Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction To Swift Programming

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction To Swift Programming von University of Toronto

3.9
1,257 Bewertungen
323 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Introduction to Swift Programming is the first course in a four part specialization series that will provide you with the tools and skills necessary to develop an iOS App from scratch. By the end of this first course you will be able to demonstrate intermediate application of programming in Swift, the powerful new programming language for iOS. Guided by best practices you will become proficient with syntax, object oriented principles, memory management, functional concepts and more in programming with Swift. This course is unique in its dedication to teaching Swift programming. With new features and capabilities you will be at the forefront of writing iOS apps. Currently this course is taught using Swift 2. The team is aware of the release of Swift 3 and will be making edits to the course in time. Please be aware that at this time the instruction is entirely with Swift 2. Please note that to take part in this course (and the full specialization) it is required to have a Mac computer and, though not required, ideally an iPhone, iPod, or an iPad. NOTE: This course has been designed and tested (and content delivered) on a Mac. While we are aware of hacks and workarounds for running Mac in a virtual machine on windows we do not recommended a PC. We hope you have fun on this new adventure....

Top-Bewertungen

SI

Jan 14, 2016

The course seemed to be very easy, I'd say even disappointingly easy, but then, when I started the final assignment, I realized that I was wrong. And it was so much fun developing filters.

HU

Jan 31, 2016

This course, specifically the last week, really helps in gaining understanding of how the digital images are being processed on the back of a applications. Nice job tutors!

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 316 Bewertungen für Introduction To Swift Programming

von Elizabeth B

May 25, 2016

Very disappointed. Having coding assignments weekly would have been very helpful. The quizzes often asked for information that was never presented in the lessons. The instructors were never present in the forums to answer questions. The final project asked us to do things that hadn't even been mentioned in the course materials. I would not recommend this course to anyone. The only reason it got 2 stars instead of 1 was because I did learn some Swift.

von Sam A

Feb 14, 2016

It might be a great choice if you are already familiar with Swift programming! There is a huge gap between the week 1-4 and week 5, in other words during the first 4 weeks, you will learn about just the syntax and idea of swift programming but all of a sudden you have to write a program with over 50 lines of code.

I would recommend to offer more details and more practices during the first few weeks from this course before writing a complicated program.

von Philip B

Dec 06, 2015

Needs Improvement.

von Gaurav S

Jan 02, 2016

The course should have been more thorough and should have been accompanies with good programming exercises as well..At some starting course there was also some cross talk among the instructors. The module on image processing should be reviewed as after some point it becomes sort of boring.

von Maxim M

Dec 02, 2015

Probably guys did big amount of work, but the course looks extremely raw. Half of lectures time is talking about nothing and it seems that there were no lecture plan before shooting the video. It would have been ok if the course had been free, but I expected much more from it for that price.

Thank you for you work, but, I think, you need to keep improving the quality of the course.

von Lee O

Aug 28, 2016

The lectures are fairly light and there are no assignments throughout the course to reinforce the material. Mostly they just introduce a few concepts then point you at the Apple Swift documentation. They really don't go into much detail.

The final assignment is good for getting your feet wet but is poorly specified.

von Emanuele I

Oct 18, 2016

The pair review it's really not the way to go. If you don't have the horse power to check it yourself, create automated tests to pass like other courses.

von Mohammad A

Dec 03, 2015

The quality of the course is not as I expected from a Coursera course.

von Burak K

Jan 04, 2016

The Good:

The idea of having the lectures in a Q&A style, two experts in continuous conversation about the topic has a potential

The Bad:

That potential is wasted on poorly planned lessons and course content

The Ugly:

Instructors run the Swift code that is written during the lesson and they get a wrong result due to an error in the code. They both agree that the result is weird but then continue to explain that this is how Swift works. In short, they are misleading and confusing you on a topic you are trying to learn.

This is of course unintentional but gives you a clue about how the quality check on lecture videos are taken care of. Details here: https://www.coursera.org/learn/swift-programming/discussions/DBk-SJO2EeWNbBIwwhtGwQ

von Jan M

Oct 27, 2015

Poor video quality, weak, ad hoc examples, not well thought flow. Seems like tutors have not spent time on proper preparation. Free courses on iTunesU (especially those by Stanford University) are far more better.

von Xavier

Sep 17, 2016

By far to introductory, I think that this course should be an extension of the iOS App Development Basics

von Benoît F

Oct 17, 2016

A little bit too light and not really challenging. Just a quick view of the language. The teaching team does not seems really organized : just a quick view of the language, no slide, just someone who is presenting code on screen, no real support on the forum from the teaching team.

