Feb 05, 2017

I really enjoyed. Thank you! Headed to forming my String Quartet!

von John H

Nov 19, 2016

As a late-starter/returner in a new quartet, I found this course excellent. The discussions and demonstrations brought the material to life. My only problems arose in trying to access the online resources which I could rarely get to work. Also, the "no-strings" questions were fun, but I could not submit any answers as the relevant link never appeared on my screen. I use an Apple iMac. I was of course tempted to return on occasion to aim for 5/5 in the quizzes, but did not. I think this aspect might be omitted, though I can see it might help avoid demotivating a disappointed student!

von KG G

Mar 04, 2018

Excellent & inspiring course. Very well organized.

This course has motivated me to go to more chamber music concerts including the Beethoven Complete String Quartet series at UC Berkeley in 2017 (Takacs Quartet), which was an amazing experience!

Thank you for this course.

von Daniel J K

Nov 15, 2016

A magnificent course on a critical area of classical music. Because composers wrote in so many genres, it's easy for players to only know the pieces which pertain to them, and miss huge numbers of extremely important works by their most influential composers. This class is a great window into and area any non-string player can miss easily. The music and commentary is incredible and very well presented. A total must-see for serious music students.

von Eamonn P

Dec 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and recommend it highly. Pacing through pieces I had earlier glanced over or resisted was especially worthwhile in revealing further treasures and I really appreciate the performers' discussions. That this particular medium evokes such a powerful response is wondrous.

von Jim R

Nov 28, 2015

Extremely interesting and informative course. Listening to a string quartet discuss and then demonstrate their playing was particularly enjoyable.

von Holly B K

Aug 17, 2015

A great course with wonderful exposure to a range of pieces. And so many demos. I wish there had been time for more.

von Mike S

Aug 28, 2015

Very informative and interesting in-depth overview of the genre. The additional course resources (videos and recordings) are worth signing up by themselves. Highly recommend for anyone who's just getting into classical music.

von Cooke H

Oct 30, 2015

Fantastic discussion and live examples of pieces. This course gave me a wonderful overview and context for understanding the development of the string quartet. What I found most fascinating was the pure objectivity in the lectures and the plethora of styles I was introduced to that previously I had not known (Webern, Smetana and Shostakovitch). Both Mr. Steinhardt and Ms Chung are excellent scholars. I highly recommend this course as it gives you a lifetime of specific quartets to get to know.

von Kirill B

Mar 11, 2016

I'm not a professional musician, but I really enjoyed learning more about Quartet music from this course. The teachers Albert and Mia reveals course not too fast not too slow, but at great rate that it gets absorbed nicely in the head. Also they definitely know what they are talking about. Also Aizuri Quartet is astounding. Love it

von Paz C

Jun 12, 2016

Very interesting and informational. I really enjoy the wide range of composers discussed here.

von Grant G

Nov 08, 2015

Fantastic course. I am amazed how much I have learned about the string quartet.

von Peter

Jul 21, 2016

This is a very interesting course. Our two professors do an amazing job presenting the course materials.

von Judy H

Aug 15, 2015

Terrific course!

von Savvateev V

Aug 27, 2017

Great!