Chevron Left
Zurück zu Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health von Universität von Kopenhagen

4.7
Sterne
1,031 Bewertungen
344 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The MOOC introduces learners to key environmental health and natural resources management challenges associated with the rapid growth in international tourist arrivals into low-income countries. Since infrastructural and regulatory capacities in such countries are often limited they are more exposed to the negative implications of such development. The MOOC will present experiences and potential avenues to develop a more sustainable form of tourism. The Course particularly focuses on the problems and potentials of tourism development in small island states in tropical and sub-tropical settings and highlights the challenges of such development on vulnerable ecosystems. It also highlights how tourism development in Zanzibar results in increased pressure on its marine environment, solid waste management, water resources and control of mosquitoes. These factors will be used as tracers of impacts and areas for future improvement towards a more sustainable form of tourism. Zanzibar will be in focus during this course and used as a case in order to exemplify how a massive increase of Tourism in a low income and resource poor setting, can increase the vulnerability of the local population. The Course topics also relate to a number of targets under the global Sustainable Development Goals, especially: Goals 3: “good health and well-being” Goals 6: “clean water and sanitation” Goals 14: “life below water” Goals 17: “partnerships”. Thus, the Course is a continuation of the efforts and discussions raised as part of the 2017 international year of sustainable tourism. A diversity of perspectives and areas of expertise will be presented by researchers from the University of Copenhagen, State University of Zanzibar, representatives from the hotel sector and international experts in specific areas of sustainable tourism....

Top-Bewertungen

AB
7. März 2020

Amazing course. Full of great information, straight to the point, with many life examples and research data. Very helpful for both environmental enthusiasts and hospitality professionals. Many thanks!

TB
13. Mai 2020

Very understanding for someone like me who is not in the tourism sector. Only but is that there are articles and videos which are not for public access. The videos and interviews are very interesting.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 345 Bewertungen für Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health

von Maria A M

24. Aug. 2020

This was my first approach to sustainable tourism with an environmental health input and I found it really interesting. I want to keep learning about this topic which I find crucial in terms of tourism and the environment. Thanks Coursera & the University of Copenhagen for this amazing approach to the topic.

von Jana S

8. Okt. 2020

Very informative and at the same time very important for our planet. I recommend to anyone who is interested not only in tourism sector but also those who leave our planet dirty. Such consequences persist for a long time and it is necessary to pay attention to sustainable tourism as quickly as possible.

von Eliana F

19. Nov. 2020

Thank you for the opportunity, was very interesting and I learned a lot about Zanzíbar and the environment. Thank you teacher for your time, and for speaking with your clear and soft voice for those of us who do not speak English as a mother tongue. The course was wonderful and I am happy I did it!

von Sergio E

30. Apr. 2019

A really interesting introduction regarding the reality behind the tourism industry. Videos were really clarifying, readings so interesting.

I am thinking on starting something on tourism, and now, after this course, I will definitely apply some of the concepts learnt in this Course. Thanks

von Ken A

8. Juli 2020

The course has useful information for freshers in tourism and those interested in knowing about Sustainable Tourism. I personally feel Sustainable Tourism should be mandatory for every tourist destination. People need to understand the importance of protecting the land that feeds them.

von JUBIN K S

24. Aug. 2020

One of the best course I pursue during pandemic!! I would like to thank coursera and especially the resource person of this course. Sir I would really wish to meet you someday. Thank you so much for such an insightful and thoughtful sessions during the entire course. Thank you

von Ali M

19. Apr. 2020

I really enjoyed the course because I learned many things about sustainable tourism and all of the headlines were so useful and the case study (Zanzibar) was good one

just one thing if you considered it would be better, more discussions

btw thank you for the amazing course

von Ahmet M K

5. Juli 2020

This course is a useful and enlightening course with plenty of good videos, facts, statistics and cases with a plain language. It's a great introductory study that benefits career knowledge and it suggests valuable solutions and important questions to ponder about.

