Chevron Left
Zurück zu Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health von Universität von Kopenhagen

4.7
Sterne
1,050 Bewertungen
352 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The MOOC introduces learners to key environmental health and natural resources management challenges associated with the rapid growth in international tourist arrivals into low-income countries. Since infrastructural and regulatory capacities in such countries are often limited they are more exposed to the negative implications of such development. The MOOC will present experiences and potential avenues to develop a more sustainable form of tourism. The Course particularly focuses on the problems and potentials of tourism development in small island states in tropical and sub-tropical settings and highlights the challenges of such development on vulnerable ecosystems. It also highlights how tourism development in Zanzibar results in increased pressure on its marine environment, solid waste management, water resources and control of mosquitoes. These factors will be used as tracers of impacts and areas for future improvement towards a more sustainable form of tourism. Zanzibar will be in focus during this course and used as a case in order to exemplify how a massive increase of Tourism in a low income and resource poor setting, can increase the vulnerability of the local population. The Course topics also relate to a number of targets under the global Sustainable Development Goals, especially: Goals 3: “good health and well-being” Goals 6: “clean water and sanitation” Goals 14: “life below water” Goals 17: “partnerships”. Thus, the Course is a continuation of the efforts and discussions raised as part of the 2017 international year of sustainable tourism. A diversity of perspectives and areas of expertise will be presented by researchers from the University of Copenhagen, State University of Zanzibar, representatives from the hotel sector and international experts in specific areas of sustainable tourism....

Top-Bewertungen

JC

9. März 2021

I learned a lot regarding the topic of sustainable tourism, Thanks for the excellence of the professor who gives every little detail pertaining to the topic. It was indeed a very knowleageable course.

H

3. Juni 2020

I want to appreciate my Mentor Mr. Flemming Konradsen for providing such a pleasant learning experience through this course. This will surely enlighten our career in a positive direction.\n\nThank You

Filtern nach:

326 - 350 von 354 Bewertungen für Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health

von Alvin D S

12. Okt. 2020

Very informative and interesting.

von David R

4. Mai 2020

The course was very informative.

von 19UVTA111

16. Juni 2020

it was good and more learning

von Amis D D

13. März 2021

Very knowledgeable

von Faisal B K V

24. Juli 2020

Thanks a lot.

von Terry L

16. Aug. 2020

Very good.

von 69 P P

28. Sep. 2020

Nice

von Magdalena C

21. Jan. 2020

The course itself was very interesting and the topic is definitely very important but the course could be improved if the mandatory readings did not require registering on various other websites. Also the questions on the tests were just ridiculous sometimes and didn't check any actual knowledge acquired from the videos and reading but just some irrelevant numbers that had to be noted down. I would think that it's much more important the students learn how to create and implement sustainable tourism policies in different venues than if they know the exact number of pieces of plastic found on a square kilometre of beach in Zanzibar.

von Stefano B

4. Apr. 2020

Interesting, and well explained. Both the video material and the reading material is understandable and actually very detailed. It mostly (almost only) speaks on the environmental issues caused by tourism in developping countries in the carribean or on small islands. It would have been interesting to compare the situation in these places to the reality of larger, more developped areas where tourism has been present for longer, and it's more regulated (France, Spain or Italy, for example).

von Douglas A F

23. März 2020

Good subject, but it focus just on the case of Zanzibar. I undertand that we can extend the example for others islands and maybe some beaches destinations, but we have many other tourism places. Montains and parks, for example. It would be useful to expand the course to this areas. Also, how cities can have a more sustainable tourism, it would be very nice to learn more about this.

von Claire B

19. Apr. 2020

The videos were interesting however a lot of the supplementary material was not available - either behind paywalls or broken links, or in one case a YouTube clip we were asked to comment on where the voiceover was not in English. These factors meant that I finished the course but was not willing to pay for the certificate.

von Wendy F

15. Sep. 2020

The program needs updating. Many of the case studies are missing from the mandatory reading and content that is required even in video format is missing. I find it strange that there are not available when there was a Covid19 update at the end when content is clearly out of date. These issues should be addressed.

von francesco

31. März 2020

i think that the course is really interesting, i found interesting the case of study which was the situation of zanzibar, but i n my opinion coursera could be develop a little bit the grade for example make the grade quizzes a bit more difficult and more power point or study workes something like this.

von Hassaan B S

17. Sep. 2020

Its a good course, But only talking abut Zanzibar most of the time , other examples should have been given also , course lack the energy and in the middle gets boring . I had to compete it otherwise i would have left it in the middle , it can become more interesting by making some changes

von Anthony R

18. Apr. 2020

Important topic, but too much to read & too many quizzes in this course. It's also very data-driven, with most questions involving stats & numbers. One doesn't need a mathematical mind to understand the challenges of sustainable tourism, but one needs it to follow this course. Such a shame.

von Begoña O S

4. Mai 2020

Thank you professor Konradsen for your course.

While it was very interesting and I learnt a lot about tourism in 3rd world countries, I think it was too foccussed on Zazibar and its problems while Tourism in Europe has other problems such as massification.

von Eder U B G

20. Okt. 2020

You must give more questions relationated by video, but in general... Excellente course! Congrats and do more courses about the wonderful world of Tourism

von Aline K

30. Aug. 2020

I liked the curse but I would have wished for other examples besides Zanzibar.

von Billy F G

9. Mai 2020

Good reads but need more updated information.

von Claudia C

17. Feb. 2018

Very generical but still very interesting

von Caryl B

5. Feb. 2022

It's good but outdated

von DEVENDRA K B

20. Aug. 2020

Hi, Course and material is good but the grading system is the most i didnt liked. The kind rating to answers is one of the most strange pattern i have seen. This course's quiz pattern must re design, most of the time i felt either questions are not clear or answers not feed well as per the question or student doesn't have clear instruction how to respond.

Example : Week 2, Quiz on tourism and fresh water question number 2, i know both the answers but even after giving more than 7-8 attempts till date i am not able to fill as per desired.

von XQ L

28. Aug. 2020

It's more like a case study. I learned something for sure, the professor is dedicated to this course for sure. But I think the name of this course is needed to be changed, the current one is very general but the course itself is not. Also, the quiz is very boring. And there are some problems like reading materials too old, they're links not PDF...mistakenly uploaded videos...

von Gordon B

11. Mai 2020

Much of the essential content for this course is inaccessible unless you have a university email. This issue has been mentioned repeatedly in the forums for months but has not been addressed. The questions for this course are often badly written, for example one asks about a picture that is absent from the material. The course is almost entirely focused on Zanzibar so has little relevance to other areas of ecotourism.

von Rahul R

6. Dez. 2020

I enrolled in this course as it was a free course offered by Hosco. Upon starting the course, I realised I didnt have access to much of the required mandatory reading for the course, unless I purchased the course and completed the assignments ( i.e. I had access to the course material as a free student but without all the course material ). What a fraud!