Chevron Left
Zurück zu Summary Statistics in Public Health

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Summary Statistics in Public Health von Johns Hopkins University

4.8
Sterne
888 Bewertungen
231 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Biostatistics is the application of statistical reasoning to the life sciences, and it is the key to unlocking the data gathered by researchers and the evidence presented in the scientific literature. In this course, we'll focus on the use of statistical measurement methods within the world of public health research. Along the way, you'll be introduced to a variety of methods and measures, and you'll practice interpreting data and performing calculations on real data from published studies. Topics include summary measures, visual displays, continuous data, sample size, the normal distribution, binary data, the element of time, and the Kaplan-Meir curve....

Top-Bewertungen

AB

Apr 24, 2020

I am glad to learn a lot of terms in statistics and how to use and interpret them in the context of Public Health researches. The Instructor provided enough examples to understand the lessons better.

PS

Apr 26, 2020

I enjoyed and learnt a lot from the course. Dr. McGready is an excellent teacher. His style of going over the material in great detail helped me understand the concepts well. Thank you Dr. McGready!

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 231 Bewertungen für Summary Statistics in Public Health

von Jawharah A

Mar 06, 2020

it's great for people with no prior knowledge of public health and biostatistics, which isn't my case. I think the course needs more examples for practice and trials. Moreover, I couldn't find the boxplot lecture (it was mentioned in combination with other subject although it deserves its own lecture) and I had to watch youtube videos for the final project.

von Truc T N

Feb 02, 2020

The course covers the very basic understanding of summary statistics. Don't expect this to be rigorous. If you take this as a refresher, double the playback speed, don't skip the additional videos and read the quiz questions carefully. Should earn you a 90 or higher.

von Jenny M

Jul 04, 2020

To my surprise I really enjoyed this course. I am not a "math person" and I hated taking a statistics course in college, but I signed up for this course because I am planning to enter an MPH program in the fall and I wanted to get a head start on what I knew would be challenging material for me.

Dr. McCready's lectures were easy to follow and he gave so many examples that it helped me absorb the information. The format of being able to stop the videos, rewind, and listen again was a great help as well. I found the quizzes challenging, but not tricky or underhanded and felt that Dr. McCready is really interested in helping students learn and understand the material.

Thank you!

von Sruthi S

Dec 17, 2019

The course was very interesting and enlightening. The foundation of the statistics was made so easy and clear by the instructor. I was handling the basic statistical analysis of few projects in public health eye-care. Now that i have a good knowledge about the risk ratios, time to event analysis, the odds of publishing a good scientific paper is 3 or 4 times more! Thanks to Coursera!

von João E P

May 26, 2020

I'd like to thank to JHU for the chance to made this course, costless. The course is great, I did the Part I of Summary Statistics and I loved. Brief e rightly and with a great professor I have learned more in this weeks than 5 periods of epidemiology at my University. I did this course aind I recommended. I hope continue and will do more courses from JHU . Thanks

von Adele V

Jul 08, 2020

Dr. McGready is an excellent teacher. The lectures are easy to follow and contain relevant real-world examples. The MCQs also require you to think critically. I have learned some of the concepts from my university courses, but after taking this Coursera course, I discovered some points that I missed and I'm glad that my understanding has been enhanced.

von Shane Y

Jun 06, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I thought the instructor did a great job in explaining the more abstract terms in a clear and concise manner. I thought he was very thorough and systematic in his methodology. I would definitely take this course again and also recommend this to anyone wanting to learn biostatistics.

von Joy K

Sep 09, 2019

Instructor did an excellent job of summarizing and communicating complex concepts! Thank you!

It would have been great to have a recommended source for practice exercises with solutions to give students and opportunity to practice and solidify the learning and understand some of the nuances of interpretation.

von Ammanie A

May 22, 2020

Really great introductory course for those with some biostatistical knowledge! Lectures were well organized and provided many different examples to solidify learning process. My one suggestion would be to provide exercise worksheet problem sets for further practice of material.

von Kamran I

May 30, 2020

Overall a great experience. He is the best instructor. Also, I suggest there's a need for Q&A after each video session (and not just at the end of the week). This would help students with better understanding, active participation, and improved memorization of subject.

von Tammy P

Jun 11, 2019

This was an AMAZING course, largely due to Dr. McGready! You made a sometimes difficult subject make perfect sense. I actually loved learning how to interpret different statistical measures. Thank you for the awesome instructional lectures and examples.

von Raul R C L

Aug 24, 2020

One of the best teachings I've ever received. The teacher masters all the knowledge he shares and the examples are well chosen in order to comprehend each of the topics.

I really hope to receive more classes from John McGready in future lessons.

von Muhammed A E

Aug 22, 2019

One of the best statistics courses I've ever had. What I loved most about it is that it started from the very basics and continued step by step together with the examples. Thank you Coursera so much for this course.

von Melissa D

May 29, 2020

This course helped solidify statistical strategies (the basis of them) in epidemiology. I enjoyed the length of the video lectures and felt assessments were appropriate and fair. I highly recommend this course.

von samantha m

Jun 30, 2020

Will be starting my MPH in a few weeks and wanted to get some review as well as practice with online courses in the case that courses are moved online at some point during the semester. Really helpful review!

von Sarah A

Jul 09, 2020

it was a wonderful course. I was able to learn a lot and apply my understanding on real-life studies. I can now not only read scientific papers but also interpret the results and understand what they mean!

von Denis R

May 26, 2020

Very clear and concise explanations of the basic statistical concepts. I would highly recommend this course to anyone wishing to brush up on their statistics knowledge or as an introduction into the field.

von Hosam M G A

Aug 04, 2020

This course in Summary Statistics is strongly rich in its material and the instructor elaborates and explains many examples to make the points easily understood. I recommend it to all learners interested.

von nuzhat h

Aug 07, 2020

I really enjoyed doing the mathematical problems. It was helpful in doing graphical and mathematical interpretations practice. I also got experience in handling various public health data.

Thank youuu..

von Natasha N

Jun 02, 2020

This course is a well designed one for summary statistics. The instructor, Dr. John McGready is exceptional at simplifying the concepts. The clarity provided is good. Glad to have this for my revision.

von Amster F B

Apr 24, 2020

I am glad to learn a lot of terms in statistics and how to use and interpret them in the context of Public Health researches. The Instructor provided enough examples to understand the lessons better.

von Mohamed K M

Jul 02, 2020

Although the videos may seem long but i like the way Dr. McGready go through each point by example uses a real paper published , i will go through the whole course absolutely. thanks Dr.McGready

von Tochukwu N

Mar 26, 2020

Very good course! Lectures were easy to follow and gave great examples! Would highly encourage taking this course if you are looking for a biostatistics course or even to refresh your memory!

von Maxwell A

Jun 03, 2020

The course has strengthen my understanding on the basics of statistics. I also wish they will include the training on the use of statistical software for analysis. Thank you team cousera