von Braulio R H

7. Apr. 2020

Of course it has a very local approach but the principles can be applied to other (island) contexts. I think I leave with the satisfaction of a properly organized curriculum and would love to check out what else is available from the same institution and lecturers.

von Jennifer G

15. Nov. 2020

very happy that I completed this course. I am new business owner in the travel sector and taking this course was helpful. responsibility to educate myself, my staff, my guest, and urge local authorities to sustain a healthy environment is so crucial for future

von RAMON D

27. Sep. 2020

Sencillamente excelente. Me sentí tan identificado con la situación de mi pais y como puedo contribuir a mejorar la situación del turismo, llevando a la practica todo lo aprendido en este curso. Recién termino este y ya estoy entusiasmado a continuar con otros.

von maria f

18. Juli 2021

The course provides a good understanding on Sustainable Tourism which is the need of the hour. It highlights the environmental problems mainly related to coastal tourism with reference to Zanzibar. These are problems also faced by many similar tourist areas.

von Lalith C K

17. Apr. 2020

It's really a great course which helps the young generation to work better towards the development of tourism in a sustainable way. Thank you for providing this course and I thank my college Manipal Academy of Higher Education for giving me the opportunity.

von Uxia R L

20. Jan. 2021

This was such an interesting course, accessible even for the ones who don't have a deep knowledge of tourism or sustainability (like myself). The only potential complaint is that the offered material was a bit outdated and some links weren't be available.

von Luis F O G

31. Aug. 2020

Excelente curso. Se desarrolla a través de un estudio muy completo, desde todas las miradas de expertos, sobre un caso muy particular (Zanzibar), pero que toca todos los posibles problemas, estrategias y soluciones para el turismo y el turismo sostenible.

von Gurijala S K

14. Apr. 2020

This course helped me gain more knowledge that can be useful as an professional in urban planning. It shaped my thoughts in tourism aspects. It enlightened my knowledge in sustainable tourism and promoting quality of life for the citizens in every sector.

von Subash M

26. Juni 2020

The course is very nice blend of lectures, conversations, videos and reading materials. The course delivery of the instructor is very simple and powerful He has collecetd good number of concerned literatures and experts to make us understand the content.

von Lancel G

3. März 2019

The content in this course was informative, credible, and well-curated. I feel as though I have finished the course not only with a great understanding of issues affecting development and tourism in Zanzibar, but in developing island countries globally.

von Christian R

22. Sep. 2020

This course was engaging and very well paced. Despite having comprehensively studied tourism management and the sustainability aspect of it, these lessons were a wonderful addition to my knowledge and an inspiring prompt for very actionable solutions.

von RAHUL_PONDY

28. Sep. 2019

It was a great learning experience , as myself being a tourism pursuing student as my PG subject from pondicherry university this course enlightened me about the impacts of tourism and how it effects the mankind if not dealt in a sustainable manner.

von Elena A

4. Feb. 2019

Even thought the case is specific, it helps to better and deeply understand how our impact as humans and tourists can be heavy not only on environment but also on local communities. Very good explained and detailed with useful info and resources.

von Apeksha S J

29. Juni 2020

It was a great course which I could learn a lot about the sustainable tourism and how it affects the environment and healty of the people.A group of instructors of the field gave their idea in each subject area.That was a good thing I observed.

von YEHYEON P

21. Juni 2019

Amazingly focused on the topic. I love the videos to study about Sustainable Tourism in Zanzibar. I'm preparing myself to take the master degree course. And this course was really helpful to get me some ideas of what I'm going to study about.

von Srishty A

15. Mai 2019

It is a must for people in the Hotel industry, especially so that they could find ways to become an eco-friendly hotel nevertheless it is also for people who want their communities to grow in a sustainable way where the locals are benefited.

von Evelyn S n

4. Mai 2020

i have liked the course as it has shown a true reflection of Zanzibar as case study. This is backed by the fact that local experts where interviewed and i have been to Zanzibar many topics discussed come to life, meaning they were actual.