Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction To Swift Programming

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction To Swift Programming von University of Toronto

3.9
Sterne
1,402 Bewertungen
380 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Introduction to Swift Programming is the first course in a four part specialization series that will provide you with the tools and skills necessary to develop an iOS App from scratch. By the end of this first course you will be able to demonstrate intermediate application of programming in Swift, the powerful new programming language for iOS. Guided by best practices you will become proficient with syntax, object oriented principles, memory management, functional concepts and more in programming with Swift. This course is unique in its dedication to teaching Swift programming. With new features and capabilities you will be at the forefront of writing iOS apps. Currently this course is taught using Swift 2. The team is aware of the release of Swift 3 and will be making edits to the course in time. Please be aware that at this time the instruction is entirely with Swift 2. Please note that to take part in this course (and the full specialization) it is required to have a Mac computer and, though not required, ideally an iPhone, iPod, or an iPad. NOTE: This course has been designed and tested (and content delivered) on a Mac. While we are aware of hacks and workarounds for running Mac in a virtual machine on windows we do not recommended a PC. We hope you have fun on this new adventure....

Top-Bewertungen

SI
13. Jan. 2016

The course seemed to be very easy, I'd say even disappointingly easy, but then, when I started the final assignment, I realized that I was wrong. And it was so much fun developing filters.

HU
30. Jan. 2016

This course, specifically the last week, really helps in gaining understanding of how the digital images are being processed on the back of a applications. Nice job tutors!

Filtern nach:

301 - 325 von 373 Bewertungen für Introduction To Swift Programming

von Javier F

21. Okt. 2015

No stars for this course, 3 modules I did, and I think is not a valuable course, gives a bad introduction to the language, there are inconsistencies in the theory and knowledge of the language. The preparation of the course is poor, there is no direction, a lot of errors using playground and the instructors hesitate and doubt all the time during the recording of the screen. That's not good point for the prestigious University of Toronto and Coursera. One star for the review is too much, no preparation, lack of security, bad quality.

von Trent V B

16. März 2016

The weekly lectures/assignments did little to prepare for the final assignment. They were short and high level without any coding to back them up.

It is possible to blaze through the first four weeks in a couple hours.....and then spend weeks on the final assignment because you will need to learn most of it on your own by looking through api documentation.

To the instructors: If you want to see what a good "intro to language" course looks like, checkout:

https://www.coursera.org/course/programming1

von Ann W

20. März 2016

Certainly not a beginners course. You needed to have a good programming knowledge to make any sense of this course. The final assignment asked you to do things you hadn't been taught. As I hadn't done any programming for 20 years, I certainly found this difficult. Fell behind and there isn't really anyone there to help. Almost asked for a refund but decided to try to continue. I'm struggling to motivate myself into the second course. I really hope it's better than the first one.

von Anton A

5. Juni 2016

this was thefirst course i payed for and unfortunately the worst expierience.

lack of content beyond the stuff in the available simple swift tutorials and

from an eduucational pint of view afwully if at all prepared

its as shame that i cannot give this "course" ZERO stars which it deserves!

i should have checked the very negative feedback of the former participants before bying it

i will be much MUCH more alert regarding content on coursera from now on

von Kevin K

11. Mai 2016

Although Parham Aarabi is listed as the professor throughout this specialization, it's a bit of a bait-and-switch. Prof Aarabi is an award-winning professor at U of Toronto, but it turns out he knows little about iOS and has Jack Wu teach most of the material. Jack Wu is probably a heck of a developer but he's a terrible instructor.

I previously took the Android Specialization, which was excellent, so I was shocked at how bad this course was.

von Alex B

10. Okt. 2015

Sadly, this course is NOT an Introduction to Swift Programming. As a beginner I found this course was not structured and I was confused about the correct steps to take in order to start programming in Swift. No doubt that these guys are knowledgable but they do not plan the course or teach in a linear fashion. Furthermore the sound and video quality is poor and I have decided to quit this course after the first week and a half.

von Joy H

17. Juni 2021

t​his course was a complete waste of time. I have completed a number of coursera courses and am a very keen learner. however this course content is extremely outdated to the point where the version of Software that the course uses v7 cannot be uploaded on my Mac with Catalina OS because it is so old. at the time of writing the software is already on version 13. a waste of time and a disappointment.

von Saeed K A

31. Mai 2020

This course is old enough to be removed from the internet! it's required Xcode 7.3.1!!! now we are in 2020 and using Xcode 11.5!