von Calin-Andrei B

Jan 19, 2017

The video materials were very poor, they did not cover all the aspects and the explanations were very brief. The course only contained a single project, which although fun, is not enough for learning a new language. After completing this course I feel that I don't really know Swift, but I can use it. After each week you have to complete a quiz. They should replace these quizzes with project, where you write real code. I took this course for free, but I wouldn't pay for it.

von Víctor M C G

Sep 19, 2015

The professors did no prepared the classes. They make so many mistakes in the video lectures and they also laughts in the middle of the course and they send a non-professional feeling to the students. The content of the course is very good, but the proffesors could really do better.

von Nick W

Nov 04, 2015

This course was little more than a haphazard, ambling preview of a tiny bit of Swift. There was some useful content in the class but the organization was poor and there was almost no evidence of course design or use of the teaching techniques I expected to see from a major university. The best section of the course was week 5, where they syntax of Objective-C and Swift were superficially compared. That section did give some clear opinions on why Swift should be chosen over Objective-C for new development. The other sections just contained too many confusing, unrehearsed diversions into esoteric topics to be of much use. I ended getting more out of the Apple documentation on Swift than I did from this class.

However, the instructors have received ample feedback of this nature and they do seem genuinely concerned with improving the course. Assuming that they will make major improvements for the next round and noting that Coursera's infrastructure is excellent, don't be scared to take the class. The email reminders from Coursera about assignments, etc... kept me on track and kept me in the class.

von Borja R

Feb 09, 2016

Not so impressed with this course so far, let's see the rest of the specialisation.

von Ze Q Z

Feb 16, 2016

In my honest opinion, the quality of this course is not that high. You can expect to learn some basic syntax of Swift, and that's about it. There are very little material each week, and then you get a quiz, which is not the best form of examination nor for learning. I do not recommend this course.

von Raul S

May 24, 2016

Very caotic.

von Clare T

Sep 14, 2017

This course requires you to know a good deal of programming and is an introduction to a new language. I found the lessons did not clearly explain the material and the quiz at the end of each section/week was...just that a quiz, it would have been more helpful to have a micro-test to evaluate if you had digested the material.

The final test required advanced skills that had not been taught in the course. It is also possible that the test was relevant to the material, in which case it was very poorly worded.

von Steve G

Dec 28, 2015

This course needs major improvement. Lectures included errors in the code. While showing code in video lectures instructor was quick to delete code, not giving time for students to view and understand what had just been shown.

On Dec 15, two weeks before due date of final project, large portions of all weeks of the course were changed, requiring going back through to complete these new lectures. No adjustment was made to the due date.

Requirements for the final project are vague and confusing and I am not able to submit the final project by the due date in about 2 hours. If this issue is not addressed I will need to consider adjusting my star rating.

This experience casts a negative impression for me on the Coursera platform and University of Toronto teaching staff.

I'm disappointed.

von liangyi f

Feb 11, 2016

Should be lecture by Professor instead of BS student.

The content was not well organized.

Also should prepare slides and explain the Swift for more details.

More exercises needed in each weeks lecture.

Hopefully, this course should improve next time.

von Tamara B

Jun 23, 2016

Videos are poorly done and leave a lot of useful details out. There is zero support from staff in the forums. If you take this course, plan on spending a lot of time doing research on external sources in order to gain an understanding of the very broad and lacking in detail videos.

To improve this course, the instructors should:

-provide links to at least one textbook on Swift

-add Mentors to the course to help students in the forums

-include a repository of code snippets for practice of the concepts

von 党文亮

Dec 03, 2015

Poor Quality

von Rich B

Dec 04, 2017

Very disappointing. Course content is old and forces you to use an obsolete version of Xcode. Some class material (examples) no longer available for download. Instructors not engaged at all and forum monitoring seems almost non-existent.

von Anthony Y

Jun 09, 2016

Pros

Concise

Modular based learning

Cons

Course needs more auto graded assignments.

Lack of feedback in discussion forums.

Assignment language is not very clear.

Overall I prefer this course to the android specialization but not for the reasons you may think. The android development platform is more or a less a mess compared to ios. Android studio feels more like a toy than a complete product. Emulation is slow and almost un-usuable with plenty of boilerplate code required to do simple events. Xcode by comparison is very smooth and easy to use. Swift syntax is also very clean compared to Java syntax. But is not without its grievances.

At the end of the day you will choose the platform you work best in.