The Peer-graded Assignment evaluation is a very bad way to marks a project that takes the most time and very hard work to accomplish, which required some decent review!

if (these reviews were clear before I enrolled) { I'll never do it!

I'll return something else! }

von Manfred W

14. Mai 2016

Worst course I took on Coursera so far! It was my first course I actually paid for and it turned out to be the least useful one. The small number of exercises and videos does not justify the high price of the course. It might have been ok if they had included the iOS parts also, but charging 70 EUR for the first part alone is grossly overpriced.

von Michael H

19. Okt. 2015

Basically a couple of guys have an unorganized discussion about swift. Little to no organization with poor coordination between lectures and quizzes.. Appears that there is no TA or course staff monitoring discussion boards... I am glad I didn't pay for the class... Disappointed though because I really wanted to learn Swift.

von Stephan H

8. März 2016

At first the presentations are really on a semi professional level (copy & paste codes, making errors without knowing the cause). They show a lot what can be done with swift but the never show/mention what it's really usefull for (no "real life" usage just snippets after snippets).

To few practical doings (mostly only quiz stuff)

von Fabrizio F

13. Okt. 2019

Very old, I don't get why still is on Coursera...impossible to find people reviewing your assignment...this will lead to a not completion of the course. Material not sufficiently explained and poor.

What you will learn out of this course is a copy paste of exercises you will do during the weeks...very unsatisfying.

von Francisco J M

6. Okt. 2015

Very disorganized. More than a course, it seems more like 2 students learning along with you. The lessons have 0 preparation and they come up with examples that do not work half of the time during the video itself. I do not recommend this course (and as a matter of fact, the entire specialization) to anyone.

von Mehmet Y

8. Nov. 2015

After 97% of the work completed, I have to admit that this course is NOT GOOD. The instructor is not actually the professor himself, and they do lots of mistakes in the videos. You do not learn anything that helpful, and perhaps the actual Swift documentation is way more clearer than this course is.

von Pavel L

27. Jan. 2016

Thank you for this course. It was interesting and helpful. Before.

But I failed. I got bad mark and I don't know why.

I have only one good comment. But I have 3 bad marks and only 2 good. I am a looser, i guess.

So I hate this course, this website, this review system and this world.

Thank you again.

von Michalina S

14. März 2016

It's not a university standard course. It's more like introduction to introduction DIY Swift. The videos are chaotic and lack explications, examples, exercises and practical assignments. Much better intro to Swift can be found on many youtube channels or just on swift documentation website.

von Jeff R

12. Okt. 2015

I'm giving just a single star. I started this course with high hopes, bailed after the third quiz as I wasn't learning anything except how to pass the quiz. Sorry, but this was a major letdown to myself and two other colleagues who all signed up to take it together. We all bailed.

von Parag T

21. Sep. 2015

I am dropping the course.

Suggestions

1) One person talk to the audience...rather than 2 or 3 talking to each other

2) Volume and pic quality poor

3) Its going too slowly.....just not enough "meat" to get me engaged...esp if u compare to the course by Paul Hegarty Stanford

von Mike C

8. Dez. 2015

Course was the worst I have taken on Coursera. I wish I could have received a refund. The professors were hard to follow, laughed through mistakes and did not do a good job of walking through the course content. I would not recommend this course to anyone.

von Marcel V

13. Juli 2021

D​ecided to not continue the course until they explicitly recommended that the course will be taught using Swift 2 (now we are in 5) and a deprecated XCode version. Do not want to spent my time learning a new thing that then, I should learn again.

von Manny C

13. Okt. 2021

This course needs to be updated and they should tell you int he introduction what is needed, like a MacBook, and what OS to use, way to much time in trying to install old software for this course.

Horrible!!!!! Should be removed immediately!!!!!!

von Yvan B

9. März 2016

The initial lessons were rather chaotic. The idea was good, but the execution was not really good.

The significantly improved the quality for the second course so I assume that for a new iteration, the it will be better too.

von Takasur A

4. Juli 2018

```Please use Xcode 7 for this course. In the future, you can update your projects to Xcode 8 using Apple's source code migration tool.```2018 and please just accept the newer version of Xcode projects while students can.

von Tobias F M

15. Dez. 2015

This course is a rare example of how it`s not done. Presentation is unstructured.

Seems to be a student project where his professor "helps" along to check certain topics the student has to include to get a good grade.

von Mykhailo D

17. Juni 2021

It's about Swift 2 which is extremely outdated and xCode 7.3.1 which does not work on macOS 10.15

Also a course more about generic programming rather then specifics of Swift programming language.

Do not recommend it.